Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
35
4.7 out of 5 stars
Lord of the Rings: War in the North - Collector's Edition (PS3)
Platform: PLAYSTATION 3|Edition: Collector's Edition|Change
Price:£48.92+ £0.72 shipping


on 7 February 2013
Being a big fan of the tolken books ive been looking for a decent Lord of the Rings game that was not aimed at chrildren like a lot have been!!! The fact that it features new caracters that are questing during the time of the books but in a different part of Middle Earth is a neat idea!!! The mechanics of the gameplay are fairly simple without 'dumbing down' the experience. This game delivers a very good RPG experience even if you are not a fan of the books!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This is just a magnificent game with outstanding figure of a Snowtroll that's holding Farin the Dwarf.
The game is so amusing and it has done well in the archives of Tolkien.
The game is fun to play, good graphics and a good eye for details, good fun for offline gaming (it supports a 2 player but not 3 player splitscreen alas..) Online it offers 3 player mode wich is handy for hunting Trophies.
The game has a diversity of weapons and items and elfstones.
Easy drop in drop out system. Automatic save.
This collectors edition contains : Snowtroll figure, 2 DLC's ( a nice theme pack and an Orc champion sword for beginners),a wonderful artbook and a bonus dvd that includes everything around the original soundtracks of the game. The dvd also includes 3 bonus soundtracks where one is very rare and very beautiful to hear: Rivendell Theme.

The games is very great. The only thing is the game wasn't completed by it's makers. Pity but don't let you stop that from buying this masterpiece of game especially if you are a Hobbit/LotR fan as i am.

Enjoy~
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
This game really surprised me, it was much better than I expected. I am a big fan of all things to do with lotr and I am really glad I purchased this. The game itself is decent in length and has great graphics and gameplay and keeps you interested, the figurine is fantastic and looks great on my gaming shelves near the ps3 and the collectors book is also of nice quality with some great pictures of the games characters and scenery with a cd tucked into the back of the book which contains music etc from the game ( I have not used this yet ). You also get a couple of downloads for the playstation store in the game case an Orc sword weapon and a lotr war in the north theme. Worth every penny.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
This review is mainly for the collectors edition content, rather than the game itself.
At its currently listed price (£23.47) this is an absolute bargain. Nay, a steal. Even at twice the price this edition would still be worth it.

The troll figurine is a well detailed piece, not a cheap and nasty effort. It is held to the base (Which you can easily remove) with a metal pin - A small touch, but adds an element of quality to the whole thing. It isn't just some single cast figurine with shoddy plastic, and even if you just wanted the troll figurine and you weren't interested in the game I'd probably say the price is worth it alone for any LOTR fan.
The art book is also of good quality, with a good selection of great artwork throughout and a soundtrack disc at the end.

The game itself is, in essence, an enjoyable hack and slash game set in Tolkien's World. Think along the lines of Baldur's Gate in 3rd person and you are about there. It doesn't pretend to be anything greater than what it is, and indeed for what it is - it is a very good game. The environments are well detailed, the combat is satisfying and all in all it's a very commendable effort. It's certainly nice to walk through Rivendell and the like, and co-op can be a great amount of fun. If you are a LOTR fan, this is certainly worth a punt, at least.

This Collector's Edition would be worthy of the extra price stretch at full, day one release price. So for this price, it is a ridiculous bargain.

Buy while you still can. Even If the game disappoints you, the overall package shouldn't
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
I think the game was a free PSplus game some months back so, its a good little game, but this package is not about the game any more. No steelcase. The artbook is small but interesting and nicely produced.

For me, its about the figure. I've always enjoyed making, painting and collecting models, so I have a liking for these collectable 'special edition figures'.

Its an LOTR themed piece, so for the 'collectors' out there, it wont be going out of fashion any time soon.

Sometimes these models are made from cheap plastic and feel light, bendy and flimsy. This doesn't. Its a solid, hefty figure. The troll attaches to the baseplate with a reasonably thick pin which adds to the quality feel of the model.

The pose is dynamic and well suited to the LOTR theme. The use of the dwarf is a clever way to emphasise the troll's huge size. The dwarf and Troll's club are lose fit, which is good for the overall look of the model. The base is a nicely themed snowy boulder rather than a plain block.

The paintwork is functional. These sort of models are rarely 'well painted', but many are very poorly painted, so opening up the box and seeing 'functional' is quite a relief. The paint colours are well chosen, realistically matt, dark and weathered. The paintwork is even and there isn't much 'splash' where paint for one element of the model spills over onto another.

The models moulding is reasonably crisp and textured - not overly smooth and 'blurry' as you get on many of these types of model.

The size is good. Its always hard to tell from the promo pictures,but its big enough to stand out as a display piece on a typical shelf - not so small as to be insignificant, not so large as to be overpowering to any nearby display peices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
the game play of this game is very good, i really enjoy this game. it is a bit of an RPG open world game although not as open as many others. you will be able to travel to and from places but you are confined to what are essentially dungeons or villages/cities. it is a really enjoyable game with many weapons and armour adds for you player. with this pack you also get a bonus sword as DLC.

as for the statue, which is the main reason people will be buying this edition, it is one of the best i have ever received. it is a nice weighty product with high detail and is just an amazing build, i have many other statues from collectors editions but this is the best one i have ever received.

i would really recommend this product if you are wanting the statue as it is a very nice piece and looks great on display.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2015
I don't buy physical play station 3 games anymore, as I already have the ps4. But $20 was a bargain for a lord of the rings videogame collectors edition, and I couldn't let it go, as I am a Tolkien fan. And I loved it. The figurine is top quality, very solid. And the game, it's been a surprise, it is better than I expected. Very enjoyable, and you can even talk to famous characters like Aragorn. The timeframe is before Aragorn meets Frodo in Bree, when the Nazgul are looking for him, and is him who gives you the first mission. The graphics and the music, are very good, and the game is completely dubbed to my language, spanish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
I bought this collectors as a fan of Lotr. The figure is great and was the main reason i purchased it. I was surprised at how much fun i had playing this game with my brother. It is a great experience in coop and the game only required minor tweaks to be a better product. The campaign took about 6-8 Hours to complete and i was satisfied with this purchase. The game is worth £15 and the collectors is a bargain at £30
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
managed to get this collectors edition very cheap and im very happy with it.

the collectors edition includes;
a figurine of a ogre (great detail)
the game
a art book
and the sound track cd

reviews on this game do seem to be too hard on the game its self i enjoy playing this game and the graphics are great. that said there is 1 or 2 things that need a little sorting out on the game it needs to give you a choice to save the game yourself as the auto-saves are a little far apart and it should give you the choice to change characters at will not only at the check points.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
It took a while for me to get into this but after initially thinking it might be a cheap GoW clone tied into the LotR world I found I was actually quite wrong.

Combat is satisfying and some level of tactics are required for dealing with the various enemies.

The story is well paced and well written.

Now the price has dropped to around £10 you can't really not give this a chance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)