Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
68
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 April 2012
This is my first RA album i have bought. RA was first brought to my attention after seeing him perform 'New York' about 8 years ago, then more recently on 'Jools Holland' last year (2011) with tracks from this album so i finally decided to buy one of his albums and ended up with this one first.

My first impression of this album after playing it from start to finish is that it is a very good album probably has a more commercial feel to the album compared to his previous work and with no tracks i dislike at all, however there are only a handful of stand out tracks that i immediately like and the album does have a more relaxed laid back sound to it
Some of the tracks are also to short for my liking at 2:30 mins long so just as you are getting into the song it fades out, then there are others that are 4:00 mins or so long that seem to drag on, there are also not any uptempo tracks on this album it would of been nice to have some of these included on the album the closest to this is probably 'Ashes & Fire' or 'Chains Of Love'

But in saying that this album does grow on you which is probably better long term!

Summary

Top tracks:

Ashes & Fire
Do I wait
Chains Of Love
Lucky Now

Real Growers:

Dirty Rain
Invisible Riverside
Kindness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Following David Ryan Adams has been like following an inconsistent football team. When he is good he is brilliant, but equally some experiments have been frustratingly off the mark. I personally have followed his career and albums since 'Heartbreaker' and have seen him live on many occasions (he always delivers live). So this arrives with some hope across the message boards that this is a return to form. After three full listens I support this view - 'Dirty Rain', 'Invisible Riverside' and 'Lucky now' the first to stand out. I suspect that (as mentioned in other reviews) several listens will reveal other favourites as Adams work improves with listening. Hopefully he won't go sulky and blow it - this isn't his 'Harvest' or 'After the Goldrush' - I suspect his best work is still to come. A return to form and one to watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2011
Reviewing Ryan Adams is difficult as his output has been prolific so there is alot to compare it to. Also when you consider his peers there is little else that comes close to his lyrics and ear for melody.

Ashes and Fire is up there with Gold, Love is Hell and 29. With this Album there are no filler tracks just solid songwriting accross the board. Whether this is due to working with a new producer or not, it just seems more focussed throughout.

The production of the album is excellent as is the sound quality.

I wouldn't call this a return to form because every album Ryan has recorded is splashed with brilliance somewhere, this one is just consistently good, so buy with confidence. Its about time he had a global smash and I hope this is the record to do it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2016
Great Product and Great service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
A good album that grows on you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
Ryan Adams has made lots of albums,but this is one of his best. This is very easy to listen to, great album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
This is a really strong album. I really need to listen to it through headphones to really appreciate it, but it seems flawless. Many have used the word "mature". I think Ryan is here to stay.

Is it his classic. I still favour "Heartbreaker" and really rate "Cold Roses", but it is hard to fault his son writing and performance here. Give it a bit more time and I think this will join the ranks of his classics.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2015
a super album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
as discribed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2012
This is the first cd I have of Ryan Adams, and think it is really laid back music, just what I was looking for. It sounds very much like David Gates Songbook...but overall an excellent cd. I have read the other reviews, so not sure if Ryan Adams is in sync with this music...or it is just a one off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.44
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)