Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
13
The Sweet Science
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.59

on 8 March 2017
Arrive on time. Loved as a gift by a boxer (not read by me, so five stars for quality of item and service and not content)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2013
it was okay there was nothing new in the book they keep rehashing the old story of LaMotta v Fox is that the only fight that was fixed it is the only one we hear about as i said nothing new
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2011
I, too, have a habit of reading this book again and again. sometimes i dip into it for a half dozen pages, put it down for a few months then repeat the procedure.
ostensibly a book about boxing, more like a book about a boxing fan and his position in the world. there is so much of life in these pages that boxing is almost a side issue. he never gives a round by round account of the fights he sees, merely a general overview. but somehow he puts you in the seat he is in at the garden or yankee stadium or you feel you are standing right there watching joe louis train in preparation for the ill-fated fight with marciano. joe liebling was a true prose stylist and deserves his place among the giants of american literature, whether he's writing about boxing or not. a great prose stylist, a comic genius, greater than Bill Heinz? hmmmm....now there's a question.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 December 2011
This book is quite simply superb. An excellent read in which you can immerse yourself into professional boxing during this time period. Boxing greats such as Joe Loius and Sugar Ray Robinson feature and Liebling brings the sport to life. You can imagine being there at these fantastic events and smell the atmosphere. Cracking stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2015
A wonderful book on the classic years of classic boxers ,classic fights and amazing characters. In the days before television , which Liebling detested and in his view destroyed boxing the sports writers were literary artists who wrote whole pieces on the fight characters, the fighters and the fights in great detail. These articles cover some of the greats like Joe Louis, Rocky Marciano, etc and some of the not so well known to give a broad spectrum of the colourful characters from boxings heyday. I don't follow boxing these days, but have always loved reading about the old days from the bare knuckles up to Sonny Liston in the 50's early 60's. This is a great collection .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 October 2015
As a long-time collector of boxing literature and anthologies (and having had this book for quite a few years now), the most remarkable thing I can still say about 'The Sweet Science' (and 'A Neutral Corner') is that this breadth and quality of writing is from just one author. Fantastic, wish there were more like it, worth it for 'Ahab and Nemesis' alone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2016
Bought this for holiday reading, having seen it cited as one of the best books on boxing. The Sweet Science is written in the prose of a skilled writer and the content is that of someone with very keen insight on the intricacies of the noble art.

Liebling brings New York of the 1950s to life superbly - the bars, taxi rides and, of course, the atmosphere at fight nights are all captured vividly. The author also has the gift of making interesting characters out of lesser-known boxers as well as referees and people he happens upon so even chapters that aren't about the Ray Robinsons or Marcianos are engrossing.

I was a little disappointed with the quality of the print but it was something that was quickly rendered irrelevant due to the excellent writing. I cannot recommend this enough due to its appeal on two levels; being an excellent work of literature and giving an insight into the past glories of boxing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2017
Sports Illustrated voted this the best SPORTS book ever written, not just boxing. I am not about to argue. My only regret is that it ends in the mid-Marciano era. Liebling is a first-class writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2010
Liebling's essays in his book The Sweet Science (and also in A Neutral Corner) are books I can read over and over. When I found The Sweet Science in audio-book on Amazon, I knew I had to have it. It was well worth the purchase price. I am still listening to it and know I will always enjoy it. It is well read, word for word, and is something I would recommend to all fight fans, and indeed to all lovers of good writing. It is value for money, seven discs lasting 8 1/2 hours. What are you waiting for!!
John Jarrett
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 April 2015
Amazing book - genuine classic in this genre. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here