Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 May 2012
American screenwriter and director Jeff Nichols second feature film which he wrote, premiered at the 27th Sundance Film Festival in 2011, was shot on location in Grafton, LaGrange and Elyria, Ohio in USA and is an American production which was produced by producers Tyler Davidson and Sophia Lin. It tells the story about 35-year-old Curtis LaForche who lives in a small town in Ohio with his wife Samantha and their adolescent daughter Hannah who is learning sign languages due to her inability to speak. The family is doing fine, but all of the sudden Curtis begins to experience apocalyptic visions and bad dreams. Knowing that his mother was diagnosed with Schizophrenia when he was ten years old, Curtis decides not to tell anyone about the things that are happening to him, but as the visions and dreams increases his personality changes and he becomes so convinced that something bad is going to happen where he lives that he begins to build a tornado shelter.

Finely and engagingly directed by second-time American filmmaker Jeff Nichols, this finely paced fictional tale which is narrated mostly from the protagonist`s point of view, draws a gripping portrayal of an ordinary man who is so certain that his town is going to be struck by a disaster that he becomes detached from his family. While notable for its naturalistic milieu depictions, fine cinematography by cinematographer Adam Stone and efficient use of sound, this character-driven, humane, atmospheric and foreboding mystery depicts an incisive study of character and a compassionate love-story.

This invariably intriguing and cogently narrated psychological drama about a man`s unsettling premonitions and the way they affect his personality and his relations with other people, is impelled and reinforced by its commendable and involving acting performances by American actor Michael Shannon, American actress Jessica Chastain and the fine supporting acting performances by American actor Shia Whigham and Tova Stewart in her debut feature film role. A compelling and mindful independent film which gained, among numerous other awards, the International Critics` Week Grand Prix, the Prix SACD and the FIPRESCI Prize in the Directors' Fortnight section at the 64th Cannes Film Festival in 2011.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
The jewel of my year so far in films.

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading reviews and even if I would enjoy it or make it through the film, but I was wrong, so wrong. It is utterly spell binding and a emotional roller coaster with an edge of ' what is coming next '. The acting was fantastic, the filming and the story was excellent. It may not be a new film but its the best film I have sat down to watch in 2017 so far.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2017
Can be taken as a straight horror film. But I believe the director is more interested in presenting a parable for life in Bush/Obama/ Trump America. Specifically, the lot of the blue collar family, struggling to get by, make sense, particularly in this case with a deaf daughter. The constant presseure and stress that the director and actors successfully portray. Brilliant.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2017
Perfect !!! Thanks, Jose
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
brilliant movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Great acting, cinematography and special effects, but a story that's so stupid it ruins it all. What a waste of talent, technology and money.

A steady, plodding descent into insanity, with what must be the dumbest ending in the history of the movies tacked on out of nowhere. Sloppy direction doesn't help, with stupid, avoidable goofs like vehicles parked where nobody would park them; a Midwestern small-town library open on a Sunday morning; a large, energetic male dog who has never been confined but stays inside a tiny fence so flimsy a rabbit could knock it down; and other trivial mistakes happen so often that they become a serious distraction.

One huge mistake that's not trivial at all is the unbelievable married couple at the center of this movie. It's absurd that a lovely, intelligent, emotionally balanced woman like Samantha ever looked twice at a surly, egocentric nut like Curtis, much less married him.

Unlike similar movies in which the protagonist does alarming things no one else can understand, like Close Encounters, Curtis is never shown here as a normal person, as a character we get to know a little bit and therefore care about. From the very beginning, he's sullen and introverted, completely closed down emotionally and inaccessible not only to his wife and child but to us. Of course a person so profoundly crippled is going to fall apart, but he's so remote and unappealing that it's hard to care.

So the overriding question in this suspense thriller is not "What is really happening?" or "How will this end?" but "Why should we care?" I didn't. Despite very strong acting and visuals, Take Shelter is tedious and unbelievable for almost two hours, and then infuriating at the end.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 16 June 2014
'Curtis Laforche' (Michael Shannon) has apocalyptic visions whilst asleep, he's also reading disaster into cloud patterns,dirty rain, and unusual bird gatherings.
It becomes an obsession, he borrows money against his property to improve and enlarge the storm shelter.
'Curtis' is risking everything on the strength of his dreams, his family, his friends, his job, his home, he just maybe losing his mind.
He is frequently ridiculed by many he once called friends......
This is not a fast moving film, however the intensity, along with a great performance from 'Michael Shannon' ............well worth a spin.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Masterful Cinema.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 February 2012
Take Shelter is the story of small-town blue collar worker Curtis laForche. He begins to have vivid dreams of a coming storm that continue to appear well into his waking day. With a history of mental problems in the family, he struggles with these dreams, unsure of whether to act upon them or to write them off as the beginning of his decline into mental illness. When the frequency and intensity of the dream ramps up, Curtis decides to put all he has into building a shelter for himself and his family. Everyone thinks he is crazy, even Curtis questions his sanity, but just what if he is right?

Take Shelter is a slow-moving but powerful film. The idyllic small-town surrounds foster a sense of safety and security that seem at odds to Curtis' visions. As we see Curtis wrestle with his delusions we see his family members show concern for him as it affects his work and personality. Even the viewer is left in the dark as to what is happening until the very end and it is this uncertainty of 'is he or isn't he' that keeps an electric sense of tension throughout the 2 hour duration. The picturesque surrounds and ominous visions are all beautifully shot - A dystopia fans dream.

Highly recommended for a novel and truly intriguing film.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2012
Dreams are an important part of our life. Indeed, some cultures believe that dreams are our real life and our waking life is subordinate to them. I think that our brains dream as a sort of practice run. So, we imagine ourselves in all sorts of perilous or embarassing situations so we can rehearse our responses to them. If we come across (God forbid) a similar situation in our waking life we can swing into a kind of auto-pilot because we have practiced some responses. Our brains, refined through evolution, actually never really rest - they sort and store information and put us through some sort of gymnasium in our sleeping unconscious state. But, some of our anxieties seep into our sub-consciousness and, of course, our consciousness. This is what I believe is happening in this movie. The main character has anxiety about schizophrenia (because of his mom's history) and fears a deterioration in his mental health which he figuratively sees as a storm. He tries to protect his family but cannot communicate on any level his fears which paradoxically leads his family into greater insecurity.
So, the message comes through that we should not listen to our neurotic fears but there is a twist in this story which leads us into the territory of precognition. Which is often seen as a sixth sense. However, the prediction of the future can also be seen as an awareness and translation of the five senses properly. After all, there were warning signs from nature that all was not right....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)