Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 January 2013
I ordered this to try some new authors, so glad it was free.

Couldnt even finish this story and this is a rare thing for me, i read constantly!

Perhaps it would have improved if i had kept going with it. However, once i got to the part where a rod was inserted vaginally to basically recharge something (cant even be bothered to remember what was recharged) i had to give up.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2013
I really like this book, it is sci-fi but still with a modern day edge. The main character gets more and more appealing, and I was becoming more engaged in her background and personality. She is one tough cookie. I like Jason Halstead's writing style;it is continually exciting, fast paced and, for me, happily without boring, ongoing imagery that is found in other authors works. The ending wasn't as fantastic as what I expected it to be , but I had to do a quick reminder that this is a series of four so that's the reason why the ending wasn't entirely final. The next book in the series is now in my library, eagerly looking forward to be read. Overall, it is a really good read, exciting, engaging, with good characters and very enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2018
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2011
Katalina Wimple is a Phoenix detective but a Phoenix that has been shaped by the emergence of a portal to another world many years previously, other cities across the globe suffer their existence as well and through these portals a world of magic not technology awaits.
Katalina "Kat" Wimple specialises in missing children/women and those oppressed, she is driven by her own early nightmares which lead her into the police force and now equipped with some of most advanced bio-tech on the planet (and still paying off the bill) she mixes her own personal and professional life in handling a spate of disappearing women and the activities of the husband of her police shrink a woman she is attracted to.
The Lost Girls (Dark Earth) is set in the same world as the original Dark Earth novel but only plays lip service to the portal element, the crimes and investigations that follow don't rely on this intruding world/people but on humanities own darkest desires and acts.
Kat herself has a solid and complex backstory and the lifestyle choices prevalent through out the story do not seem out of place, very easy for them to be titillating or come off as just a piece of narrative candy. The inclusion of the bio-tech and it's advantages/limitations adds even more depth to the story and I'll admit I was laughing a little too much over the idea of ballistic protection offered via various cup sizes of breast implants.
I'll admit I got a story not quite what I was expecting and that is always an interesting adventure, the crime/detective element was a lot of fun, the background of the characters was varied and complex enough to hold my interest and the more mature content not written too aggressively which can put you off.
The Lost Girls is an enjoyable read with the characters and narrative strong enough to at least given the book a chance, for me it was certainly good enough to look into the other Dark Earth related novels.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2014
I got 11% of the way through and gave up. Synopsis sounded good with a good idea and I was looking forward to having a new series of books to read. However, I had no sympathy for the 'heroine' and found the writing style irritating. Just completely lost interest. Don't think it's worth any stars but have to give it a rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 March 2015
I read Thessalonians IV by Chris Dean and loved it. On finishing it Amazon sent me a reco suggesting I might like The Lost Girls.
The book opens with Kat, a lesbian cop, having been attacked and on the threshold of gang rape. She thinks with a man's mind and speaks with a man's voice, which is distracting. A lesbian is no more a man trapped in a woman's body than a gay man is a woman trapped in a man's body: they are different products of creation. The book also juxtaposes acute jeopardy with an irritating flippancy, like a bad Bond film.
It is in a futuristic setting but our lesbian cop narrates like a hackneyed 50s P.I. I was not sure initially what genre it was supposed to be in. It seemed to be caught between Mills & Boon for boys and Sci-Fi.
In the wake of her assault Kat has a medical examination. The female doctor, who is supposed to be straight, is instantly ready to abandon her Hippocratic oath to have a girl/girl thing with Kat who, it transpires, is also second generation bionic. She subsequently meets the most fabulous escort girl who again instantly falls in love with her. This is blatant male fantasy.
Kat stops more bullets than Bonnie & Clyde, and gets blown up, but she is hardly phased by any of it. There was nothing for me to believe in; not the premise, not the characters, not the dialogue and not the action. The author is weak on details e.g. Kat takes a switchblade from a thug and it reads, "I switched it open and engaged the safety latch..." A switchblade, or flick knife as we call it in England, flicks open with the press of a button and locks open instantly. The latch is to release the blade to put it away. Jason needs to handle the thing before he writes about it. He then gets his girls to use it for cutting bonds. A switchblade is a stabbing weapon; it is crap for cutting: she might just as well have used a screwdriver.
I found much of the writing chillingly crude, for example Kat referring to her lady doctor says, "I didn't gush my pants for her." What surprised me after that vulgarity was that Jason shied away from the sex scene when the plot delivered the opportunity. How can a writer be this crude and yet at the same time too coy for a bit of rudies? I think it is those that don't understand women and sex who shy away from it, or who just spoil it with vulgarity. I'm betting Jason knows more about cricket than he does about women.
There is no realism in any direction yet the fantasy is not convincing enough to carry the reader. Also it is a great mistake for a writer who comes across as a misogynist to narrate the book in the first person as the female lead.
I had also sussed the crime and whodunit very early in the book: the plot is so thin it was impossible not to. What a waste of time...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 May 2013
Having read this I'm still not sure what time period it is set in, just confused. The heroine is a bionic women with few interpersonal skills.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2013
I didn't get the story or the plot, nor identified with the characters in any way. Boring and uninteresting not recommened
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
Very weird book. Lesbian sci-fi is a niche market, I suspect! I don't know what else to say about this. Confusing plot-line, odd rambling passages about messed-up girl (main character) and her musings about women she maybe likes. Or not.
And then the book suddenly ended, partly to my relief, but with a feeling that the writer has suddenly realised a dealine had arrived.
One star.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2013
Read about 20/20 pages of this and gave up not my taste. Not to say others wont like it. Different!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse