Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
250
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2015
A bit different from the normal thrillers I read as the background to this is the involvement of the British security forces during the troubles in Northern Ireland. A fast paced read which, because of the writer's previous experience working alongside the intelligence services for a number of years, seems highly believable. A good debut novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2012
I downloaded this book, mainly as a free book, having just got my kindle, thought I wouldnt like it, as I dont like reading about wars and troubles. But after the first chapter I just couldnt put it down, it explained so much and the descriptive way it was written, put you in the place where it was happening. You felt so sorry for Steve Maxwell. It was a brilliant read, give it a go, bet you enjoy it to.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
A good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
I downloaded this book because it was free and looked interesting from the summary. For a first time author I have to congratulate Derek Keyte on an excellent realistic fast paced book. It accurately portrays the utter misery and violence that was Northern Ireland set against the changing backdrop of peace emerging from a horrific past. I found this book riveting and thought provoking. It was also well researched although I see from the authors note that he spent some time working there. It is obvious both in the language and technical aspects which help when there are no obvious mistakes. I would suggest to anyone who likes well written well researched thrillers get your hands on this one quickly. I will look out for his next offering.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
Derek Keyte has got a problem... How can he better his debut novel. Compromised is a fantastic novel well deserved of 5*. His 'inside' knowledge tells and he uses it well, no super hero's just ordinary guys getting the job done. I couldn't put it down, I tried (without success) to outhink the author.. He is far to clever. A superb book you will not regret buying at any price. I look forward to the next novel, but my goodness the author has his work cut out to beat this one. Congratulations to the author..
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2011
Being from Belfast, I've always approached any fiction based on ''The Troubles'' with a large dollop of scepticism. In this case I was wrong to do that! The clever thing about this story is that it is, at heart, an individual's story and doesn't take sides, yet the story sits comfortably into the recent history of the Province.

It's well-written, cleverly plotted and certainly rips along at a cracking pace. I shall be interested to see what the author produces next - on the strength of this book I think we might have an exciting new kid on the thriller-writer block.
44 Comments| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2011
Never read the author before and at my age I get set in my ways, but this guy definitely knows how to keep you attached to the book. I Havn,t even finished yet and I,m writing a review! If you like fast paced, attention to detail and some graphic writing, this is the book for you. Free as well, brilliant!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2011
Having done 4 tours of NI in the 70s Part One of this book transported me back in time. All the details are correct and the story hasn't got a military superman doing the impossible. Brilliant. I look forward to the next by this writer.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
This book is amazing! I got so caught up in the main characters and events that I couldn't put it down.It wasn't the kind of book I would have normally chosen to read, but I'm so glad I did. was one of those books that when you've finished it, you wish it hadn't ended. I can see it as a film one day too. All I can say is,well done Derek, you have a new fan and please write many more.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2012
The troubles in Northern Ireland are a subject which proves once again within this novel to be a most difficult subject to write about. Whereas mindless violence and unbelievable cruelty may have been a daily reality, to simply dump it in minute detail into a novel as part of a plot, is crass.

Unlike previous reviewers who have rated this novel poorly I did make it through to the end of the book, but without any sense of enjoyment. By the end of the novel I understood why the author wanted to convey the horrific events detailed, as he needed to show the recipient as being damaged by his experience, but even a slightly more skilled writer would have handled this in a more competent manner. There was simply no need for him to have written it in the way he did. We could have learned about the horror of the injuries later in the book, when the soldier is exposed either at the Christmas party or in front of the LDF or even in front of the hotel mirror.

The author's indulgence also includes a completely non relevant pornographic scene, which is also described in detail but is completely superfluous to the plot and perhaps tells us more about the author than it does the story.

Overall the idea of bringing together a set of characters, changed by their experiences and who eventually have a very public showdown was a good and interesting plotline, but the way we get there is clumsy and Tudor's (a main character) own story is contrived and not really explored.

Overall this novel lacks credibility on so many levels. The characters are shallow and stereotyped, their back story is clumsily written often giving us the same scene from each point of view, causing any momentum built to come screeching to a halt. The timeline is all over the place, the dialogue is stilted and predictable. In fact all of the writing skills required to make this novel work are almost nonexistent.

The only worthy thing about this work, is the fact that it seems to support one of the most worthwhile charities that exists, that is Help for Heroes. To what extent it does this is not clear though.

My recommendation would be make a donation directly and find something else to read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse