Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
108
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2012
I downloaded this because I loved Robert Swindells many moons ago when I was a teenager. I was a bit worried because I didn't want to spoil my childhood memories by finding out that he was a terrible writer. Luckily I was not disappointed. Room 13 is a spooky little book that fills the reader with tension. It started off a little simplistically but within the first couple of chapters I had really got into it. I would recommend this to teenagers and adults who like a more gentle horror read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2012
I read this book as it was recommended by my placement school while I was training to be a teacher. In theory it should be an excellent book, however not a lot happens in the first two thirds of the book. It only really gets going and is exciting in the last few chapters. Really difficult to find activities for students to do with it and not a lot to discuss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2000
This book is about a girl called Fliss and a girl called Lisa who travell to Whitby on a school trip. But the house has a horrible secret and why is Ellie-May going into that room at midnight is it all tied in with Dracula and why has this house got a terrible secret and why has Fliss gotta put it right?
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
Room 13
Room 13 is a mix between a mystery and a horror story,a girl called Fliss has a dream the night before a school residential trip to Whitby.The dream is about a monster and Fliss gets very scared.When she goes on the trip she finds more than a few connections to her dream...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2015
This book is so good.it is mainly about a class going to Whitby for the week and on one of the corridors at midnight a bright number (13) comes on the door and four of the children are trying to find out what is inside.everyone calls this old woman mad sal but really she is trying to save a child called Ellie-Mae because she used to live in the hotel that they are in and one day there was a storm and his little shed that he lived in was destroyed and now he lives in the hotel and one person gets sick every time one new school visits.

i really like it because it is a gory horror story and leaves you on cliff hangers on the end of every chapter.i don't really have a favourite moment because this is an amazing book ever.this book is suitable for any age above 8 because they might have nightmares by the vampire called Dracula.

Ebony-Leigh aged 11 Wansbeck primary school, Hull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
Room 13 is a mysterious story about something in the linen cupbourd that makes someone sick every time they go there. Fliss, Lisa, Garry and Trot have to sort out what is going on in the old haunted house with the help of mad old Sall but how? When they go on a school trip to Whitby and stay at the Crows Nest as Room 13 drags in another victim! Chapter 13 has a unexpected suprise in it. 10/10
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
Room thirteen is a horror story and is sure to scare the life out of you. Room thirteen is the best book i have ever read. It is about a school that go on a school trip to stay in a hotel called Whitby.And a girl called Ellie May who always sleep walks goes into a mysteriouse room and she gets bitten by a deadly menace and is ill for the hole holiday but will her freind Fliss save her for she knows what is behind the door.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2005
Room 13 is an excellent book for all children. It has lots of surprises and unexpected twists. Room 13 was inspired by a real trip to Whitby and was one of Robert Swindells first books. This book is filled with lots of cliffhangers and is set in an old hotel. Room 13 is a book of mysteries!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2001
This book is one of Swindells' best, it is full of adventureous and spine chilling chapters. If you like Swindells you will love this. Buy It!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
i am reading tis in class but its really boring and we have to stop every time it seems to get exciting then we find out nothing really happened and keep answering questions like what day did they go on ect……. but it keep you guessing in a bad way and its not really a horror story more like a whats going on book. that you can't really get into but still want to finish then you read it all and realise it was actually not the good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here