Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
29
4.3 out of 5 stars
Siren's Song
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


on 5 October 2011
Pete,Luke and the band have jet again produced an album that is quite simply superb.
Rock as it should be,rock that is reminicent of rock produced in the hey days of the 70s.
Simple,effective yet musically and lyrically excellent.
Dont forget Black Country Communion but this release is excellent without the hype and without the super group status.
Pete Shoulder is without question a vocalist of extream ability well supported by the rest of the band.
I am a big fan of the likes of BCC,Chickenfoot,Dream Theater,Foreigner,Europe and the rest but this new release surpasses all the other releases (as excellent as they are).
I look forward to seeing the band play live this month and after seeing them in their early days,it augers well for another excellent concert.
The cd is reminicent of Petes earlier days with Winterville which were also excellent and im surprised doesnt get re-released.
Buy the cd now and spread the word....lets face it British bands need all the support they can get.
ps the title/cover are also inspired and add to the quality of the release.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 October 2011
Well, well,well - Messrs Shoulder and Morley have an association that is growing fast into a fine, fine band, certainly, dare I say, the equal of Thunder. Even now I still hanker after the quintessential "English" rock band that was encapsulated within Thunder but, I have to admit that with music as displayed on Siren's Song of the undoubted quality that it is, it makes knowing that Thunder will never re-emerge that little bit easier to bear....But enough wallowing in the past, this is the present and this is the second album from The Union and, where most new bands find the second album a difficult challenge, Siren's Song comes across full of confidence and fully at ease with it's material, kicking off in great style and power with a full on rock "tune" in the form of the title track, this runs into an even rockier track; Blame It On Tupelo, that swaggers and punches the air - this will truly be one of their anthems to get the crowds going when it comes to the live performance - wow...and then some!
Quieter moments manifest themselves in a simply beautiful ballad entitled Orion before we go headlong into more rocking good moments with quieter passages thrown in for good measure. Pete Shoulder's vocals are now maturing fast and his style is confident and ballsy - something that perhaps, upon reflection, was what was really missing on the debut album. As for Luke Morley, well, again, whilst he definitely is there behind it all adding his guitar and backing vocals, he once more takes a very much back seat role - but every now and again, he lets rip and lets you know that there is a maestro at work here!
Crisp and very clear production adds to the overall feel of the album making this a near perfect second album - let's hope that this is not a premature pinnacle..!!
If you like intelligent, driving rock with a touch of ballad to add light and shade to the proceedings, then you'll have to go a long, long way to top this offering - BUY with confidence - you'll not be disappointed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
A great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
What can I say about this album apart from what you can already deduce from the review title...?! This is the new one from a more together, more cohesive writing unit in Pete Shoulder and Luke Morley. From the title track's mysterious and ominous opening all the way through to the gorgeous 'If I Could Make You Mine', this is an album of variety, brilliant muscianship and one of the modern era's, or any era for that matter, finest voices. The flashes of vocal genius come thick and fast from Mr. Shoulder and are particularly dazzling in 'If I could Make You Mine'. However there isn't ever any doubt that these guys can rock when they choose! 'Siren's Song', 'Obsession' and 'The Remedy' are gems. Loud, noisy gems, but gems all the same.

This is a brilliant album and one which you just know will be incredible live. So I suggest you don't miss out and go and see them while you can. They'll be coming to a town near you from the 19th of October 2011. You'd be insane to miss it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
From the acoustic intro on the title track to the end of the jazzy If I Could Make You Mine this album is sheer class, covering a varied musical pallet like the first album. The title tracks acoustic intro soon turns into a thunderous rocker after a minute or so and when it's finished, you're left thinking can it get any better, well yes it can, the funky riff of Blame It On Tupelo to the grungy glam of Obsession and into the folky Orion the boys really turn it on and you can imagine them sounding awesome live which is where The Union excel, on stage. The album doesn't let up either with some great rock songs like The Remedy and Black Gold and the epic Time. This is a great album, if you liked the first album you'll love this one.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Having first seen The Union on tour with Thin Lizzy I was impressed by a neat set and a classic blues rock style vocalist. Went away and bought the album next day and what a discovery. Messrs Shoulder and Morley have created the best band I have heard in ages, a truly talented pair of guys.

On the back of this discovery I back tracked a little and bought the Winterville album which is an absolute gem. Nearly a year on then I eagerly awaited the release of "Sirens Song". It was well worth the wait. This album is no different, excellent song writing delivered in an easy listening classic rock style. The songs are so catchy and memorable and so lyrically superb I even had to look up the Greek mythology on the anthemic title track opener. There is a definite seventies/and eighties feel to most tunes with a solid guitar riff base and stunning vocal. There are also chug-along rockers like "Obsession" and "Burning Daylight" more reminiscent of modern acts but so much more polished and professional. You also get harmonies, twin guitars and quality acoustic and soulful numbers like "Orion" or "If I Could Make You Mine" with its piano accompaniment. I have the limited edition pack which is excellent. Not only an extra disc of material and booklets to read in a nice gatefold album sized cover, you also get a t-shirt. Money well spent. Overall five stars like the first album, a nice collection of ballads, rockers, southern blues and acoustic. Not a single weak song in sight.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 November 2011
There's many an album that comes out to a trumpeted fanfare but also suffers from the age old Emperor's New Clothes syndrome.

Released to loud and long applause, but based on previous, artist reputation or anticipation more than actual product, artistic merit or audio quality.

Last year, it was the debut album from The Union that fell into the Emperor's category of applause based on anticipation.

It was a good first offering but truth be told it was just that - good, with some tasty tracks, but was never going to be a contender for best debut album of all-time.
The anticipation and reaction came from the fact the band is based around ex-Thunder guitarist Luke Morley and singer Peter Shoulder, formerly of Winterville.
Morley is an excellent six-stringer with a special predilection for modern-edged blues rock and Shoulder's blues `n' soul rock voice usually makes you pay attention no matter what the song.

But that was the problem for me - on the debut the pair's song writing wasn't consistently strong enough or, perhaps more accurately, simply didn't separate itself from the blues rock crowd, whether the old-stagers or any of the new kids on the blues block. Songs like `Black Monday' shone, but it wasn't a complete album.

However the follow-up, Siren's Song, is a far more accomplished album with a much higher standard of song writing. It's a pretty damn solid sophomore release.
Their respective abilities were never in doubt, but on this album Morley and Shoulder's writing, musical chemistry and creativity have truly formed The Union that is Siren's Song.

The title track opens proceedings with a self-assured swagger and it's that self assurance that dominates the album - I doubt they would have considered songs such as the melancholic `Orion' or the smokey 4am piano blues of `If I Could Make You Mine' for the debut.
And outside of lighter interludes like `Make Up Your Mind' or the slow blues of `Cut the Line' there's a fair old helping of dirty riffing rock `n' blues in the shape of `Obsession' and `The Remedy,' to name but two.

This isn't a good album, this is a very good album. And, on the basis of this second helping, the third time may well be the charm. Looking forward to it already.
Meantime, it's back to Siren's Song for a well deserved repeat blast or five.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2011
This is a strange album and one that is hard to review. At moments I feel that it is really excellent but overall I feel unmoved and a bit dissatisified. There is no doubt that the songs are at a minimum good, and at moments verging on wonderful. Equally there is no doubt that the vocals are brilliant and the lead voice tremendous. I saw them in York recently and had the same feeling. They often got to a point where you were carried away but at the end I didn't feel moved and walked away thinking OK, but not elated. Not really sure why as all the ingredients seem to be there. Oh, and 60 minutes on stage before the encores was a bit short.
They were supported in York by Mad Dog. I thought they were better than The Union. Real fire in the playing. One to watch for the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
I have listened to the The Union from the start, being a fan of Thunder and Winterville. They have never dissapointed.And this album just rocks. great vocals and guitar riffs, each song with such feeling, You just know that the boys are having fun, enjoying what they set out to do. Make great music, for us lesser mortals.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 9 March 2012
Thought some people may like to know where the cover orginates from.
The picture is Ulysses and the Sirens 1909 (by Herbert Draper)
and hangs ine th Feren's Art Gallery in Hull Yorkshire.

To say it's a magnificent painting is an understatement.

It's huge and Ulysses, his crew and the Sirens are almost life size.

The Myth is from Homer's Odyssey.
Ulysses knew of the island and it's Sirens who lured sailors to their death so he ordered his crew to fill their ears with Beeswax to deafen them.

Ulysses ordered his men to tie him to the ships mast so he could hear the Siren's song and yet not be able to cause the ship to founder.

As I said great picture.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)