Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
25
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2012
Well it's finally here and time to do a proper review.

Picture: Network has done a good job on this and everything looks clear and bright and makes it a joy to watch. 4/5

Sound: The real bugbear of this DVD set. As others have commented it is quiet and muddy, something with which I agree. Network really dropped the ball here. 1/5

DVD content: Lacking. A few promo pictures and the exclusion of subtitles is a shocking omission by Network. It's not as if you haven't had the time to work on this. 1/5

The show: The star here isn't Stephanie Beacham who has the key scenes, but Pam Ferris as the conniving scheming Nesta who wears some fantastic outfits throughout the show and steals it from Stephanie. It is convoluted, wordy and overblown in places but that's part of its charm and adds to the pleasure of watching it. Note must be made of Brenda Bruce who provides more than able support role as Connie and Nesta's mother. 4/5

In conclusion: Although it has its problems this has been a joy to watch. Welcome back Connie, it's good to see you again.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Despite the issues with the poor sound quality and the disappointing lack of extras, this DVD is still a good buy.

An enormously entertaining, at times high-camp drama that pokes scorn at the avarice and solipsism that defined the Thatcherite 80s. Connie offers up some fantastic, scenery-chewing performances combined with razor-sharp dialogue and set against the bleak, urban backdrop of the industrial East Midlands.

The cast are mostly on top form, and Stephanie Beacham shines in the title role as Connie, the prodigal daughter returning to her home turf after an eight-year sabbatical to grab a slice of whatever's on offer. However, as a previous reviewer noted, it's Pam Ferris's highly-charged performance as nasty Nesta, Connie's embittered step-sister, that steals the show: Ferris dominates every scene she's in like a designer-clad drag queen on speed.

The plot is, at times, convoluted, and a fair amount of extraneous 'chatter' helps pad the series out to its 13 episodes, but overall, this is a strongly-written, well-acted drama that captures the greed and 'glamour' of the 1980s with a flourish.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2012
I recently purchased this item from Amazon after an extremely long wait for its release (Network continually put back the release date due to rights issues). Unfortunately, as other people on here have already attested, the wait was far from worth it - the biggest issue being the terrible sound quality. I realise that not all "old" TV shows get the remastering treatment, but surely we deserve better than this. I am personally going to email Network and ask them to consider fixing the sound issue and re-releasing the DVDs. Please join me and petition Network to do the same - if we bombard them with enough messages, they might take some action! Connie wouldn't stand for it, would she?
22 Comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 October 2013
I have just seen other reviews which complain about bad sound quality. I bought this second hand from Amazon and all the discs played fine and the sound on my laptop seemed ok to me.
I really enjoyed watching this series again.
Apart from the fabulous Stephanie Beacham, it features some really nice shots of Nottingham and Mansfield market place. Not to mention the 80s fashions and cars!
It's worth the money to revisit those clothes!!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Having read the reviews complaining about the sound on these DVDs, I wasn't expecting much, but some episodes, particularly the first one, are almost inaudible. You can hear that people are speaking, but not what they're saying. I don't understand how this set came to be released with such a profound inadequacy.
That said, Connie is still Connie, the script (when you can hear it) is still funny and entertaining, the cast are stunning, the settings appear unusually authentic, and the plot keeps you on the edge of your seat. They don't make them like this any more.
When Connie was broadcast on ITV, we missed the last episode, so for all this time we'd been wondering how it ended. In spite of everything that's been said about the quality of this box, we now know, and it was worth the effort! I won't be returning this box, though I will try playing it on an older DVD player next time, which may be more forgiving of its faults.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2012
As we all know, this is been the bane of a lot of people's lives, we have been promised this, again and again only to find the date pushed back further and further.well now finally this has been released and too be honest they seemed to have released this too soon.Firstly has to be the sound quality, it actually borders on appalling, it's duff the sound levels are up and down, one minute your turning it up to hear, then your getting deafened as it's too loud, also the picture quality is very much as if you were watching it on VHS, and not high quality DVD, especially with all the technology of vidfiring, which has been done on programmes way back in the 60's, this release is very poor, and think they should have made a bit more of an effort, and put the release back a bit more.

The three stars has to be for finally getting it released, and too see the series again, which actually, is really good to see again, and the poor quality has stopped this being a 5 star release
22 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2012
Great series but the quality of the sound on this recording is appalling. It's really muffled and there are no sub-titles to help one follow the action.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2012
At last, finally, after possibly the longest DVD release build-up - EVER! -'Connie' arrives as a 4-DVD boxset. Hurrah!

For anyone not knowledgeable of such things, Connie was the 1985 show that made Stephanie Beacham a star in the UK, before she was whisked off (to California and international fame) by Aaron Spelling who cast her as uber-bitch Sable Colby in The Colby's (sandwiching her between legends Charlton Heston & Barbara Stanwyck); a casting call that was pretty much based on her sterling performance as 'Connie'.

Summary - Connie was exiled 8 eight ago from the man she loved and the business she loved, to a taverna in Greece...but she's back and out for revenge against those who wronged her. There are early signs of 'Sable' in Beacham's portrayal of Connie, who twists brilliantly as she claws her way back in to 'the rag trade', 'oop North (well, Birmingham). Okay, so the scripting (not story, but rather the dialogue) is abit dodgy at times, occasionally thespian, as if the series writer thought he was scripting for the stage rather than TV. You'd certainly never get away nowadays on TV with long, rambling speeches and reminisces, however somehow Connie pulls it off.

Ultimately a great time capsule, of a great show, with a great star, in a great decade, that deserves this DVD release.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
This series takes you back in time with good views on life in Nottingham where a good deal of it was filmed.Good strong characters and storylines.Other people have commentated on the poor sound quality but I have not had any trouble with the sound but I did find the first disc jumpy in parts and kept stopping and starting.I returned the disc to Amazon and a replacement was issued with two days,Great service as usual.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
I did the logical thing, I contacted Network Dvd direct, the delay is over rights and is beyond the control of Network. The next scheduled release date is Aug 6 but even then it may get put back. Network say trying to get the issue resolved has taken longer than expected and hope to get Connie released as soon as. In all honesty I would not expect to get your hands on it for a long while yet. Update, guess what? it's now aug 28!
55 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)