Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 13 April 2016
This is a fabulous collection pulling together 50 original Rockabilly gems from a treasured era.

Many are very familiar. However, there are a few odd gems here which rarely surface on these collections.

A great compilation and worthy intro to this era and genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
Okay, I am trying to wreck on crutches in the kitchen...its fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2012
A look on the track-list immediately convinced me to buy this. About half of these tracks were previously available in the painstakingly researched -but also pretty rare and expensive- series "Born Bad-Songs The Cramps Taught Us". I already had the complete series on vinyl and was busy digitalizing it, when I discovered this little gem. As you probably already figured out, a lot of these songs were either covered by The Cramps or "cannibalized" to produced new Cramps songs. About half of them are really wild rockabilly and half of them instrumentals with a "horror" or "jungle" theme, thus earning their place in the psychobilly category. All of them are fantastic, but some of the highlights are:
-much covered (Animals, Nina Simone, Creedence etc) blues classic "I put a spell on you". If you're not familiar with the original version, you're in for a surprise!
-Link Wray's instrumentals, especially "Rumble" which re-wrote the book on electric guitar.
-The 2 rockabilly dynamites by Johnny Burnette
-Early Dr John instrumental "storm warning" under his real name, Mac Rebennak
-Elvis' guitar man Scotty Moore's attempt at personal career with "Have Guitar Will Travel"
-Rare wild rockabilly songs appropriated by The Cramps, such as "Love Me", "Jungle Hop", "Rockin' Bones" etc etc.
Bottom line: Essential for psychobilly fans, highly recommended for everyone with a passing interest.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
First track on this fabulous double CD rather sets the manic tone for the rest of the offerings .Love Me by The Phantom [Jerry or was it Marty Lott] cut this piece of mayhem in 1958 ,mayhem reined in the studio with band members going somewhat berserk. during the recording but then after his manager had done nothing with it for about a year ,Mr Lott managed to get the record released on Dot of all labels and with the assistance of croon king Pat Boone of all people..
Lots of pretty obscure no hit wonders on here and I wonder if the compilers recognising this thought they would throw in a few old favourites to help garner sales .Most collectors of Rockabilly which most of this is will already have Whoo Hoo ,,Rock A Teens ,Ghost Riders in the Sky,The Ramrods and Mule Skinner Blues ,The Fendermen but what the heck they are great to listen to and even dare I say somewhat sedate to other tracks here
Vocal tracks alternate with instrumentals ., Screams and yells pervade and we even have a Bo Diddley beat on Jungle Hop.by Kip Tyler and the Flips,and when listening to Shombalor by Sheriff and the Ravels one wonders at what kind of marketing ,if any occurred when the disc was released.We even have, I Put a Spell on You ,Screaming Jay Hawkins which must have been pure R&B on it's release but who cares , what's in a name
If you are a serious collector or just someone who wants to go back and sample a time when not all Rock n Roll records made the charts then this is for you A great listen ,, remember Geffers told you so
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2013
Yes some tracks will be familiar and available on other albums - but still very good and recommended.

My album of choice when I'm out and about.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 November 2013
But in a good way.

Also in an often amateurish way too. But there's a loony enthusiasm pervading the mostly frenetic numbers. There are even some which are actually musically accomplished such as Storm Warning by Mac Rebennack (who would reinvent himself in the 60s as Dr. John, as if you didn't know). This is largely fun dumb music and, hey don't get me wrong, that's praise.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2014
50 tracks no fillers just like its sister album, real raw rockabilly, but I think this is even better! has a raw edge that you can just imagine the poor parents at the time yelling at their kids 4 listening 2 the devils music ha ha!! some gr8 original classics that if you tried 2 buy individually on 7" vinyl you would be looking at a voyage 2 the bottom of your overdraft!! but not only that , there are sum gr8 covers her 2 , at least I think they are covers , 4 all I know these guys did the tracks 1st & then more popular artists at that time got the nod 4 commercial purposes. buy & enjoy this very well thought out & clever twin disc set
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Pure Rock and Roll. This compilation has mainly one release artists and a scattering of known artists but is well worth it for great listening. 50 tracks ranging from instrumentals to raw garage rock 'n' roll in it's purest form. Hard to pick out individual tracks as they are all worthy of mention - however there is a bunch of Link Wray and his Raymen instros from late fifties which capture the mood spot on. My best track was Marlene by The Sonics. Play it at the driver who just cut you up and he'll be blown away.
Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
A mixture of good , bad & indifferent tracks , but enough good ones to make this album good value ..happily recommend
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)