Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2015
If you like Murakami you will love this and might be inspired to take up running; well brisk walking at least! Will give you new insight and motivation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
thoroughly enjoyed this book and would recommend to anyone looking for inspiration about endurance, and not especially for running or exercise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
Excellent book for those who like running, or those who like Murakami.
Deep thinking about self achievement through running and sports.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2016
An interesting short book from Murakhami. Not his usual novel but provides insights into the codepencies bewteen his running and writing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Fascinating book, especially for writers I think. Interesting to see how he goes about his life and his craft. Useful information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Great book! It's not only about running but about life, which makes it even more interesting. Really good one for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2010
I have read quite a few of Murakami's books and read this on the basis that I had enjoyed those.
The book, written as a memoir, covers a period of over a year as Murakami prepares for the New York marathon and later for a triathlon proved to be quite a trying and dullish read.
Some extra care should have been taken with the translation: For a novelist who translates important works from English into Japanese there were some mistakes with the translation that should not have slipped a thorough check by Murakami.

The book-
We do learn more about Murakami's life in each chapter and not only about his rapport with running, how much it is important to him and the difference that running makes in his life both as a novelist and as a person.
The fact is that there is nothing new to what he says: who has found their particular sport and practices it with a certain frequency be it cycling, running, swimming, martial arts, etc, knows the effects it has on their physical and mental well-being and how it makes a difference to their life.

To be honest, I have the doubt that if this book had not been written by a novelist of the calibre of Murakami it would have ever been published.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
If you enjoy running then you will enjoy this book, also if your a cyclist too. Very enjoyable to dip in and out of.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
I loved it..it gave a lot of energy and it is inspiring. I would definitely recommand to a personn who likes to run.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2013
love it thanks awesome purchase and a complete bargain and these last words are just to meet the minimum requirement
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here