Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
Tales From the Darkside - Season 1 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 14 August 2017
Sounded good on the advert so I thought I'd give it a try. Some famous actors in It but the stories are a bit cheesy. Not going to scare you unless you're really easily scared. Lol
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2012
I recalled watching this back in the 80s and enjoying it; it was nothing if not varied and provided for fans of science fiction, horror and black comedy alike. Sadly, on rewatching it really hasn't held up well. It doesn't help that there seems to have been no attempt at all to improve on sound or picture quality in this dvd set, because both are pretty poor. The breaks for adverts have in some cases been cut down to a mere black pause, but in others the show title comes up, which is also irritating. But the biggest let-down is the episodes themselves. Most of them are, to put it plainly, awful. The production values are pretty lousy throughout, but some stories depend less on fx, and a few are good enough to overlook the cheap tackiness of the visual element. Others look okay but have terrible acting or are badly written. And far, far too many are poorly scripted, badly acted, and look truly cheesy to boot. Some are based on classic short stories by famous authors, but unfortunately that hasn't prevented hack scriptwriters mangling them into a pulp.

Another problem is that a clear effort has been made to avoid being at all scary. Twilight Zone and Outer Limits, in black and white and without the benefit of 80s technology, managed a lot more scares than this. You don't need special effects to give the viewer that creepy feeling, as many films and tv series have proven, but you do have to have the courage to try - and this doesn't. Why it has a 15 rating I cannot imagine; I doubt if the entire series could produce a single moment that would startle a nervous toddler today.

There are no extras to the set, apart from a commentary by George Romero which I haven't listened to yet myself. But at least you do get four discs of viewing, with a rather nice slipcase with the title embossed on the front and side. So if you're a fan I suppose it's value for money. But I'd advise you rent before you buy, or you may be very disappointed.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Fresh from making some of the greatest zombie films of all time, George A Romero dabbled into television in the mid 1980s, and gave us the horror anthology TV series Tales from the Darkside.

This show predated the highly successful Tales from the Crypt by five years. And apart from the New Twilight Zone and Amazing Stories, this was the show that would carry on the tradition of small pockets of sci fi, fantasy and horror for TV addicts in the 80s.

So is the show any good? Yes and no, but season 1 remains in some sort of limbo. The production values of the show are not good. The writing isn't the best and though you may recognise a few actors and actresses here and there, the majority seem to have faded from the entertainment industry. But Darkside does have something going for it, it's cynical, it's dark, and it's very subtle. It isn't a show that will spoon feed you the story like Crypt, but judging solely on season 1, it isn't in the same league as Crypt.

Of the 24 episodes on offer I only enjoyed 8 of them, and that was being kind. There are no stand out episodes here all though fans of Tom Savini will appreciate his excellent make up effects in Inside the Closet. About another 8 episodes were so so to poor and the rest had plenty of potential that was spoiled with sudden to deathly endings. Darkside season 1 remains an enigma- the show was either trying to be hyper clever or ran out of ideas mid way through an episode.

At the time of writing I have not viewed the other seasons, though I plan on doing. And hopefully like Crypt the seasons will get better as the show goes on.

Finally, the extras are poor, with just a pilot episode commentary by Romero himself and that's it.

Below are my top 5 episodes from season 1.

1. The Odds
2. Slippage
3. Levitation
4. Inside the Closet
5. Mookie and Pookie
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
A really well packaged, pretty item, with plenty of great episodes to get your teefys into!
Tales from the Darkside, are just purely fabulous, and if you like Goosebumps, Tales from the Crypt/Cryptkeeper, Creepshow and Are you afraid of the dark? then it is definately well worth having a look see into this collection!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2015
Bought all the films in this series for my mum she absolutely loves them all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2016
Brilliant love the series so far can't wait to watch seasons 2 3 4
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Bought for a friend but they like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
Think of tales of the unexpected and twilight zone and you get the gist of this video.Short films of of odd but not outrageous spookyness.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse