Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
84
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2016
Love it, love it, love it. It took a while to understand the rules but once we got the hang of them this has fast become one of my favourite games. A game between two people usually takes about an hour, but this depends on the game as the dice rolls can change quite a lot! I'd definitely recommend this game to anyone.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2016
Lots of rules to remember but well laid out instructions to help you mid game.
Rewarding and well worth the effort.
Watching a you tube game overview helps to get the basic idea of the game quickly, then you can learn the more detailed aspects from the manual.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Blimey this game is complicated but you know what, it is totally worth the effort because after the first time it gets simpler. And once you're playing it it's great! One of those games that once you understand it you feel a bit stupid for ever being confused, but there you are. Would recommend.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
This game is an ugly duckling, but play is brilliant, particularly for two players. If you enjoy euro style games and like to be rewarded with points for doing absolutely anything, this is the game for you! It's a classic, it's only 20 quid. It's got to be done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Fantastic game, elegant euro with an unusual theme.

Easy to start playing but a game with many levels to it and different tactics which can win the game.

I would reccomend, fun to play and enough to different pieces to make each game a unique experience.

Only complaint, the materials are not as heavy quality as other similar games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2013
Love this game. There are lots of 'bits' which can make setting up a bit fiddly but it plays really well. The different board layouts are great and stops it from becoming the same game each play.

I love the fact that it plays equally well as a 2 player as it does for 3 or 4 players.

And ... it's cheap compared to others. Definitely recommend this to those who play games like Catan or Stoneage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
The Castles of Burgundy has a permanent place in my top 3 favourites! The game play is very easy to learn and has just the right balance - it's not too easy, so you don't get bored with it, but it's not too hard either, so you don't feel overwhelmed when you're supposed to relax and have some pleasant leisure time. In my opinion, it's best with 2 players and it's suitable for all ages. The 9 different player boards provide a lot of diversity and each game is very different from the others. The only downside is that the quality of the pieces is a bit low (as other customers have already mentioned). However, I really don't think this is such a big deal because the price is good and the game is marvellous! This product deserves 5 stars and if I could, I would give more!

P.S.: According to the rules, the players choose their boards, but I think it's more honest to close your eyes, shuffle and pick randomly, because there's a huge difference from one board to another.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
This is a very good game with a lot of depth. The game will reward multiple plays and is easy to teach to almost anyone.
At it's heart it's a set collection game with the limits of the dice to narrow down your choices. Thinking ahead is paramount to ensure you can get what you need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Another great game by Stefan Feld, this is one my girlfriend actually asks to play; I know she loves it as she has taken to calling it hers! This is one game I can always persuade her to play so the old gaming itch can be satisfied. Not the prettiest of games but loved for the puzzles it throws up -how do I do X when the dice tells me to do Y? Writing about it makes me want to play it again which I really wasn't expecting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
Great game, very replayable with the different estates you can play on. We had to add some house rules after a few plays due to an over-powered pasture scoring system but now the game plays really well. The Dice can occasionally cause frustration when the numbers you need don't come up, which can mess with your strategy if playing seriously. Otherwise its easy to learn and pick up
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)