Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
42
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
34
4 star
8
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2015
I have had this DVD many years ago when he first came on the scene as an L.P. So i saw this on Amazon and bought along with another one that I had. so bought that as well. It is well worth the money if anyone is interested in his works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
By today's standard of song writing by any artists, one could make three albums out of this stunning debut album by Gilbert O'Sullivan. Every song included here is of amazing originality, incomparable lyricism and style, and there are 14 of them! This album went up to 5th in the UK's album charts in 1971. The competition was tough at the time!!

Obviously, O'Sullivan put everything in this album. It is packed with captivating poetic ideas, so many memorable melodies and wide range of styles in the arrangement of each song (modern jazz, classical music, rhythm and blues, Latin American music to name a few). I still remember how I felt the first time I listened to this album - I was overwhelmmed by the richness of his music. The eclectic use of music in the song 'Houdini Said' or the ingenious use of off-beat rhythm in 'Too Much Attention'. The bittersweet pathos in the songs like 'Bye-Bye' and 'If I don't get you'. And the centrepiece of the album, 'Nothing Rhymed'. This is one of those timeless songs, like 'Strawberry Fields Forever' by Lennon or 'America' by Paul Simon, expressing the existential angst of the era in a simplest language. How fresh and relevant it still sounds today!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2016
Having been replacing worn out vinyl for some years, I thought it was time to revisit 'Uncle Ray'. What a brilliant release! First class reproduction and an informative and entertaining booklet to boot (together with complete lyrics). Although I usually like to finish the original album as it was originally released, the bonus tracks this time are really a bonus especially the underrated 'Under the blankets go' and the early top ten hit 'No matter how I try'. Bought along with the 'Back to Front' re-release, which is of equal quality. Must get some more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2007
Been a fan of Ray's since 1970 when first hearing the song, "Nothing Rhymed". Vividly remember buying this album on vinyl back in 1971. Why? Cos he was different to everyone else around at the time (exactly what Gilbert wanted). He's still writing songs to this day but i still reckon his early stuff was Gilbert at his very best. "Permissive Twit" is the song that stands out for me, sad song with excellent lyrics. Everyone's favourite, "Matrimony" is also here in its glory as is his chart debut hit, "Nothing Rhymed". 15 UK Top 40 singles (and 2 of those reaching No. 1) isn't half bad a pop career in my humble opinion. If you like nostalgia and more importantly you quite liked Gilbert O'Sullivan then this album will not disappoint believe me!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
Several old favourites, plus some I loved, and can't believe that I had forgotten! A very good introduction to Gilbert O'Sullivan, for those too young to remember his quirky, shrewd lyrics, and gentle melodies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
Seventies memories recaptured. Very creative and underrated. Easy to mock but he produced inventive, quality lyrics. Not so sure about some of the extras though! Overall, a very good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
Himself...Gilbert O'Sullivan ...This was the first of his albums I bought in the 70s...I'm having a trip back in time and it's just as good as I remember it...Great tuneful music...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
good solid early tunes from one of the best song smiths ever. the look was a way to get noticed but this man would I think of made it anyway a cd for any real music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
One of the best debuts from a master of songwriting and melody.Love this record as it'svery varied and a fine listen.
reccomend this highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2005
Ray O'Sullivans debut album showed hidden depths at the time of release in 1971.It was a grower and was in and out of the charts for the next two years.It still stands up with the stand-outs being January Git,Houdini Said and Nothing Rhymed although there are no fillers.This is well worth checking out and purchasing at a reasonable price.
Unfortunately his growing commercial stature had a negative effect on the quality of his next two albums although they were massive sellers.
Better albums to seek out to sit next to Himself are 'Southpaw' and 'Off Centre'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)