Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
41
Himself
Format: MP3 Download|Change

on 29 December 2015
This is a masterpiece. How can anyone write songs like Susan Van Heusen and Houdini Said ? Words and music flow in unexpected directions and recall the great days of songwriting without studio wizardry.to cover over cracks. His voice is harsher than it becomes on the next album but honest. Bonus tracks are a mixed bag. Good to have the singles but hard to imagine the demos would have attracted any interest. Full marks to those who spotted Gilbert's potential and gave him his voice.A true original. Pity that he never quite equaled the heights of this, his first outing on album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2016
Having been replacing worn out vinyl for some years, I thought it was time to revisit 'Uncle Ray'. What a brilliant release! First class reproduction and an informative and entertaining booklet to boot (together with complete lyrics). Although I usually like to finish the original album as it was originally released, the bonus tracks this time are really a bonus especially the underrated 'Under the blankets go' and the early top ten hit 'No matter how I try'. Bought along with the 'Back to Front' re-release, which is of equal quality. Must get some more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2015
I have had this DVD many years ago when he first came on the scene as an L.P. So i saw this on Amazon and bought along with another one that I had. so bought that as well. It is well worth the money if anyone is interested in his works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2016
Nostalgic and delightful. Not impressed by the "bonus" tracks, but the rest is great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2014
Great Album, purchased the LP when released in the seventies, it came with bonus tracks, some that are on albums release at a later date, he is definitely an inspirational artist of the 70's!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2014
Seventies memories recaptured. Very creative and underrated. Easy to mock but he produced inventive, quality lyrics. Not so sure about some of the extras though! Overall, a very good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
Himself...Gilbert O'Sullivan ...This was the first of his albums I bought in the 70s...I'm having a trip back in time and it's just as good as I remember it...Great tuneful music...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2013
good solid early tunes from one of the best song smiths ever. the look was a way to get noticed but this man would I think of made it anyway a cd for any real music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 November 2015
Heavy Reminiscing ...
Naturally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2014
Perfect memories brought back from my younger years. Lovely. Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)