Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2011
This is second time around for me, this time on the brilliant Kindle. ACC (and Gentry Lee) are right up there with my other favourite authors; Feist, Iain M Banks...

A few spelling mistakes in Rama. Brois [Boris]. Thank you Amazon for making the series available on Kindle!

UPDATE: After enjoying the Rama series a second time (this time on the Kindle) I am disappointed about the number of spelling mistakes, repeat paragraphs. Amazon need to sort this out when converting books. The fourth book is terrible for errors.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
First things first; I love Arthur C Clarke, and read and re-read many of his stories, but this omnibus is just awful!

'Rendevous with Rama' is a fantastic story, typical Clarkeian hard SF, strong on the science and action, less so on characterisation.
But the following (two?) books, well, I tried reading them, then skimming them, then just gave up. And £9.99 is twice as much as I've ever spent on a Kindle book! As deep as one goes into the books, it's almost impossible to find hard SF or actual events. There are long descriptions of Earth's economic situation, which I was expecting to be a lead in to something interesting, but just went on and on, then seemed to peter out and lead nowhere. Then there are the fashion tips for the many attractive women who appear, the relationship problems, the family issues - all that stuff is abundantly catered for elsewhere. It's not why I reach for my Clarke or Baxter collections.

People started saying, back in the late 60's, early 70's, that it was time SF grew up, and moved away from the pulp magazine image. It gradually started including relationship matters and even bedroom scenes (much to my personal regret - I like my SF old-school). Perhaps they had a point, and developing that side improved acceptability for a new readership, but these sequels take it way, way too far.

It seems evident that Clarke didn't have anything to add to the original story, so filled the pages with office politics, mother-child separation problems, and who-fancies-who twaddle.

My advice (as a Clarke fan - honestly!)- forget this omnibus, read and enjoy Rendevous with Rama, and if you want a substantial read in one place from Clarke, get the collected short stories. Great stuff!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
I read these books many years ago and was so pleased to see a Kindle version of this quadrilogy. Yes, certainly some parts are better than others but overall I am almost sad that I have now finished them. The life and times of the humans on Rama, and The Node make fascinating reading - funny, sad, challenging, frustrating. I would still like to know what happened next? If you like reading about the social aspects of life with groups of people meeting other alien species [supplied by Gentry Lee] and well as some of the technical space travel elements [supplied by Arthur C Clarke] this is well worth the investment of time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
This collection of books by Arthur C Clarke spans a large part of his writing career, and the divergence of style is very noticeable. In the first book, we are in classic “hard SF” territory, with a strong focus on technological speculation justified by a real grip of the principles of physics and engineering. Human astronauts of the not-too distant future engage an enormous cylindrical spacecraft that visits our Solar System from interstellar space. Clarke describes in loving, sometimes repetitive detail the way in which the rotation of the craft generates the effect of gravity for those who enter it and walk on its inner surface through a 1xg reactive force to its centripetal acceleration; the way this makes life relatively normal for inhabitants from earth-like planets, but how the visual and climatic effects are deeply disturbing. (He avoids tackling the rather trickier physics of the behaviour of the Rama “atmosphere” under artificial gravity, and this is left to later SF authors to attempt.) He also evokes the sense of wonder one would feel when brought face-to-face with artefacts of immeasurably more advanced cultures. However, the plot-line is relatively under-developed, and the characters barely fleshed out.
All this changes in the second volume, which is written with much greater expansiveness, and a voluminous description of the back-story of the characters who will go on to encounter the second “Rama” vehicle to enter the Solar System, many years later, some of whom will stay with the plot until the end of the fourth volume. The dramatic change in style is explained by Clarke’s explicit collaboration with co-authors in these later books, and there’s no doubt that the change was vital to carry any but the geekiest readers through the sequels. Nevertheless, the characters are resolutely two-dimensional caricatures. No sooner has Clarke introduced a character than they are pigeon-holed into a stereotype whose future development is entirely and depressingly predictable. The only slight exception to this is the character of Richard, who takes three books to develop from a stereotypical semi-aspergic scientist to caring family man, though he does so in the course of about a page, and as a result of adopting a pair of alien birdlings! The plots of books three and four elaborate the story in often stimulating ways, but to me fail satisfactorily to explain why all the long-distance inter-stellar travels are necessary for the higher purpose of Rama’s creators. In the end, the eschatology becomes increasingly implausible and unnecessarily faux-religious, and one feels he had difficulty knowing how to wrap things up.
The transfer to Kindle is pretty poor. It has clearly been scanned from hard copy, with insufficient proofing. There are mis-transcriptions of “1”s for “l”s in most chapters and multiple occasions on which half-paragraphs are repeated disconcertingly. For £13, I think buyers deserve better.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
i first read these books in paperback many years ago but lost them during a separation!
i was never a big reader until the day i read the first rama book, i was totally engrossed in the story!
i was going to buy them again but never got around to it, then i found "the omnibus" on kindle and purchased it straight away and began reading.
the story takes you there, you feel and see what the characters are experiencing.
if your a sci fi fan this book is a must for your collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I read the entire series when I was younger, much younger! This omnibus is brilliant, not only thought provoking and full of marvellous inventions it allows your imagination to soar, as the superb writing makes you feel that you are not only reading the story, but you are also part of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I'm thrilled this series has been released on Kindle. A classic sci-fi read and great value having all four novels in one book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
I am 80 now and first read this book many years ago and i am enjoying this as much or more than before.I think Arthur C Clarke
is the best author I have ever read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2012
One of the greatest pieces of Sci Fi ever written, to have them all in one omnibus is superb. The translation from book to electronic copy is seamless. I have had all the books (purchased one at a time on publication) for many years-but to be able to have them on my Kindle so I can pass from one book to the next without having to search is fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
I be trying to buy all of the Rama books for years, to have all three on my Kindle for less then £10 what more can one ask.
Thank you Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse