Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 April 2017
This is a spectacular production brilliantly captured on this DVD. Special effects outstanding.
The musical itself is very entertaining with fabulous songs and music. The quality of recording and singing is excellent and I cannot understand how the show was not a huge success. However, having seen Sierra Boggess and Ramin Karimloo perform this live on stage and also having seen them perform together in the Phantom of the Opera, for me - they are Christine and the Phantom.
While Ben Lewis and Anna O'Byrne on this DVD give excellent performances and sound great, I think Sierra Boggess is more enchanting and more believably under the spell of the Phantom. Ramin Karimiloo also seems more menacing as the Phantom. Unfortunately they have not produced a DVD of Love Never Dies with these two in the lead.
These are not negative comments about the DVD as the production is excellent Well worth buying and watching again and again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2017
Bought this as I loved Phantom of the Opera (Stage version) but knowing little about this Australian movie sequel. Well this Melbourne production is a ripper! Fantastic and imaginative staging and direction (rather Baz Luhrmannesque), great songs performed brilliantly by Ben Lewis as The Phantom and Anna O'Byrne as Christine.These may not be household names but you will love their spell binding performances.This movie provides two hours of pure theatrical magic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2014
As a huge fan of Phantom of the Opera, I have been dying to see this since it hit the stage - sadly, being out of England means that this has so far escaped me. I was thus very excited to see that it had been released on DVD in a stage version.

Despite some initial reservations (due in no small part to some of the negative reviews I had seen, both of the DVD and the show itself), I must say that overall, I thoroughly enjoyed it. The music is, as always for ALW, a triumph, and I thoroughly enjoyed the performances of both Christine and Phantom. I did find the portrayal of Meg Giry somewhat grating, however. Although I had some issues with the story (see below), I was truly gripped throughout. The occasional refrains of music from the original Phantom is also something that is likely to appeal to Phantom fans.

SPOILER ALERT! While the story makes some attempt to explain the difficulties between Christine and Raoul, given the "happy ever after" nature in Phantom, I found the dramatic change in Raoul quite hard to understand. Similarly, the relationship between Phantom and Christine (despite excellent songs in the form of Beneath a Moonlit Sky and Once Upon Another Time) was never quite convincing, and occasionally feels somewhat creepy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2012
I wasn't expecting much from this musical, I am a very big fan of the original phantom and couldn't really see how a sequel could match.

The story is compelling and gripping with unexpected twists. It will defintely hold your interest. However the story is simply unbelievable and2far fetched as a sequel to the characters in the original phantom. I know people can change a lot in 10 years, but lets remember that the phantom was a murderer in the original musical and Raoul was a loving, caring, sensible man. It seems like their personalities have almost been reversed in the sequel. Not sure if that was intentional or accidental.

As for the music, it is very well done, there is certainly enough new original music to enjoy it as a musical in its own right. There are some bars of music from the original phantom interleaved with the new stuff which I think has been done very well. In fact it's done extremely well, there is a lovely melody in the original phantom where Christine conveys her doubts about performing. The melody is used again in this musical but with different lyrics - the connection with the old musical is great. This is done a handful of times in the musical.

Andrew Lloyd Webber was always giving himself a big challenge in trying to compose a follow up to such a fantastic musical. Has he succeeded? I would say by in large yes, IF YOU ACCEPT IT AS A MUSICAL ON IT'S OWN, and try not to think of it as a follow up. In that sense it works.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2016
I saw this live and was great even though lots of people hated it. I would have been amazing if the Phantom was played by Ramin Karimloo, he also played the Phantom in the 25th Anniversary of The Phantom of the Opera but Ben Lewis does a really good and his performance is great. It has been changed from the live show I went to see, which happens with new shows of course, but they did take out some of the bits I kind of liked. Overall though, I love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2017
Was pretty disappointing. Wanted it to be as good as the original, but it just didnt do it for me.
The singing was good but the story for me was a bit of a let down..Unfortunately.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2013
If you are a fan of 'Phantom of the Opera' or of musicals in general, I urge you to watch 'Love Never Dies'. The roles of the Phantom and Christine are played by excellent lead actors with vocal qualities which really suit the roles. The music is sweeping, haunting and beautifully memorable. An emotional rollercoaster! The sets on stage are staggering, some of the best that I've ever seen. Indeed, due to the fantastic camera work, at times, this looks more like a film than a stage production. Highly recommended - let the Phantom sing his way back into your life, you won't be disappointed!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2012
Our eagerly awaited Blu-ray disc of Love Never Dies arrived yesterday. Having seen both the origional and revised London productions we were really excited to see what the Australian Production had delivered. We were big fans of the London Shows and the strong cast performances but this production is far superior, the quality of the set design, the costumes and of course the outstanding performances of the cast and musicians. They interpret the story line with such strong feeling you cannot fail to be moved by this adaptation. The close up camera work really brings you into the characters and the whole experience is that much more believable.

With the London shows the beginng scene in both versions were the weakest part (slightly better in the revised production) and the costumer design of the three side kicks of Dr Y were for my part not in keeping with the period. This version addresses all those issues. Thank you Australia for taking hold of this master piece and bringing it to life once again. Lets hope it comes back to London and becomes the massive hit is so clearly deserves to be.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2012
This is not just a recording of a theatrical production but a cinematic presentation; this is how theatrical productions should be brought to the screen. It is only at the end when the cast take their ovation that you are reminded that this was recorded in a theatre before a live audience. Compare this with the original theatrical audio presentation and realise how subtle the differences between a good show and a great show are. This reworked presentation of the original show deserves to be brought back to the West End. Oh and well done Amazon for delivering two days ahead of the release date.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
The second installment of the phantom of the opera. Not even close to the original in terms of quality of story and musicality. Still worth a watch!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)