Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
40
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2017
Followed Gary Numan since he first started out, with the issues he has, his songs tell much about his view of the world and as I have close family members with Aspergers, I can really appreciate what a great songwriter he is. This CD is typically in a 'moody' vein, and the heavier​ rock just adds more depth to it all. Excellent album all round.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
Wish I had bought this earlier. More varied and interesting than Jagged and more immediate than Splinter, which I must revisit. As an early fan from the 70s I wasn't so keen after Telekon, with a few exceptions, until Sacrifice. If you are a Numan fan this is well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2014
If you like deep, droneful almost sad chanting (I do) the Gary is the one for you!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
Numan's latest album is musically more complex than Jagged and the better for it. Solo piano and a greater use of percussion suits his style. It is not an album that grabbed me on first hearing but successive playings keep revealing more of the artist's increasingly subtle approach and I am sure that there is more yet to be yielded. However it feels hesitant in many places. Let's hope it is a stepping stone to a new level of musical complexity which is certainly within Numan's reach but not yet fully grasped.

October 2012. I am updating this review because having lived with the album for 6 months now I cannot fail to be impressed by the subtleties that I keep finding hidden in the musical codings despite its experimental character. I just hope that Numan will use the textures and patterns born in this album to forge a massive and majestic masterpiece out of it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Most artists and musical acts who have over 30 years in the business and a strong back catalogue are happy enough to rest on their laurels and tour the world playing their well known songs to fans new and old, not Gary Numan who has always been about evolving and playing his new material whilst throwing in a few classics but giving them a new feel along the way. So it should come as no surprise that Numan releases "Dead Son Rising" a new album that delivers big time and even throws in a few new ideas along the way. "Jagged" collaborator Ade Fenton is along for the ride as they take unfinished demos' tracks and ideas that have been lying around and deliver an album that is one of Numans finest.

The album begins with the excellent atmospheric instrumental "Resurrection" before the beats of "Big Noise Transmission" take over, the song has a real Prodigy feel about it and has Numan on fine vocal form and at times whispering the lyrics. The first single from the album "The Fall" is also one of the standout tracks starting out with a guitar sounding like Nine Inch Nails "The Day The World Went Away" from "The Fragile" album before some big beats kick in, it also features a great break down as Numan sings "How Does It Feel?", the song is about a friendship that ended.

The song "When The Sky Bleeds, He Will Come" is another standout as it builds slowly before a big industrial sounding guitar kicks in. We get two versions of the one song on the album in the song "For The Rest Of My Life" which is good but bettered by the reprised version that opens with a quiet piano before an acoustic guitar joins in with Numans vocal that is buried in the mix, it again sounds like Nine Inch Nails this time something of "Ghosts", Trent Reznor is a big influence on Numan now just as Numan was for Reznor when he was starting out. The song "Dead Sun Rising" is a song full of big beats and distorted synths and uses Numans cold vocal style delivery perfectly.

It's great to have Gary Numan making new music in the year 2011 and great music at that especially for a man who took a right bashing from the press, who should be ashamed of themselves for the way they treated him, it's great that he had the last laugh when so many acts came out and said how much an influence he has been on their carears. With "Dead Son Rising" there might be a few more joining that list!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
Now this is more like it!

`Dead Son Rising' represents a neat step forward in Numan's chosen direction and as a stop-gap between `new' studio albums, bodes extremely well for the forthcoming `Splinter'.

These songs were originally leftovers from the last three albums, but were deemed too good to ditch permanently, so have been dusted off and formally completed. And what an excellent bunch of outtakes they are, harking back to the days when Numan's b-sides were often as good (if not better) than some of his album tracks.

The spooky instrumental `Resurrection' provides a quirky, atmospheric introduction to the album, which truly kicks into life on `Big Noise Transmission', an industrial rocker of the first order. Followed by the dark and magnificent `Dead Sun Rising' (surely one of Numan's finest songs ever) and the crushing `When The Sky Bleeds He Will Come', things quieten down for the sparse balladry of `For The Rest of My Life' and the unsettling `Not The Love We Dream Of' before the metal guitars belt back in for stomper `The Fall', then disappear again for the percussive oddness of `We Are The Lost'.

After that, the album seems to snuff itself out really and ends with a relatively low-key instrumental `Into Battle' and two utterly pointless instrumental remixes of `For The Rest of My Life' and `Not The Love We Dream Of'. But up to that point, a faultless performance!

So if this is where Numan is headed, bring it on. This is a great addition to the canon and I recommend to all it without reservation...it's how Numan sounds NOW and it's awsesome!

And I didn't even dock a star for the space wasted by the remixes, that's how much I love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
Haunting, atmospheric yet beautifully vulnerable with the additon of piano in the later tracks.
I love how Gary Numan can still on his 20th album 'pull something out of the bag'. Most artists nowadays are lucky to come up with 20 songs!
As with other Numan albums the style has progressed and changed (this album has been likened to having Nine Inch Nail undertones), yet it is still Numan's stamp all over it.
Superb with the headphones in and your eyes closed, it's truly the best way to absorb it. Having already booked my tickets for his next tour, I can't wait to see these tracks performed live. The atmosphere will be incredible.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
after an on off relationship with numans music over the last 30 years or so this has to be the pinnacle of gary,s career.from the very bowiesque early tubeway army early days in 79 up to the electric industrial stuff of today numan still delivers the goods.ok forget warriors et al.having lucky enough to see him on the latest tour he never fails to amaze.dark moody and brilliant this showcases numans talent perfectly a 10/10 cd play loud people
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2011
I missed the recent concerts promoting Dead Sun Rising and regret it, the album is Gary at his best, each track is different, theres not a Bum song and the title track is so Haunting.
This is Gary Numan
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2011
Numan at his best. Haunting, edgy, layered (to quote fellow reviewers) and definitely one to listen to in the dark in surround sound. Can't wait.

I feel Gary is going in the right direction with this, by mixing old (post-apocolyptic) with a new,refreshing sound, appealing to both new and old Numan fans. It all gels brilliantly. It works.

Stand out tracks: Dead Sun Rising, The Fall, Big Noise Trasmission, When the Sky bleeds, We are the Lost.... The instrumentals are growing on me a bit, mainly For the rest of my life.

The chorus's are catchy, finding myself tapping my foot along, uncool I know, but I can't help it.

Hoping Splinter is going to be as good as this.

Well done Gary.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)