Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 30 March 2014
What can I say, just great TV. Couldn't stop watching them. Such a shame there aren't more than 3 per series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 28 January 2012
Another triumph - three famous adventures ingeniously updated, result sheer pleasure all the way through.

Not being as bright as no doubt most viewers, I found it a bit hard to keep up when the brilliant Season 2 was first shown - everything so fast paced, full of subtleties, so many dramatic twists and turns. DVD has provided a most welcome chance to revisit, those commentaries particularly helpful. (Shame, though, none for "The Reichenbach Fall".)

Everybody is again on fine form - scripts to savour, they so inventive (and full of mischief), acting a joy. Benedict Cumberbatch makes a splendid Holmes, supercilious genius not caring whom he alienates; Martin Freeman is perfect as Watson (no mere stooge either - he gives as good as he gets). As for Andrew Scott as Moriarty - a revelation! If the character is truly dead (one never quite knows with these things), hopefully the actor will soon be in something else to hold us spellbound.

This is one of those rare series which repays repeated viewing, there always something new to appreciate - the barbed exchanges, the constant self-mocking. The writers have great fun with the iconic deerstalker hat, the suspicion by some that Holmes and Watson may be gay, Watson's delight at the success of his Blog (especially when few show interest in Holmes' one on tobacco).

The two commentaries also yield a rich harvest - particularly when Russell Tovey questions Doyle fanatics Moffat and Gattis. Apparently the author excelled with the openings of his stories but proved rather perfunctory with some of the ends. He also had problems with continuity.

All will no doubt have their favourite case here, it hard to choose when so much is so good. Mine has to be the last one - a battle of wits between two masters of the craft, Watson movingly bereft after the apparent outcome.

Yes, there could have been more bonuses. (Where, for example, is the gag reel alluded to in the commentaries?) It would, though, be churlish to deny five stars for these time honoured classics so magnificently modernized.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2013
This is not the best modernisation of Sherlock. I think this is the best series on TV at the moment. Taking inspiration from Arthur Conan Doyle's work an excellent blend of humour, storytelling, and adventure. Absolute genius.

The first adventure takes elements of a number of ACD's short stories and the main antagonist is Irene Adler the women who changed Sherlock Holmes attitude to women. The reason I like this story so much is I think it brings more depth to Sherlock's relationship to Irene. She is not just "the Woman" who out smarted him once. As an audience we are trying to figure her out the same time Sherlock is. Bearing in mind Sherlock can usually know 90% of a person's history from his first glance this is infuriating and alluring to him at the same time. Someone with Sherlock's obsessive/competitive personality he cannot help be trapped/attracted by/to her.

This second story is not once of my favourites but this has little touches of genius. Putting a character type case as a werewolves (from Being Human - Complete Series 1-3 Box Set [DVD]) into the Hound of the Baskervilles story genius. This interesting thing about this story is for the first time Sherlock doubts himself and his belief system. I am sure this was built from something in series 3, but I did find this as more of a filler story that a standalone.

The last episode Sherlock vs. Moriarty. As Sherlock Holmes once said "the finest joust and parry of deduction ever displayed" with plenty of reversals. Clever layer upon layer of intrigue and even managing to show Sherlock's devotion and feeling for his friends (which he cannot admit). Great series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2012
Two words 'Absolutely Brilliant' best tv drama for a long time, a great adaptation of a classic English fictional hero. Well done Mark Gatiss Steven Moffat and the BBC.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2012
Great fun,a femme fatale; a witty update on The Hound....maintaining the rationalist nature of Holmes with the spookiness of the original story; and a good puzzle to solve. I look forward to the next series. The acting was fab and the partnership is so 19th Century!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2012
Having watched and thoroughly enjoyed the first series, I awaited this second one with eager anticipation. I wasn't to be disappointed....
It's just an absolute sheer delight from start to finish. As well as having thrills and humour (I do so love Martin Freeman's deadpan comic timing), it was actually incredibly moving at times (refer to Freeman's speech at the end of 'The Reichenbach Fall').

Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman appear to have been born to play Holmes & Watson and I really cannot think of anyone better. They lend the right amount of gravitas in their respective roles to make both their characters not only believable but loveable. You really do care what happens to them.

