Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
104
Ravensburger Castles of Burgundy
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 12 February 2016
Love it, love it, love it. It took a while to understand the rules but once we got the hang of them this has fast become one of my favourite games. A game between two people usually takes about an hour, but this depends on the game as the dice rolls can change quite a lot! I'd definitely recommend this game to anyone.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2017
Not one for those looking for a quick game. Initial set up takes a while and the rules can seem complicated when you first play but after a few games it gets easier.
There's lots of things you can do to make the best of the tiles you have (it also pays off keeping an eye on what other people are doing, especially with the sections they are trying to complete). The first time we played it there were 3 of us and it took a few hours from setting up.
We have just played with 2 of us on a Sunday afternoon and ended up doing best of 3 as the results were so close.

The graphics are nice and the whole thing feels well made especially for <£20. My only complaint would be the storage (there's not enough compartments; we've stored each type of tile in little plastic bags) and the pieces are quite small so it's a little fiddly.
Despite these points it's fast becoming one of my favourite board games and is a great price compared to some.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2018
This game is quite daunting to set up and play for the first time. The mechanics are reasonably straightforward but there are so many different types of building and "knowledge" tiles that it's very hard to keep their functions in mind without a crib sheet so there's a constant irritating need to consult the rule-book which interrupts and slows play. So much so that I wondered if this was really a good choice of game for us. However, after a few plays I created a crib-sheet for each player and this, together with our growing familiarity with the game, made things run much more smoothly. Once you get the hang of it, this is definitely an engaging and rewarding game: it's different every time you play and there's little direct conflict between players (not everyone would see this as plus but we do!). Different players can pursue different tactics and still produce a close result at he end. Overall, excellent to play and highly recommended but it really could do with a player crib-sheet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2016
Lots of rules to remember but well laid out instructions to help you mid game.
Rewarding and well worth the effort.
Watching a you tube game overview helps to get the basic idea of the game quickly, then you can learn the more detailed aspects from the manual.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
great game, it's fun both with 2,3 or 4 players.
has a lot of different ways to gain victory points, but it's not overly complex.
rarely similar from game to game, especially with the "expert" starting boards.

good components quality, maybe some more plastic zip bags would have been useful to organize the tiles.

timeless classic, recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2016
Blimey this game is complicated but you know what, it is totally worth the effort because after the first time it gets simpler. And once you're playing it it's great! One of those games that once you understand it you feel a bit stupid for ever being confused, but there you are. Would recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
This game is an ugly duckling, but play is brilliant, particularly for two players. If you enjoy euro style games and like to be rewarded with points for doing absolutely anything, this is the game for you! It's a classic, it's only 20 quid. It's got to be done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
A very affordable introduction into the world of serious board games and hard to imagine anyone not getting into it. Fun, absorbing and impossible to fault.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2017
This is what I call an 'investment' game. You really need to invest time and energy and brain power in it. Every time I play it, I have to re-read the instructions again for 20 minutes. It's a good game once it gets going, especially for 2 players; but it does involve a gooooood few hours!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2017
Look, its a classic, everyone goes on about it. I just didn't like it. Just abstract adding up of points. Tiny pieces, thinly made, small board, etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)