Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
11
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 May 2012
well this caught me by surprise.i was expecting an average b movie.but this film is brilliant.the actors are unknown but all give very good and believable performances.its about 6 bank robbers who after escaping to a cabin in the woods suddenly get knocked of one by one.i wont give to much away but there are some gory moments not for the squeamish.i think this film could be a surprise hit.and for such a low budget film it works well.it looks like it was all filmed in the woods and no cgi effects.i would decribe this film as rambo gone crazy with the expendables.once you watch it your know what i mean.overall a brilliant B movie and a total surprise hit.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2012
This film is really worth the money , very entertaining. The begging seems to drag on but as it moves on you get more into it . Battlegaround is action packed there are also some stomach turning parts about altogether a awesome film. It is also one that you would want to watch again and again. When I frist saw this film it wasn't what i was expecting , I thought it would be kinda diffrent like films like The Punisher that sort of thing that has a understanding storyline . The soryline is not made very clear but you get the drift of were it is coming from.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
***Spolier Alert***

I say spolier alert, but there's not really a great deal to spoil.

I was expecting this film to be along the lines of a vigilante Rambo theme - with the distrungtled Vietnam veteran dishing out his own brand of justice to some wayward bank robbers. Well this did happen, however in most vigilante films you tend to be on the vigilante's side as they are basically still a good guy deep down. Well in Battleground, the Vietnam veteran is far from just disgruntled and certainly not a good guy. He is completely derranged lunatic and whilst killing all the bank robbers one by one in a variety of inventive ways, he also indesciminately kills anybody else he meets as well. There is break in this for him to play a game of russian roulette (a la Deer Hunter) with one of the robbers he has captured, shot and then brought back to life, so I guess he was a pretty good medic too.

So he must be the bad guy, presumably having suffered a mental breakdown from his time at war, although there is no real back story to this, other than the fact he was a combat soldier in 'Nam. That leaves us with the bank robbers, but surely they're not the good guys either - they rob banks and kill policemen.

The only other character of note is the random girl that appears in the woods, who really seemed surplus to requirements for the whole story other than to look scared witless. The film does later start to make you think she will have a role to play in the closing stages of the plot, but she just gets wiped out by the maniac veteran after getting lost in the spawling tunnel system he has inexplicably built and booby trapped beneath the forest floor. I guess they couldn't think of any more ideas for her.

The killer has also managed to stockpile a fairly large arsenal of weaponry - it would not have surprised me if he had a couple of tanks tucked away down there... So the fight goes underground, pitting him against the most 'military' of the bank robbers - 'Tex' - although he's a bit too porky to have seen much combat. Anyway, despite his best efforts to kill the killer in a Kamikaze blaze of glory, he fails.

So its down to he leader of the bank robbers, who finally tries to make good his escape in the killers truck which, naturally, breaks down only yards from his house (?) so he just get's taken out by a grenade launcher (and the killer has also blown up his own truck as well...)

The film finished with our derranged killer lighting yet another cigar and... roll credits.

So story-wise it really is a complete mess, which is played out by some pretty mediocre acting.

Overall - no real point to this film. if it was supposed to be yet another anti-Vietnam statement then it fails miserably - rather the war-link just provides a vehicle for the killer to have his skills and arsenal of weaponry. If it was supposed to be a horror, it wasn't very scary. If it was just intended to be a straightforward action shooter, it lacked any decent action. It wasn't a vigilante film either.

I gave it two stars because it actually started out quite well, but once it got into the cat and mouse game in the forest, the writers really did just lose the plot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Quite a good film with plenty of gory bits there was a mistake at the start of the
film showing American soldiers fighting in vietnam when in fact it was probably
America certainly not in the jungles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2015
Very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
SUPER
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
Maybe I should not buy this kind of movies anymore
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Sadly I was persuaded by the positive reviews here to try this at a budget price but even so I cannot be happy with this purchase. The film is clearly very low budget with what money there was spent going on a few impressive very gory effects. The direction and camera work is utterly mundane. The script is really very bad. The performances are single note and the whole premise is basically ludicrous. An absence of humour is the final nail in the coffin. Switched it off about halfway through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)