Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
152
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2011
Another great album Joe.
His voice suited the classics "Marys Boy Child", "When a Child is Born" and "White Christmas", beautiful vocals.
He treated the traditional carols with respect and just sang them wonderfully.
The duet with Rolando was superb, Joe must have Rolando's respect when he is willing to appear on his CD.
An excellent version of "Last Xmas", I hope he does well with it if he decides to bring it out as a single.
He has even managed to give the ever popular Christmas songs such as "I Believe in Father Christmas" and "Driving Home for Christmas" a new modern twist. I especially like the new upbeat feel of "Driving home for Christmas".
In all, another super album, his second in only three months.
Well Done joe.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2011
The perfect 'Must Have' accompaniment to your Christmas!
Many Christmas albums are brought out at this time of year but this is really special,, Joe has already proved to be an accomplished and highly talented vocalist..far from the 'run of the mill, here today gone tomorrow' type of artist..This album is heads above others of this ilk and stands testimony of young Joe Mcelderry's amazing and incredible talent.. and he is only twenty..and for me,by far the best singer to have come out of the X Factor stable!

*Might I just add..Gold for Wide Awake, Double Gold for Classic, and Gold already for this album speaks volumes about the talent and likeability of this young charismatic man!!!
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
To quote Rolando who duets with Joe on Oh Holy Night.

Hard to believe there could be a fresh interpretation of songs we know inside out and back to front but here you have it.
Joe has a clear relaxing voice and sings all the songs perfectly.
Great complementation from Rolando and choirs on some of the tracks and great orchestral backing with styles ranging from big band to Gaelic and Jazz.
This is one Christmas album you will never tire of hearing.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
This album is glorious to listen to. Much like Joe's album Classic, it is hard to pick out a favourite track, they are all so perfect. The duet with Rolando, 'O Holy Night' is delightful, their voices really complement each other
The Northumbrian pipes used on 'In the Bleak Midwinter' and 'Little Drummer Boy' give another aspect to these well loved carols, but it is Joe's wonderfully melodic voice which stands out on this album.
I had the pleasure of seeing Joe perform on his recent tour and he was outstanding. I wish Joe every success with this album and many more to come.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
I bought this for my self to listen to in the weeks coming up to Christmas and would recommend it to anyone. Joe has a lovely voice and sings some lovely Christmas classics.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
A great mix of traditional carols and festive favourites, all given new life by the Joe treatment - wonderful vocals and some inspired arrangements. There's a lovely version of 'Santo natale', and my personal favourites also include the evocative 'In the bleak midwinter' and the breathtaking 'O holy night' which features Rolando Villazon. There's not a bad track on the whole album - even 'Driving home for Christmas' (probably my least favourite Christmas song ever) is given a fresh, new twist. The production on this album is extremely good, it doesn't sound hastily chucked out (even if it was!), and Joe's beautiful voice sounds stronger than ever. Another superb offering from this lovely lad. Merry Christmas!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
What a "Fresh" touch Joe McElderry has put on some Classic Christmas Songs & a Wonderful interpretation of lesser known Classics..
Joe's warmth & charming personality are reflected in his Vocals & if this Album doesn't put you in the Christmas Mood nothing ever will...
It's hard to believe, because Joe in winning the 2009 XFactor, has always had a Beautiful & easy to listen to Voice but over the past 2 Years his Voice & his lyric interpretation have grown immensely...
This Album & his previous Album "Classic" both capture Joe's Singing Style so much more then his 1st Album "Wide Awake"...
This "Classic Christmas" Album will touch all ages from 6 to 80...
Once you start playing this Album you won't be able to stop...
Bob, Palm Springs, Ca. USA
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
An amazing CD from beginning to end, not the same old song choice, with some tradition songs thrown in as well for good measure. Can see it becoming the soundtrack to my Christmas <3
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2011
Having bought his Classic album a month ago I thought I'd try this as I think Joe has a fantastic voice. The standout track amongst all the others is Driving Home For Christmas. What a voice, very well done Joe. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 December 2011
Okay, so no surprises with the song choices here, but what a cracking selection it is. I was especially pleased that he had chosen my most loved festive song, In The Bleak Midwinter, & had given it a superlative rendition. And, much as I treasure Johnny Mathis' version of When A Child Is Born, Joe's take on it is gorgeous & heart-felt. Joe has a flowing, honeyed voice, easily reaching the high notes with no sign of strain, his mellifluous tones washing over you, bathing you in a warm, comforting sea of lush melody. The production is excellent: quite lavish & sympathetically supporting Joe's voice. There is a real Christmas treat in the duet Joe performs with Rolando Villazon on O Holy Night, the two voices blending beautifully together. But the star on top of this particular Christmas tree is Joe himself. I always bring out my Motown, Spector, Mario Lanza & Streisand festive offerings, &, in years to come, Joe's Classic Christmas will also be eagerly dug out each December. A stunning, hugely enjoyable & spiritual album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99
£2.19

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)