Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
180
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2015
I found this film fascinating. Whether it is entirely factual is, arguably, debatable, nevertheless, it has a real sense of history. De Caprio's portrayal is superb and possibly the defining potrayal of Hoover. The prosthetics are remarkable, if his name was not included in the credits it would be impossible to tell who was playing the older Hoover. Clint Eastwoods forgotten masterpiece. For me, a must see.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2017
Clint Eastwood does it again. Great film. Nearly as good as Gran Torino, Invictus, Mystic River. As good as Hereafter. Better than Letters From Iwo Jima. Leonardo DiCaprio also is excellent, he rarely puts a foot wrong in any film. Whether the actual Hoover was as oblivious to matters of the heart as portrayed, whether as under the shadow of his mother, I have no idea, I'm no historian. But in terms of performances and of cinematic skill, all good stuff. Only 4 stars because I am not a biopic or history fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Highly informative biography of J.Edgar. Leonardo Di Caprio is outstanding and gives a riveting performance. I personally think that the film underplays J.E's massive achievements and concentrates on his personal life, which is a shame. But well worth a watch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2017
Gave up on this within about the first 20 minutes as it was literally so dark could not see what was going on and after spending ages trying to adjust the picture/light/balance/background lighting we gave up. Also not Leo's best performance as far as we could tell! Really annoyed it messed up the colour and balance for all the channels afterwards. Took an age to get it right again. Not worth the hassle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
I myself enjoyed & loved this movie,but my wife & a few friends did not really get in to this movie,it's one of those movie's where you really need to watch it with 110% concentration from start to finish...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
A highly enjoyable movie of a very complex man, although it never really goes in depth on his life, or in the birth of the F.B.I., it is still a great movie to watch. A stellar performance from Leo, and the actors supporting. Great direction from Clint Eastwood. Loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
This film is good in parts, sometimes very good, but it is not without problems. It was never actually established that Hoover was homosexual, yet, according to this, it is beyond doubt. Also, the last 45 minutes of the movie is just pure emotion, I get quite fed up with that section. Overall, the film could be stronger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2017
Very good film, received in good order... love it !...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Very Interesting and educational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
predictable without adding new insights ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)