Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
181
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2011
I was caught by the title and having run in the past my imagination (and expectation) were fired. What I found was an interesting walk through areas of the author's life, experience and inspirations.

I like to think of the book as a reflection of the way our minds wander when we have time to ourselves when we're alone with our thoughts, to determine our direction, prepare for future times and come to terms with our issues.

Understated, yet good book to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
Honest, beautifully written exploration of his relationship with running and with creativity. If you're a runner, or getting into running, or a writer, then this is a fantastic read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
For a runner, this book is a refreshing look at the sport without ego. Add to it, it is by an author as incredible as Murakami, and it brings a whole other dimension to it...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
Although I am not a runner at the level of Mr Murakami, I could totally relate to the feelings and thoughts he describes in the book. A real inspiration to keep on running
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2011
Murakami is one of my favorite writers but I had never read "Running" because I am definitely not a good runner (saying that I run like a girl would be a kindness). But I picked this up looking for a book to read when not working on my thesis, thinking that it would at least be light-years away from the books I have to read for uni, it it was just beautiful. It's difficult to boil this book down into a sentence because there are a range of topics, running to writing, weather to travel to old age. It's funny at times, nostalgic, even bittersweet. It's deeply intimate, like reading someone's journal, it's philosophy without the incomprehensible wordage. Just lovely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Self indulgent drivel. Read books that entertain and run if you want but don't waste your time reading this garbage
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2015
If you like Murakami you will love this and might be inspired to take up running; well brisk walking at least! Will give you new insight and motivation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2009
and like murakami, this is a good book to bring you into his thoughts about life, lifestyle and running.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend to anyone looking for inspiration about endurance, and not especially for running or exercise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Excellent book for those who like running, or those who like Murakami.
Deep thinking about self achievement through running and sports.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse