Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
23
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.30
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2013
Peter Poland certainly knows exactly what he is writing about he was there in some of the biggest events in the War. The battle of Narvick was a kind of phyrric victory the Germans lost about 7 fleet type destroyers and plenty of precious merchant ships in this seabattle we lost the port of Narvick . I used to work with an ex-sailor who was on the HMS destroyer Hardy during this battle.- he got a mention in a book about the battle of Narvick and he showed the book to me. He also fought in the Mediterranean the Atlantic and the Pacific against the Japanese he finished the war almost totally deaf .... and a Chief Petty Officer!

Really this tale is about a man who became a naval officer and was a much denigrated martinet one who came good in his own way. I really got involved with this tale it covers much of the early days of The Second World War when this Islands army navy and air forces were decimated time after time because they were completely unprepared for the kind of war the Germans fought.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I was hesitant about downloading this book because of the negative comments, and the first few pages are not very well written, but I'm glad I stuck with it. It's not the greatest piece of English literature, but Poland writes as if he had been present at Narvik, especially - and I for one knew little of that action until I read something of it here.

The rather petty criticisms from some readers should be ignored - the identity of a German ship is irrelevant.

For those who enjoy RN history novels, it is atmospheric and therefore worth the effort.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
The basic storyline about a rather nasty naval officer is quite entertaining and at times you can almost see his point (but not very often). The book is in some ways badly written or more precisely badly proof read, the same sentence repeated a paragraph later on several occasions. Also a reference to drinking "Scotch" then referring to whiskey when of course it should be whisky, whiskEY of course being Irish.
Overall a fair read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
I have just finished this and enjoyed the story very much even if it would be unlikely that a relatively junior Lieutenant would be promoted Lt Cdr.

The story was spoiled by the person who had been given the job of typing it into Kindle Format as they don't know there English Language. I have been surprised at how many people don't know the difference between Loose and Lose but if given this job for which we are paying good money then the writer (not Author) should at least have a good working knowledge of the English Language. He or she should also know that Germany never had a Battleship called the Deutchmarcke, unless it was made of coins or post World War 1 paper money.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2013
A good read for the train or beach. As the book progresses the reader either comes to sympathise with the lead character or dislike him as much as others who make up the nucleus of the ships company. Obviously researched well regarding the battles of WWII with of course, an amount of literary licence by the author. One must consider however, how the main character got so far in his career without being curtailed by the powers that be, accepting the fact that had this happened the author would not have had a story to offer. Therefore the reader who is familiar with the Royal Navy of WWII must allow some licence to the writer. One point, the term 'Pig' with reference to 'Officers' of Royal Navy and Royal Marines was still very much in use ( in particular in the Royal Marines) into the 90's not as the author suggests lost after the war.
This is the first book by Peter Poland I have read and will return to the writer at a later date.
It is a shame the author did not allow the book to be the prelude to a short series - perhaps there is room to do so should Peter Poland consider this a viable option?.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2013
An enjoyable read by an Author who really knows his ships and the Royal Navy. Into this mix of assured knowledge of the sea we have the career of someone who is extremely unpopular with his fellow servicemen and this is explored. The Hero is also some kind of sexual athlete which is explored in depth and for the most part unnecessary if not unbelieveable. Nonetheless, it is a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
Badly written, poor plot and unbelievable storyline, I deleted it from my Kindle. and would not buy a Poland book again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
The author obviously knows the ins and outs of a destroyer and its workings. This I found extremely interesting as this is not normally included in many novels or factual books. The story line was a little thin and forced and this spoiled it a bit for me. The pressures on ship's captains in wartime are extreme but I felt that the author overdid this and he produced a rather unbelievable story especially the Narvick episode.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2013
AFTER READING PETER POLANDS AUTOBIOGRAPHY HANDS TO ACTION STATIONS I WAS SOME WHAT DISAPOINTED WITH HIS NOVEL.
IT BANGED ON TO MUCH ABOUT HOW HORRIBLE THE DESTROYER WAS, I GOT IT THE FIRST TIME !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
The comments I wrote for 'The Captain's Story' were intended for this book 'The Destroyer Captain', not 'The Captain's Story' I do apologise.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.