Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2017
Not exactly what you might call a sack-full of laughs given that ancient Rome was a pretty horrible slave-based place but if you have an interest in the Roman Era reading one of Steven Saylor's Roman novels is like going back there in a time machine. Make sure if you do go back there though that you take loads of cash, and even then you will have to watch yourself, especially if Rome is under the thrall of the Emperor/Dictator, Sulla. This, the first novel in the 'Gordianus' series is based around and inside, the actual famous, or infamous, parricide case where the son involved was defended by a young advocate just starting out on his career by the name of Marcus Tullius Cicero. Needing background information on the case Cicero hires a Phillip Marlowe of ancient Rome, Gordianus the Finder, to delve into things. What Gordianus finds, and the dangers he faces when he probes the sordid underbelly of Rome will keep you turning the pages right to the end. Is the son charged with killing his own father and facing an awful punishment guilty or innocent? Read Steven Sayler's 'Roman Blood' and find out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Great series of books are really about the characters and our wish to travel with them on a journey . Gordianus the finder is one such.
Historical novels success depends on the believable positioning of the characters into events of history and Steven Saylor has done a great job positioning Gordianus along side Cicero and the documented history of his trials.
As a roman sleuth Saylor has a character who is different but compares well with Morse , Spenser and Holmes a man who looks at beyond the obvious, seeking the truth.
This is my second time of reading these books after a gap of 5 years and the test is passed , they are just as good second time.
I'm looking forward to the rest of the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
There are so many sword and sandal books around at the moment, many of them so similar, that it is difficult to tell them apart. Well, here is something that is definitely different.
Whilst set in Rome, and based around real events and people, the main character - Gordianus the Finder - is a really great fictional creation. The nearest equivalent today would perhaps be the fictional American private eye; he is called in to find out the sordid details when the lawyers and aristocrats can't or won't get their hands dirty.
The author has a real flair for period detail, explaining Roman society, law, customs and people without it seeming like a lecture; it all comes out in passing, which is quite a literary feat.
The factual content of the story is handled well, and the fictional elements are blended seamlessly. I loved the book, and have high hopes for future instalments.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2015
Roman Blood (1997) by Steven Saylor
Reviewed by Richard Blake

Without sneering at it, I have no taste for military historical fiction. I will do battles in my own novels, but much prefer civilian intrigue. What I like above all, however, in historical fiction is a sense of moving in a different moral environment from our own. In all times and places, people have the same basic motivations. But the way these are manifested makes any competent recreation of the past a study in oddness. Fellini described his masterpiece Satyricon as “science fiction of the past.” That’s what I try to achieve when I write, and that’s what I like to read.

Roman Blood, the first in Steven Saylor’s epic cycle of novels, ticks all the above boxes. Told in the first person by Gordianus, a private detective from the less exalted classes in Roman society, it is a thriller. Sextus Roscio, a decided aristocrat, has been accused of murdering his father. He has retained Cicero as his lawyer, and Cicero needs someone who can attend to all the grubbing through the murkier recesses of Roman society in search of whatever evidence can get his client acquitted.

The novel begins almost in the style of Raymond Chandler:

“The slave who came to fetch me on that unseasonably warm spring morning was a young man, hardly more than twenty.”

So we meet Tiro, secretary to Cicero. In due course, we meet all the big men in Roman society, plus a cast of fictional characters who are distinguishable from the real ones only if you know that they didn’t actually exist.

I could, at this point, move to an examination of the plot. I’d rather not, however. As said, the novel begins like Raymond Chandler, and it proceeds in much the same way. The plot works well, but is better appreciated as it flows than summarised. Instead, I’ll try very briefly to say what I like about the book.

First, it is a civilian novel. There’s no marching up and down, no inspiring speeches, no set-piece battles. These have a steady market, and they can be done very well. What I like, though, is to see life as it was lived in the cities. You get this in Roman Blood. You are in the City. You can smell the emptied chamber pots, and taste the mouldy olives. You are in a country that has suffered a civil war, and that may not yet be folly over the reign of terror that followed this.

Second, I return to the use of real characters. The temptation here is to rely too much on what they are known to have said. Saylor avoids this. The narrator sees the first big speech Cicero gave from afar, and doesn’t quote from it. Cicero, instead, is shown as a shifty lawyer, nervous for his own head. The old Dictator, Sulla, is shown more as villain than saint – hardly surprising when you consider what he did to Rome. At the same time, he has redeeming features. And he is used sparingly – so sparingly, you almost want more of him.

