Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.15

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 July 2016
I'm really enjoying this, but it's a little bit kooky on Kindle. There's no chapters or navigation - none of the contents headings work, so the whole book is just one long chapter. This makes navigation difficult. Also, the Kindle is doing weird things with characters with accents, e.g. the Japanese word Hyōgo turns up something like Hy ō g o. If the chapters get fixed, this is an easy 5/5, for an accessible, interesting and useful reference guide for conlanging. Until then, it's a promising 4.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Rosenfelder does it again. This man with his admittedly niche hobby of creating languages for his fictional worlds, has produced a superlative volume explaining, in great detail, how languages are put together, how they work and how they evolve over time. All elements, from the creation and modification of the sounds of languages, syntax, grammar and vernacular usages are all covered in great depth. Much of the stuff covered seems so obvious that you wonder why he covers it, until you discover that language features integral, even fundamental, to the use of English are entirely lacking in other languages.
If you have any interest in how languages work, evolve or are created, or if you want to populate a novel or a map with names and places which have more consistency than the semi-random letter clusters many authors use, you simply cannot do without this excellent book. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
This is a really fun book and very well put together. There is some good learning behind the book and there are elements of academic insight too, so serious language nerds are not turned off. It's really helped me approach inventing my own language in a more rigorous and logical way.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2014
Loved the book. I was expecting a superficial romp through inventing a mini Klingon, which was fine as I saw it all as a bit of fun. But it went deep enough to prompt deeper research which has turned into a real fascination with the subject of linguistics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
There are a lot of complex concepts in this book but the writer has managed to explain and example them in such a way that they are easy to understand. You may be tempted to skip some parts but that's more to do with the subject, I don't think I could ever be interested in phonology anyway.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2014
Now I can make my own languages with the help of this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
An informative and interesting introduction to conlanging, bringing together everything that a novice needs to know as well as providing more experienced conlangers with a good checklist - definitely worth the price!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Very good tutorial for those who have no linguistic background at all, I particularly liked the chapter on pragmatics. I recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
very well written and useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)