Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
38
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2017
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this wonderful adventure, didn't want it to end, what a lovely family and what an amazing time they had. I have read lots of books in this genre, and although this is not about a sailing, it's still just as enjoyable to read, interesting, witty and a real eye opener. To have been part of this adventure must have been amazing, I am very envious. Absolutely love the photo bucket pictures as well, brought it to life, and definitely good to read the book before looking at the photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
I did struggle a bit with the beginning of this book.. I do realise that they had to find the ideal boat for their planned trip but felt the book got a great deal better once they d set off. Ive read a lot of travel type book.. my favourite genre and this one is in the top ten in my opinion.
The family learnt the hard way.. as they went along and there were a few funny moments in the book. I hope theres going to be a follow up book cos I now feel they have their sea legs and another trip is inevitable .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
Many people on holiday look at yachts and cruisers in Mediterranean ports and say 'We could do that'. Very few actually do it, though. Michael Holt and his family - especially his family - took a collective deep breath and went for it.

Here is a very readable, gripping account of how they started, got in to trouble, learned to cope, and had a life-changing few years out of the common path. It makes you want to meet the kids to see how they grew up after all that.

Regular sailors will recognise the ups and downs and stresses and delights, especially maybe reading it on a Kindle in bed on a Winter's night. Those who have not yet sailed, but are given to saying 'We could do that" can usefully start here.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
Like the author of `Family Aweigh' I spent three years at sea in the Mediterranean, though in my case it was as First Lieutenant and then Captain of a submarine.
Crewed by its author, his wife and three teen-age children, `Family Aweigh' is an absorbing and often funny tale of life, both ashore and at sea in their yacht. Not surprisingly, there were occasional difficulties in human relationships, and in the maintenance of their boat. But, as related, these were resolved by common-sense, perseverance, and good humour. One thing that stands out is how close-knit was the family, and in particular the tolerance and support of the skipper's wife.
They visited many places of interest. All these are vividly described, and are part of the enjoyment in reading this five-star saga of a family (all) at sea in their sturdy boat!

Nigel Gilbert R.N. (ret)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2011
A thoroughly enjoyable read, I could not help admiring the determination and resourcefulness shown by this family to achieve their dream - that of living a life afloat. Set in the Mediterranean, we accompany the author on their metamorphoses from town dwellers to seasoned sea salts. With gentle asides of self-mockery and a generous dose of humour - two very British attributes - the pitfalls as well as the advantages of travelling as a family on a boat are very well described. The story is not just about the author and his wife and children but also one of never giving up despite the odds, helped of course, by the various colourful characters that are roped in to give a hand.

This book can also be considered a travelogue in that we are taken on a journey through the various ports and locations in the Mediterranean. Although they surely still exist today, I'm sure that in the name of progress some would not be recognisable. They provide an interesting backdrop to the story and through the description of the author, at times assume the role of a character in the book.

I would recommended this book to all those who hesitate in fulfilling what they really want in life. This family certainly didn't and through their example we will surely be the better for it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2011
I read this without particularly high expectations - very often "my own true story" types of books can be poorly written and edited, and have narrators who are just a bit too full of themselves. None of this is true of "Family Aweigh" - the narrator is delightfully self-deprecating, whilst justifiably proud of his childrens' achievements, and the story is well written and edited.
As an enthusiastic holiday sailor it was lovely to read about many of the bays and harbours I have visited myself, although I have to take issue with the author's dismissive views of flotillas! I learnt how to handle a yacht on flotilla and I never once played follow the leader! I was deeply impressed with the amount of work the whole family put into keeping Jernica in perfect condition - forget the formal education, this must have provided them with far more than a classroom could possibly have done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
"Like the author of `Family Aweigh' I spent three years at sea in the Mediterranean, though in my case it was as First Lieutenant and then Captain of a submarine.
Crewed by its author, his wife and three teen-age children, `Family Aweigh' is an absorbing and often funny tale of life, both ashore and at sea in their yacht. Not surprisingly, there were occasional difficulties in human relationships, and in the maintenance of their boat. But, as related, these were resolved by common-sense, perseverance, and good humour. One thing that stands out is how close-knit was the family, and in particular the tolerance and support of the skipper's wife.
They visited many places of interest. All these are vividly described, and are part of the enjoyment in reading this five-star saga of a family (all) at sea in their sturdy boat!"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
although I found this book well written and entertaining, it certainly didn't deliver what i expected, which was stories of a sailing family. Having no interest in diesel fumes myself, i would have appreciated if the authors and marketing people had made it more obvious this is a story about a powerboat, not a sail boat. It would have saved me some money...
Also, this is the second time I write this review, was the first one deleted?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2011
"Family Aweigh" is the true and inspiring narrative of one family's decision, conviction and ambition to give up their comfortable life in London and take "time out" with their three teenage children to live aboard their boat Jernica cruising around the Mediterranean. It is a 2 ½ year odyssey of courage, fortitude and achievement penned by the captain of the boat. Along with conquering the high seas, this is a tale spattered with many humourous anecdotes of their life on the ocean waves, often interspersed with vivid and rich descriptions of the landscapes and inhabitants of countries visited, friends made and the difficulties and triumphs encountered along the way. A blend of fun, adventure and pathos, it is a moving story and a highly recommended read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2011
Family Aweigh is a fantastically written book, absorbing, captivating and one i would call page "turning" book,
a real family account of adventure and courage,
A tale of a very extraordinary family that left all behind, and went on a adventure for 3 years sailing the seas in the Med. an adventure that many of us can only dream of...

Fantastic book!

is there book number 2 out yet?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse