Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
177
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2015
I found this film fascinating. Whether it is entirely factual is, arguably, debatable, nevertheless, it has a real sense of history. De Caprio's portrayal is superb and possibly the defining potrayal of Hoover. The prosthetics are remarkable, if his name was not included in the credits it would be impossible to tell who was playing the older Hoover. Clint Eastwoods forgotten masterpiece. For me, a must see.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Highly informative biography of J.Edgar. Leonardo Di Caprio is outstanding and gives a riveting performance. I personally think that the film underplays J.E's massive achievements and concentrates on his personal life, which is a shame. But well worth a watch.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
I myself enjoyed & loved this movie,but my wife & a few friends did not really get in to this movie,it's one of those movie's where you really need to watch it with 110% concentration from start to finish...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
A highly enjoyable movie of a very complex man, although it never really goes in depth on his life, or in the birth of the F.B.I., it is still a great movie to watch. A stellar performance from Leo, and the actors supporting. Great direction from Clint Eastwood. Loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
This film is good in parts, sometimes very good, but it is not without problems. It was never actually established that Hoover was homosexual, yet, according to this, it is beyond doubt. Also, the last 45 minutes of the movie is just pure emotion, I get quite fed up with that section. Overall, the film could be stronger.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Very Interesting and educational.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2016
predictable without adding new insights ..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
Very good but you need to concentrate
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
If not for anything else, I'd commend this film (besides its many other qualities), for a sentence written by J.E.Hoover, the founder of the FBI, as quoted by Clint Eastwood, so as to teach us something (as in Play misty for me he quotes a beatiful poem by Edgar Poe, Annabel Lee, also to teach us something): "The very essence of our DEMOCRACY is rooted in a belief in the worth of the
individual. That life has meaning that transcends any man-made system. That love is the greatest force on Earth, far more enduring than hatred or the unnatural divisions of mankind." Can you say better?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)