Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
38
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
Good price but very late delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2016
All Shrek film's are great. Very funny film's, i love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought Scared Shrekless from a supermarket because at the time the Region 2-PAL version was not available on Amazon UK. Well, now I see that it is, so here's my take on it.

The first thing you need to know is how short it is - just 24 minutes, and I think that includes the end credits. There's virtually nothing else on the DVD other than the film itself, just trailers for two other films (Kung Fu Panda 2 & the forthcoming Puss in Boots) and the stage musical Shrek. Subtitles English only. No extras at all - the 'Thriller Night' shown on the US-NTSC version is not included, whatever it is. It's tempting to suggest that the US import might be better value, then, but as I haven't seen it I can't be sure.

Basically it's a collection of (obviously) short stories designed to scare Shrek, as told by the likes of Donkey, the Gingerbread Man and Pinocchio. Shrek himself doesn't feature much. The quality of the animation is excellent and on a par with anything that has gone before in this series. The stories are loosely based on classic films such as Bride of Frankenstein, Psycho and The Exorcist.

It's funny and had the children laughing throughout. It's just so........short! There's nothing to complain about what you get, it's simply that there isn't very much of it and as soon as it ends the children are likely to look at each other and go "Oh. That was quick". It's not exactly brand-new either, being released in the US in 2010 (i.e. about a year earlier) but only just becoming available in the UK in October 2011 for the first time.

We've got all the full-length Shrek films on DVD and each one has been watched a zillion times. This cut-down variant won't be watched that often, I feel. For die-hard Shrek fans only, I'd say.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Its fantastic for Shrek fans but I suggest buying the Shrek's Thrilling Tales which includes Scared Shrekless plus much much more. Can be picked up for about the same price.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought Scared Shrekless from a supermarket but it doesn't seem to be available on Amazon yet, at least not the UK-PAL version. So I'm posting this review here as the only option open. Yes, I know it's not the same product but hopefully it will be helpful to anyone thinking of buying the UK DVD.

The first thing you need to know is how short it is - just 24 minutes. There's virtually nothing else on the DVD other than the film itself, just trailers for two other films (Kung Fu Panda 2 & the forthcoming Puss in Boots) and the stage musical Shrek. Subtitles English only. No extras at all - the 'Thriller Night' shown on the US-NTSC version is not included, whatever it is.

Basically it's a collection of (obviously) short stories designed to scare Shrek, as told by the likes of Donkey, the Gingerbread Man and Pinocchio. Shrek himself doesn't feature much. The quality of the animation is excellent and on a par with anything that has gone before in this series. The stories are loosely based on classic films such as Bride of Frankenstein, Psycho and The Excorcist.

It's funny and had the children laughing throughout. It's just so........short! It's not that new either, being released in the US in 2010 but only just becoming available in the UK in October 2011 for the first time.

We've got all the full-length Shrek films on DVD and each one has been watched a zillion times. This cut-down variant won't be watched that often, I feel.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To be honest I had never heard of this let alone seen it before, but whilst in a shop checking out CD imports and older horror DVDs I saw a pile of these being sold off dirt cheap, so I thought I would buy one for the family collection. I should point out that there are subtitles here but no extras as such, just a few trailers, and the mini-film here is only about twenty four minutes long.

It is Halloween and Shrek and his friends decide to have a scary story competition in an abandoned old mansion. The winner is the one who isn’t scared away. From there we are given a few short tales (like an episode of Treehouse of Terror that we get from The Simpsons).

These tales as such or more comical than scary and so the whole family should have fun watching this. For your children there is just the fun of this whole thing, but for us adults we have that but also loads of in-jokes, most noticeable of course being visual and story references to Bride of Frankenstein, Psycho, and The Exorcist. Of course these are the ones that most adults should immediately pick up on, but there are also references to other films as well as a literary one to Edward Bulwer-Lytton.

Short but sweet this is a good little piece of entertainment that will keep the whole family occupied for its length, and will be enjoyed more than once.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Everyone enjoyed it! Great following up the the movies. its worth adding to the movie collection. really funny. I'm pleased we have own it..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
Classic film featuring everyone's favourite Ogre, that is Shrek!! definitely one to be watched over and over again!! family favourite!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Brill film would recomend to anyone child or adult great family film came well rapped and secure good packaging aswel
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)