Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2015
Ok. Let me say right off from the start that if you're a really serious homebrewer, who knows everything about yeast, hops, malt etc. then this book is probably not for you.
However, if, like me, you love all the different styles of beer there is, and want to have a crack at making your own gallon of beer, then this book is for you. This is brewing made simple and fun. On your cooker!
For a comparatively small initial outlay, you will be making some VERY drinkable beer! I'm currently on my 4th batch and people have said some nice things about the beer I've made. The recipes are very easy to follow and you are walked through each stage of the process. If there's stuff you're not sure about, the authors are more than willing to help if contacted.
You'll end up with 9 or 10 330ml bottles of some great beer. Porters, IPA, Stouts, Lager, Dubbels, Trippels. Be warned though, it's very addictive. No sooner have you bottled a batch, then you're itching to brew another recipe!
Give it a go, you'll not be disappointed.
One thing you need to be aware of is that the liquid measurements given are U.S. ones, not imperial. but there are plenty of converters online. I tend to convert to metric.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Brooklyn BrewShop's Beer Making Book is a superb step-by-step guide for the brewing novice, and is full of references and ideas for the more experienced home brewer. The recipes are all designed for 1 gallon batches, so they're brilliant for anyone with restricted kitchen and storage space, or anyone who would find a 40 pint brew wasteful. But each recipe has additional instructions and quantities for scaling up to a 5 gallon brew.

The range of recipes is very good, including everything from Pilsners and IPAs to Porters and Stouts, divided into brews appropriate for each season - so you can always have something on the go.

Using the clearly described and well written methods in the book that lay out each step of the brewing process, a few bits and pieces you're likely to already have in your kitchen, minimal specialist equipment, and a few ingredients from a brew shop (or even right here on Amazon!), you can get some really superb and tasty results that will beat most of the mass-produced stuff you'll find on supermarket shelves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2017
The book looks really nice, I went through it briefly. It would be 5* if measurements were not in imperial units. Even on their site they use metrics together with imperial. They could have done the same in the book, or print some different issue for rest of the world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2016
Interesting collection of recipes for homebrewed beer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2017
Used this to start brewing 1 gallon at a time. Never done it before and aside of converting the American measurements into good ol Imperial and Fahrenheit into Celsius, it has everything you need in terms of advice and recipes to start. Helped me build my shopping list of equipment and one visit to a brewing shop later I've done 2 batches which are more than drinkable. Some good food recipes in as well to complement the beverages. Reading their history is interesting too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Brilliant book with great and very unusual recipes. Not just beer recipes but a recipe for dog biscuits using up the "spent" beer grain!! This book looks the part as well it is a good buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2016
More please! My team of brewers (my wife, the cat and I) set off on an adventure to make a gallon of Choc Maple Porter, but as we have a small kitchen and no back garden to brew in this type of brewing appealed to us. (well not the cat, she just looked on nonchalantly as we cracked on)

Ordering the hops, grains and gear we needed, within 2 hours the wort had been chilled and sitting in the fermenter (demijohn) for where it would stay for 2 weeks.....

During this time we have read, and re-read the book cover to cover, planning the next brew. I hope more follow from this team as we are sure to pick up a copy.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
This book condenses everything you NEED to know about how to brew beer into about 20 pages and then gives you a beer a week for a year! What more do you want brewers?!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Lots of additional information and some great quirky recipes in here.
Good breakdown of different hop varieties and paired food with the different beer recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Great recipes and worth a read if you thinking of making beer at home only problem is if you use metric measurements then it needs converting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)