Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2012
Bought this product on strength of reviews and the Crucial brand reputation. Installed the latest BIOS to motherboard and upgraded the drive to the latest firmware.
Installed Windows, it was a blisteringly fast drive and pushed my Windows benchmark from 5.9 to 7.3. Programs loaded immediately although I did notice a noticable lag when trying to access the drive with one or more programs simultaneously such as when listening to music and running graphics software both of which were on the SSD. Or when copying files onto the SSD from a second installed hard drive while also browsing the internet. This lag wasn't apparent on my old sata hdd but it may be a factor that all ssds have - quick with one access task but noticably slower with two or more.
After three weeks of trouble free use the ssd just stopped working. No warning, nothing out of the ordinary. Completely dead. As someone who has built PCs for friends and family over ten years and has never had a failed PATA or SATA drive (touch wood) yet, I can't recommend this. Perhaps in another 2 or three years when the technology is less experimental I might try again or consider one as a backup drive first before putting it to use as a main drive.
On the plus side, Amazon were very efficient at organising a return by a courier who collected from my place of work and also issued a speedy refund which I converted into a lovely 3TB sata drive with 200 quid left over.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
As a computer gamer that lived on hard drives to change from a hard drive to this is like changing from dial up internet to fibre optic. I use this to store my Windows and Steam games and because they run from it Windows starts in seconds and so do my games. Certain this gives me a tactical advantage on Counter Strike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I installed this to speed up my pc and the results were much better than I could ever have expected. It makes boot times much faster and accessing data is much quicker. In fact, loading times all round have improved greatly, mainly due to the fact that this has no moving parts!

Very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
I bought this ssd for my older desktop pc, and it works as is should be. After a firmware update it even become a slightly faster.
Time will tell how long it's going to hold out in an everyday use.

Update: After using it for six months or so, the SSD still delivers, with no sign of fatigue or trouble.

Also arrived in just two days, with normal delivery.
Appreciate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
This was easy to fit and is working well. If you haven't used one before look up SSD alignment and use your Windows 7 install disk (rather than Disk Management) to create partition(s) and format. SSD alignment is different from HDD alignment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2013
works as advertised, not the fastest model on the market but has proven history.easy to install, fast delivery.arrived with latest firmware which saves some hassle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
This is a great little ssd drive for use with a Apple Mac or hackintosh. Sure it's not got the fastest write speeds but its solid and won't let you down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
Works perfectly and sped up my 2009 macbook a treat.

old standard HD was failing, now the laptop is brought back to life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2015
Been working flawlessly in my macbook pro for a year. Like a completely new computer after an upgrade from a spinning drive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
The samgsung i5 was great new, but the years have shown their toll. This baby got it back to speed again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)