Third, the convention in older novels is to mention slavery, but largely to have the slaves in the background. In Roman Blood, they are in the foreground, and there is no attempt to overlook what a disgusting institution slavery was. It corrupted everyone involved in it. Even those who weren’t sadistic fiends came to see slaves as less than human, and about as deserving of consideration as household pets.

Fourth, and generalising from this point, Saylor makes a point of showing his own political views. Now, he is an American liberal, which makes him considerably more statist than English and European liberals. Even so, he gives his narrator a broadly libertarian point of view throughout this novel and those that follow. The risk in doing this sort of thing is that a novel can descent to agitprop of higher or lower quality. I could mention the opposing views but similar failure here of Howard Fast and Ayn Rand. Saylor avoids this. His views emerge mostly by implication, or from the ghastliness of the attitudes some of the characters show in their dialogue.

Fifth, and still generalising, there is the matter of how background is shown. If you set out to write an historical novel, you will be drawn towards alternative but equally defective solutions to showing a world radically different from your own. You can clog the narrative with endless digressions, or you can explain absolutely nothing. In his Satyricon, Fellini succeeds brilliantly with explaining nothing. But this isn’t something you can do in mainstream fiction. For obvious reasons, you must also avoid the former. What Saylor does is to reveal the world of Republican Rome through dialogue and action. In a sense, he has it easier than I do with my Byzantine novels. Every potential reader knows who Cicero was, and Julius Caesar, and knows something of the political background. I have it much harder. But some background needs to be shown, and Saylor is a master of keeping his narrative bouncing along without losing sight of the wider issues.

Any mistakes of detail? Anything comparable to a passage in one of Taylor Caldwell’s novels where a Roman uncorks a bottle of wine? I don’t think so, and I have a good nose for this sort of thing. Saylor knows his subject.

And so I heartily commend Roman Blood. I think it easily the best in the series. But, if the sequel I least enjoyed is The Judgement of Caesar (2004), all the others have something that makes then an enjoyable and an instructive read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
I stumbled across this book quite by hazard but was hooked from the very first page. Gordianus, 'the last honest man in Rome', is thoroughly believable because - how rare this has become in historical thrillers and novels - he is depicted as a real human being with real emotions (happiness, joy, sadness, jealousy, you name it) instead of a one-dimensional puppet.
The setting is very well drawn and the plot engrossing, the hours you'll spend reading this book will afterwards feel as if you've stepped back in time. What more can one ask for? I for one immediately went after all the other books in the series.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2003
Roman Blood, the first of Steven Saylor's Sub Rosa series of novels, introduces Gordianus the Finder and his family, fictional characters who become increasingly memorable and claim a hold on our affections and sympathetic concern as they interact throughout the series with many famous historical characters, Julius Caesar, Pompey The Great, Cicero, and Spartacus being the best known. The lawlessness of a great city - Rome - without a police force; the brutal treatment of slaves as chattel; the political intrigues and assassinations - all are faithfully portrayed in historically accurate and authentic detail. But perhaps the most remarkable aspect of these novels is their overlay of modern liberal values represented by the fictional narrator, who manumits (frees) and marries his Egyptian concubine, Bethesda, adopts two slaves as his sons, understands and accepts the independence and sovereignty of women, reveres and serves the truth as much as Diogenes, and evinces a genuine religious piety. The characters are memorably drawn and individuated, and the finder's daughter, whose patronymic name Gordiana is shortened to Diana, is perhaps the most appealing daughter in literature since Cordelia. Like all works of a master spirit, these books provide an edifying education, with recognizable allusions to ancient as well as Elizabethan literature, and they contain flashes of sardonic humor appropriate to the anatomy of the human condition that they reveal. They are among the very best of modern recreations of that peculiar combination of greatness and squalor that was ancient Rome.
22 Comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is, simply, one of the best historical novels I have read (and I've read a few). There's no point in wasting hundreds of words on it - just read it and enjoy a superb story (based on Cicero's first major trial) with a realistic portrayal of Republican Rome.
Then, when you've done with that, read the other Gordianus books - you won't regret it!
So there!
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
See other book review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse