Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
128
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2011
Safari 3D may not be a BBC production, often synonymous with impressive nature documentaries, but it is a pleasantly surprising underdog with impressive 3D technology being using subtly and sympathetically.

Although subject matter may have been done before, Safari treks having been followed frequently, the 3D element really adds (literally) another dimension that makes Safari an enjoyable and impressively original watch for the whole family.

Hunter Ellis is a likeable guide and adds to, rather than encroaches on, the footage that is put together in a well thought through collection of wildlife goings-on and impressive natural behaviours.

Well worthy of a watch. Grrrreat.
11 Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
Interesting documentary not the commercial likes of attenbourgh but fresh and enlightening. The filming with the use of 3d was great and the close ups of wild animals was fantastic IMPRESSED
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2012
There are quite a number of these 3D documentaries now availble and as one reviewer points out those filmed in Imax are amongst the very best. What that reviewer doesn't point out is that, more often than not, you also get little more that 40 minutes run time for you money from those discs. Safari 3D gives you around 90 minutes which, given the price, is a good start. The content is also very good - yes, the tour guide is a bit on the cheesy side and it quickly becomes clear you are not in the company of David Attenborough but rather a Crocodile Dundee type. So what?, this is a fun trip not a university lecture and it is all the more charming, I think, because of the guide (Hunter). Some of the scenery is stunning and the close up and personal shoots of a variety of animals often quite beautiful. I'm not sure what one or two other reviewers were watching but the quality was generally excellent - crisp, clear, vivid - typical HD quality for this kind of disc. As for the 3D? Generally very good, sometimes excellent, with very good depth, clarity, and no discernable crosstalk (ghosting)or camera judder, etc. Some scenes were clearly not 3D but these really were nothing more the brief moments and usually transitional, between events, or during narration. Some of the 3D is actually quite impressive (e.g. the village scenes, and the elephants) though if you are looking for those 'pop out' moments you will be disappointed. The real strength of this 3D disc is in some of the depth and perspective it creates, giving a real sense at times of 'being there' without actually over baking the 3D imaging just for its own sake (as some do). One is left with the impression of having been somewhere without leaving the sofa and having the jabs! Is it perfect?, no, by no means - the narrative isn't great at times, there are occasion 2D moments (if viewing in 3D), and sometimes the pace is a little slow and lumbering. But overall this is an excellent 90 minutes of African magic. Regards those comments claiming the 3D and/or picture quality is poor, shakey, whatever - either I have an extra good 3D TV (I don't) or I strongly suspect they haven't properly set up their TV. Proper set up is crucial for good HD and this is even more the case with a 3D set up. So, to sum up, for less that 9 quid (on Amazon at present) as I say it's great safari and a bargain 3D trip.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
A really breathtaking way to view a safari documentary. This really is one made for 3D, very well thought out and filmed to really enhance the viewing. I've been on safari and it is the best way currently to share my experience, with this documentary you really get a sense of the landscape and the awsomness and majesty of nature. Really enjoyed it.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2012
Excellent narrative film with suberb close up shots of the animals
Well worth watching for young and old alike
You will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2012
Like just being on safari great buy for those who appreciate great HD 3D quality highly recommended not to be missed
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
This DVD is to date the best 3D I have watched.It bring so much realism to the screen it is the only format I will watch in future for wildlife DVD's. The presenter is not up to Attenburgh standards but fortunately he does not intrude too much.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
Hi guys, I was really excited about this documentary because I was expecting some kind of intense documentaries like the ones from Animal Planet but it is the worst documentary i have ever seen. There is nothing interesting about it and i got bored to death. This "documentary" is nothing but a 3D demo which is not that brilliant in my opinion. The host is really boring and what he says is really not interesting. I watched it with a 5 year old kid and there is a disgusting scene where the host drinks blood in a kind of african tribe, it was so gross and not suitable for children. I didn't learn anything about any animal and this bluray is just a waste of money and time ordering it.
13£ for 1 extremely boring hour is not what i can wish for the future buyers.

Please find something else than this crap !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I am not sure what the previous reviewers were actually watching, but it was not what I bought. This disc (and 2 others - see below) are all to be avoided, they are badly composed and filmed,of a low resolution and bad colour saturation (no HD cameras were used in the making of these films) especially the awfull quality of Earth 3D, they are all either badly composed for 3D, of low resolution camcorder qaulity, blurred, or variations of all ferementioned.

I found them all uncomfortable to watch due to the bad 3D composition and poor resolution, or by constantly reminding myself I had just paid good money for bad rubbish. The worst one of them all is Earth 3D which should be removed from Amazon shelves, this is a 'low resolution' camcorder, jerky out of focus film with no noticable 3D, thanks to the appalling quality, it is unwatchable on anything other that a 12 " portable analogue TV (if anyone still has one), and reminds me of when DVD's first came out, when companies recorded VHS qaulity videos onto disc and called them DVD's (VHS on a disc) .... these movies are the new generation of cheap HD camcorder movies calling themselves Blu Rays.

If you like Blu Ray quality, wildlife movies ....... and like 3D .... buy the excellent quality IMax or BBC Blu Rays.
One of these discs - Safari 3D (I think) had the cheek to advertise BBC's "One Life" blu ray, the quality was excellent, then the ad finished and the rubbish started, the contrast in quality was glaringly obvious.
DO NOT waste your hard earned morney on this sub standard 3D processed low quality rubbish.

Blu Rays to be avoided;

Safari 3D
Fascination Afrika 3D
Earth 3D (five star rubbish)

I also await delivery of Rainforest 3D .... I am not hopeful as I suspect it is produced by the same cowboys as the previous aforementioned 3.
If it is the same abismal qaulity they will all be sent to the Trading Standards commission and let them sort it out.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
Purchased this only to be dissapointed that I already own it under the title -Safri Africa 3D.The cover is differant and title changed slightly to catch the consumer.I thought it was a second edition and was very disapointed,shame on the ones responsible.I will say fantastic viewing but dont be caught as I was.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)