Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2008
Well, it's been a long time since I played an new album, and on the very first listen been blown away, but The Whip have managed it. This album is catchy from start to finish, and melds a wide range of influences such as early New Order, "Sons & Facination" era Simple Minds, Daft Punk, various grungy guitar bands, and many others into one fabulous sound. The opening track "Trash" could become a classic for years to come, appealing to both the dance, and indie crowd alike as it motors on through airwaves like a ten ton truck. Ala, Kasabian's debut, the lyrics are simple on this album, but ensures that it will have you singing throughout as the songs grab you, and take you on it's passionate, intense, and anthemic journey. If you are at any of the festivals this summer such as Creamfields, make sure you see them as they are already getting a great live repetition.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2008
The album is great but to appreciate The Whip you need to catch them live.

I was recently at the O2 wireless festival and The Whip were the first band on one of the tents at 2pm but they were the ones that have stayed with me the longest even more so than Fatboy Slim and even Underworld who were great.

The songs are catchy and the singer does a great job on stage with a lot of charisma - they finished with Trash which was a highlight, but there are many others. A strong recommendation.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2008
I absolutely love this album, i havent stopped playing it since i bought it. Its full of really good songs, Trash, Frustration and Blackout my particular favourites. I've heard a lot of average electro-dance-rock albums lately but this one got me buzzing again. Im surprised how many indifferent reviews i've read on this album, The Whip deserve to be massive! They've put a smile on my face. They're awesome live as well, i spotted myself on the DVD at the Manchester gig. Cant wait for the Preston show. Keep making great music guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2008
Long Live Electro! and it will too with an absolute stonker of an album of this calibre.

Full to the brim of pounding beats. You'll be thrased by Trash - Set Alight by Fire and wanting to slip the leash on Muzzle#1. believe me!

Buy this and hear it for yourself
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2008
At their best on tracks like Sirens or Sister Siam this lot are quite clearly capable of replacing the New Order-sized gap currently leaving a gaping hole in the Manchester music scene.
Alas, elsewhere on this rather underwhelming record it all gets a bit formularic and a bit 'nu-rave' which is already 2 years past its sell by date. The live DVD shows the crowd lapping this up..glowsticks aloft. But that won't last forever.

But there is definitely a lot of potential here and you really should catch one of their gig if you can.

My advice to The Whip, burn your Rapture and Klaxons LPs and listen again to the Talking Heads, OMD, New Order and ACR LPs that are obviously in your collections, try changing the pace a bit..you're onto something there!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
This makes me stop whatever I'm doing anf dance (or at least nod my head up and down and tap my feet in the bus queue).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2008
Recommended by a friend, im going to have to buy him a pint! - going to catch them at a festival next week, cant wait!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Another great deal 😊😊 thank you seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2016
perfect & great :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Great Album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)