Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a great collection of slow movements from popular compositions by some Russia's finest Composers hence the title. The 1 disc CD contains adagios by Tchaikovsky( Sleeping beauty and the Nutcracker); Rimsky-Korsakov - (Nocturne from 'Moonlight'); Alexander Glazunov( Raymonda - act 1 intermezzo and act 3 intermezzo); Aram Khachaturian ( Adagio from Spartacus); Sergei Prokofiev( Adagio of Cinderella and the Prince); Tikhon Khrennikov (Adagio from the Hussar Ballad); Nikolai Miaskovsky - (Adagio from Symphony no 27 op85 - 2).

While the disc contained some old favourites,- Tchaikovsky, Rimsky-Korsakov, Khachaturian, Glazunov, Prokofiev; there were some interesting new discoveries on this disc namely Khrennikov and Miaskovsky. It was interesting to discover that Khrennikov lived from 1913 - 2007 and yet I had never heard of him or his music.

The is a collection of some of the most soulful melodies and romantic scores based on folk tunes, ballads and ballet. In some of this slow and passionate adagio music we get a sensing of the Russian Spirit in Music. The pieces were beautifully rendered by the Russian state symphony Orchestra conducted by Evegeny Svetlanov. The label is Brilliant Classic 2011, and the recordings are ADD MCPS.

Of great interest in this collection is the booklet contained in the CD cover which gives a brief history of all composers on this cd; interesting tid-bits about them and their relationship to one another. This is a good introduction to Russian Composers and a great addition to the Adagio collection.
22 Comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Wonderful music, beautifully played by an orchestra at the top of its game - music that is known and loved. The Russian State Symphony Orchestra is empowered by that great Russian conductor Evgeny Svetlanov. For a long time I have loved the Adagio of Spartacus and Phrygia from Khachaturian's ballet Spartacus. But on this incomparable CD I have found a new love - the second movement of Myaskovsky's Symphony No 27. Why do I not know the music of Myaskovsky? I am certainly encouraged to find out more and listen to many of his symphonies, probably as recorded by Svetlanov and this Russian State Symphony Orchestra. However on this CD there is a complete range of romantic Russian music that creates a quite lovely mood and enables the mind and body to slow down.. You have to have this!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2014
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here