Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
4.5 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 November 2012
Having just taken the plunge and bought my first Chromebook, the Samsung Chromebook Wifi (Latest Model - Launched Oct 2012), I needed a manual and overall guide to the world of Google Chrome and Chromebooks. This book pretty fits the bill. I found this book so useful that I went on to purchase the KIndle ( My Google Chromebook (My...) ) version also so I could have it on my Kindle Kindle Keyboard 3G, Free 3G + Wi-Fi, 3G Works Globally, 6" E Ink Displayand Google Nexus 7 Tablet PC (Android 4.1 Jellybean) - 16 GB.

The book is very well laid out, with info boxes, illustrations and photographs and white space used throughout. It is very easy to navigate and to find specific information you need. It assumes no prior knowledge and takes the new Chromebook owner through every stage from opening the product through initial setup and on to more advanced usages of the Chromebook. Indeed, for that reason a more experienced Chromebook owner may get less from this book than the novice user.

This is very much the manual missing from the Chromebook box and although it does not specifically cover the latest 2012 models the setup and Chrome OS is still basically the same. The heart of the Chrome OS is of course the Chrome browser and much of the book is devoted to explaining how to get the best from it which Chrome browser users on other platforms may already be familiar with. Chromebook users will know that the Chromebook is basically a vehicle for the browser and for web apps that run within it and the book reflects this.

I would be happy to recommend this book to any new Chromebook user and, indeed, would suggest that it be included in the box with any new purchase.

The Good
Well designed and easy to read
Perfect accompaniment to a new Chromebook purchase
Heavyweight glossy paper used throughout
Comes with a 45 day access to the online edition.

The Bad
Does not specifically cover the newest Chromebooks
Very much a beginners guide
Devotes most space to the Chrome browser
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
I bought this book because I had given my wife a Samsung Chromebook for her birthday. I knew that Samsung only provided a "get started booklet" with the Chromebook. I thought I needed a backup for any questions she had because I had no experience of using one.

It has already proved useful for setting up options on the display. Also how to handle bookmarks (favourites with windows). There are plenty of details on using Google Aps which we have not had time to try out yet.

It is an attractively laid out book and ideal for a first-time owner of a Chromebook and for someone that has not used the Chrome web browser before.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
This is a very nicely laid out, colourful, and beginner-friendly book about the Google Chromebook. 5 stars for that!

The only problem (minus 1 star) is that things have moved on since the book was published. So where the book states that the Chrome OS has no PC-like "desktop", it does now. And where the book describes the "four" Chromebook models (correct at the time of publishing), there are now some newer models such as Samsung Chromebook Wifi (Latest Model - Launched Oct 2012) and the Samsung Chromebox Desktop. And where the book suggests that the Chrome file manager doesn't allow you to copy files from one location to another... well, now it does. You get the idea.

This book may still be incredibly useful and very appealing to beginners who want a nice pictorial introduction to the Chromebook concepts and device; and if the author published an updated second edition then it would likely be the best book on the subject. In the meantime, you will find more of the recent Chromebook and Chrome developments (like Google Drive) explained in The Chrome Book (Second Edition).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2013
A very helpful guide to my new chrome book. Step by step instructions and lots of information and easy to understand
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Got my Chromebook recently and was a bit unsure how to use it, as it is not like a PC. This book was a great help, and now I'm using Chromebook with a lot more confidence. I recommend this book as I found it a great help.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Definately a very useful addition for a new chromebook user - will be delving into it for information and advice for some time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
If you are looking for a piece of kit for browsing the web and doing all the day to day stuff that does not require 'windows functions' then this is the piece of kit for you. Chromebook is definately the future it is not garlic bread! Just try it ...you will not be dissapointed, I have not included all the technical stuff, no need you read the other reviews fro that ....I did ! Chromebook is a dream to use, effortless, one of the best things I have ever purchased.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
As usual with Google just when you think that you know a product your just scratching the surface, lots of short cuts and advice must to read for full use of Chromebook computer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
Anyone who is thinking of buying, or already has a Chromebook, needs to buy this book. Then you will be OK and will learn to love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
Works as designed. Fast to configure, ready to use within ten seconds and of course great for Google Users....nothing more to add
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)