Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
488
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2013
This has been on the 'to watch' list for ages, and for some reason I kept putting it off. Perhaps I thought I was too old to enjoy this kind of film anymore (I'm 30) but when there was nothing else to watch I finally gave in and put it in the player; why did I wait so long? It is exceptionally funny with many, many laugh out loud moments. I actually had tears in my eyes more than once and that just doesn't happen often.

The casting is spot on and Jonah Hill in particular manages to nail his character. His delivery and mannerisms are excellent and he's really becoming a favourite in our house.

It's something really quite special, I can't recommend it highly enough. Every once in a blue moon a comedy comes along that is a riot from start to finish and this film achieves this with aplomb.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
The comedy leanings are sublime and will ensure this film has a dedicated fan base. The usual mark for a comedy film to be funny is about 6 or 7 laughs, 21 Jump Street reaches that landmark in the opening 20 minutes of its 109 minute running length. The opening third might be manically funny and it might never reach that zenith again, however that's not a slight, the opening third is just that funny. Any film that makes me cry with laughter ensures it has a place in my heart. That 5 minutes sequence where Hill and Tatum have to take the drugs to prove themselves is the most I have laughed at a new comedy since Black Dynamite.

However funny, 109 minutes might be a bit long for a comedy and the middle third might not flow as easy as the rest of the film, but this is a dark horse of a film that came out of nowhere and won over many. This is an excellent film, directed with a perfect balance of the surreal and the touching by its directors and a dazzling script by Michael Bacall. The comedy might not be to everyone's taste and it might occasionally take the joke too far, but those who enjoy a weirder style of comedy will enjoy the hell out of 21 Jump Street.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2015
Its okay, but not as good as people seem to think it is. Maybe expecting to much, but this
is pretty desperate stuff. Just not that funny. In fact, its not really that amusing. This is strictly for teenagers
or easily pleased kids who like guns, this american humour with guns as the main humour character doesn't translate well
to places where guns are not so central to it seems every level of society. This is a paradoy of an 80's cop show, and unless
you are in with that then its pretty mundane. Be warned it just aint that good a comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2012
Occasionally, among the lazily-made dross that passes off as comedy these days, you get a film that is funny because the stars are likeable, have a great rapport, a great range of emotions and expressions, can handle both silly and serious situations, and have a good plot to work with that's both believable and surreal. This is such a film. Most importantly, you like the two guys and actually care whether they work things out between themselves, and get their job done. You don't really get that in films like The Hangover. Because they are not 1-dimensional annoying man-children, 21 Jump Street feels like a brilliant mix of Superbad and The Other Guys (this last cop buddies comedy you must watch too, it made me laugh just as hard).
88 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Not really my type of film but i did enjoy iy. Being in my mid fifties i thought it might be a turn off film after a while, but it kept me interested. Some great one liners, and comedy moments mixed in with some great action shots, made this a good all round film. The acting all round was also top notch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
Once I found out that 21 Jump Street is a movie based on an American TV show from the eighties I was kind of turned off. Most of the time movie remakes of old 80's TV shows are at best, ok. So to watch an American comedy based on an American show I had never heard of seemed like the worst kind of entertainment, the kind where I am left out of all the inside jokes and references. After watching it however, apart from one particular nod to the fans which I am not going to spoil here, I can confirm that your knowledge of the original show holds absolutely no bearing to your enjoyment of this film.

This film is funny, plain and simple, it's a funny script delivered by funny actors. The premise is that two rookie cops are given the assignment to pretend to be teenagers at a local high school to uncover a drug distribution network. This set up inevitably delivers some funny situations, such as a teacher having confusing feelings towards Channing Tatum's character and a particular drug induced scene that is funny on the same levels as the furry wall in Get Him to the Greek. The humour is very broad, ranging from low brow to slap stick to self satire, and everything in between.

For such a low brow comedy, the script, co-wrote by Jonah Hill, is pretty smart and more aware than most films set in high schools. For example our characters are pretty confused when they find out that the school isn't divided into jocks, cheerleaders and nerds. One of the pupils are gay and no one gives a damn also the popular kids actually care about their future and don't waste their time bullying people, all of this is very disarming to Tatum's and Hill's characters and leads to a fresh take on the high school dynamic.

Out of the two leads it is surprisingly Tatum who gets the most laughs, maybe because you don't expect him to be funnier than Jonah Hill, when he delivers lines with perfect comic timing you end up finding it funnier than from someone who you expect to deliver humour, sort of like the queen, break dancing instead of cutting a ribbon.

Although I wouldn't say this is a classic comedy, it certainly delivers better than most stateside "funny" films, with intelligent writing and jokes on every level, you are bound to find something that you like in this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2015
A fairly relaxed and enjoyable romp. There is nothing really new here your usual buddy cop movie. Partners under cover, high school shenanigans- but it makes an enjoyable couple of hours viewing, especially for one of those evenings when you are not in the mood for anything to taxing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2016
Every year comedies are released that attempt to be clever or to do something different but they often turn out clichéd and doesn’t produce laughs. However 21 Jump Street is intelligent, very Meta and genuinely funny throughout. A reboot of a 80s TV show, it is as much a satire of Hollywood’s trend to reboot for money as it is a comedy about school life.

The story follows Schmidt and Jenko, two young looking cops, as they are sent undercover into a high school to bust a dangerous drug operation. This set up provides plenty of opportunity for school related comedy, police action and buddy cop action-comedy. Jonah Hill and Channing Tatum work well in the lead roles and their chemistry is what makes the film so humorous, in lesser hands some of the jokes just would not have worked. Their take on high school and what it means to be popular is actually quite interesting as well as being amusing. The film’s strength is that it knows exactly what it is and instead of falling into genre clichés it makes fun of them. This self-awareness is right at the heart of the film creating strong comic material which, when handled by the talented cast, really works.

21 Jump Street is simply very funny but it has interesting ideas that make it really stand out. It is a blueprint of how to make an unnecessary unwanted reboot. In modern cinema, this is very refreshing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
I gave this film the highest ratings because it made me and my brother laugh so much. In my opinion this is one of the best comedies of 2012. The story is about two amateur american cops, who after nearly making an arrest get sent to 21 Jump Street. This when the action packed comedy filled with rib tickling humour really starts. I'm not going to say anymore about the film as it will ruin your enjoyment. But overall Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill made this my favourite film on release in 2012 because they played their roles so well also the witty humour what was used from start to finish.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
A brilliant film that is one of the funniest I personally think for a generation. As a 34 year old, upon watching it, I have rarely "lol" as the young'uns call it at new films, since the days of Austin Powers, Naked Gun films etc etc. I think it is up there with these classics. I particularly like, as someone who misses my school mates, the deep and unlikely friendship between the two lads who become police officers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)