This Sherlock series is in very assured hands with the BBC, Steven Moffat & Mark Gatiss at the helm. Their love for the stories etc, shines through with their faithful adaptations. And I, for one, simply cannot wait for the next Sherlock series!
0Comment| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2012
I just love the modern Sherlock, clever, funny and well acted. I think Series 2 might even be better than Series 1.
I can't get over the level of ignorant nit-picking that goes on in some of these reviews, though. A lot of people clearly are not familar with Conan Doyle. Certain things have to happen the way they do because that's how he wrote them, eg the 'shock' ending of the Reichenbach Fall (can't be bothered being hassled about spoilers, hardly consider it a secret/surprise when the story has been in print for more than a century!) I'm watching the stories more to see how things happen than what happens, and it is obvious that Gatiss and Moffat, as the total fans they clearly are, will stick to the spirit of ACD's stories as much as possible. BTW that means that Holmes and Watson will probably never engage in a torrid sexual relationship...They are, however, definitely a couple, just not in the conventional sense.

I think this interpretation is very polarising, either you love it, or it annoys you, in which case, go and watch something else. If you've seen any of the episodes in either series on tv, you know which group you belong to.

As far as I'm concerned, it's all good, I love the actors-especially Benedict and Martin, who are great together, I think the funny bits are funny, and the sad bits are sad and the whole thing is very clever.

I suspect a third series may be a long time coming, but I'm looking forward to it!
0Comment| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2015
If u enjoyed the first season then this is a must for you to watch. Still full of fantastic character wants a started to watch a needed to watch all episode such a fan can't wait to watch next season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2012
First things first; I have not read Sherlock Holmes, I've heard the name of some of his stories and I even know about the famous conclusion to the short story 'A Final Problem' but generally I approach any Sherlock Holmes based film or tv show ignorant of the source materials. This show does bear some similarities to writer Steven Moffat's other show Doctor Who, both involve a remarkably unique person in stories that can be quite mysterious but also versatile but where they differ however is in consistency. Sherlock may only have 6 episodes to its name but we have 6 quite extraordinary episodes to drool over and the second series is even better than the first.

The concept itself is remarkable and executed rather flawlessly because there does seem to be a perfect balance between old and new, the crisp visuals, high technology and clever editing explaining the 'science of deduction' scenes are accompanied by a score that just seems to evoke Victorian England. The mixture of characters as well not withstanding including the brilliant Mark Gatiss as Mycroft, Una Stubbs as Mrs. Hudson and Rupert Graves as Lestrade. However the show can only be this joyous to watch thanks to the stunning lead combination of Benedict Cumberbatch and Martin Freeman. No doubt critics and fans alike have been raving about the level of success that these two actors have achieved with their performances and I will just add on to say that such acclaim is well and truly deserved.

The much anticipated series 2 I'm delighted to say does not disappoint at all, sadly again only 3 episodes but each episode offers something different because Moffat, Gatiss and Steve Thompson each offer a fresh interpretation of 3 classic Holmes stories. 'A Scandal in Belgravia' is a brilliant re-introduction to the delights that the first series gave. Moffat balances plot with drama, action and humour perfectly with twists and turns galore before bringing it all to a satisfying conclusion. Belgravia also boasts an excellent Lara Pulver as Irene Adler. Gatiss' 'Hounds of Baskerville' is more of a leaning towards horror and the supernatural but keeps you hooked throughout, it may lack the brilliant scenes of deduction seen previously but it's by no means anything lesser. Arguably however Thompson steals the show with a belter of a story as Holmes finally gets to do battle with his arch nemesis James or 'Jim' Moriarty in 'Reichenbach Falls'. Andrew Scott gives a showstealing turn (almost) as a sinister take on the character and the clash of intellects between Moriarty and Sherlock is every bit as epic as it should. The ending itself is mindblowing and heartbreaking and tops off what is simply remarkable television. It goes without saying that if you loved the first series then you'll love this one even more; if you've seen this and havent seen the first series then go buy that one as well as this. Simply marvelous.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 April 2016
Not as good as series 1. I absolutely hate A Scandal in Belgravia. It's immensely overrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)