Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
711
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2012
Well i have read many books like this over the years but nothing as horrific as this.If im honest,its so horrific that at one point i actually thought it was all made up.Clearly its not but just as you think Lily's life couldn't possibly get any worse...it does.This was my 1st book on my new xmas kindle and i was unable to put this book down.I just hope that Lily,with the help of her Tony & children,she will be able to find some kind of inner peace.God bless you Lily x
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2012
The second book I have read on Kindle, I also couldn't put it down. So very very sad and a life ruined by sick evil perverted monsters! Be strong Lily x
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
This was the first book I read on my new Kindle and I just couldn't put it down. Lily's story is heartbreaking and at times you feel that it can't all be true, no one could ever have been treated so badly. However, Lily's story continues and you feel so heartbroken for her. This is an incredible story of a girl so badly abused by all of the people in her life it's no wonder Lily struggles on a day to day basis. Lily I hope you find the peace you seek in time, thank you for sharing your story.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2011
This is a very tragic and moving book to read, I highly recommend the author, who is both courageous and inspiring beyond measure. I hope that Lily O'Brien will find the peace she so longs for.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
When I started reading this book I hadn't read the information in depth and missed the fact it was a real story. I thought it was so unbelieveable and far-fetched, but it's so sad when you realise/find out it's true and actually happened to a girl. The content is explicit and graphic, but not offensively so (in my opinion) as it's telling a true story. If it was a work of fiction, I might feel differently but I think the truth should be shared. Not for the faint hearted but I applaud the bravery of this work.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2012
From the first page to the end, my heart went out to Lily and her "baby" brother Simon who never had a childhood. Thank goodness she found Tony who has been an absolute rock to her and without him and her children, she probably would have met the same fate as those she lived with in the "institution" and Simon.
This covers her life from the first sexual abuse right up to the present day. When living with her mother she was abused by her stepfather and brother in law. Her mother......she knew everything that was happening and turned a blind eye to it all. As a mother myself, it beggars belief.
When her mother decided she no longer wanted her and her brother and sister around, she packed them off to their father in Ireland. Surely her life could get better. No, her father was never around, instead choosing to live in the pub. As a result of their neglect, all three were sent to the institution where they spent the remainder of their childhood in apalling conditions and their experiences were shocking, be it from their treatment by the nuns, to their living conditions to the experiences when sent away for a holiday with other families, every page offers another beggars belief moment. Whilst an upsetting read, you are willing the end of the book in the hope that Lily has found true happiness. Sadly, as a result of her terribly sad life, the happy ever after I was hoping for did not arrive, though she has three children she loves dearly and a partner who to be honest deserves a medal for supporting her and not giving up on her.
Don't give up Lily! One day, hopefully you will be able to close all of the doors on your demons and enjoy the remainder of your life happy and peacefully with Tony.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
I am in no way a religious person but I am praying there is a hell for all those people who abused you as they deserve nothing less. I had a bad childhood myself not in any way the same as yours and also lost a brother to suicide. You may not think it but you have amazing strength to retell your story yes you have demons which will stay with you but when you see your children smile they show there is some good in the world. Be proud of yourself for surviving such an horrific past and I wish you at least some peace in the future. Your book is a real eye opener on how people abuse the power they have over defenceless children I hope they suffer for the rest of their lives!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
I read this book cover to cover, could not put it down. I have read the ryan report and haunting cries by karen coleman which make the details in this story very consistent. Having had a relative in the same circles, i found this book tough reading but very informative. I personally dont follow cults but read about them and their activities. Having suffered mild symptoms myself in relation to the authors head and drugs taken, i can concur with what she is saying.
You need a strong stomach for this book and if you are in doubt, read the ryan report.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Made me cry.
This story really touched my heart all I wanna do now is meet Lily O'Brien and tell her she is so brave and strong. I would of given up and crumbled she's stronger then she actually gives herself credit for.
If she ever reads this I just wanna say Lily your my hero keep strong keep moving forward if not for yourself then for the kids and Jim they need you more then you will ever know.
God bless you Lily God bless your children and God bless Jim xxxxx.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
I don't believe it for two reasons. First of all, this woman claims to have been sexually abused by just about everyone she ever met. Let's list them: Her stepfather, her older brother, her sister's boyfriend, the boy at the farm, the lesbian nuns, and the priest who was a brother of the nice family. There's another one, I'm sure, but I lost track. And then the ones who didn't sexually abuse her kicked her, hit her (daily), locked her in cupboards, fed her vomit, gravel and asphalt and practically sold her into slavery.

Secondly, she has such a clear, vivid memory of precise events in her childhood. That's impossible. I remember precious little before I was about 11 years of age. I recall certain events very vaguely, but everything around those events is a fog. O'Brien remembers everything, right down to the minutest detail. She remembers events that happened when she was four and five so precisely that they just can't be true.

And really, can everyone - I mean EVERYONE - in that part of Ireland be a such a child-abusing paedophile? Everyone? Where are all the decent families that make up a community?

But it carries on. She finally ends up back in England and despite warning her sister, Karen, about Fred, their brother-in-law, fails to recognise him when she arrives in England herself until he tries it on with her again. What happens next is astounding. Her paedophile step-father, when he can't have his wicked way with her because she's pregnant ends up sleeping with her boyfriend! And her older brother starts raping her younger brother! And her mother just allows it all to go on!
And at this stage I'm starting to feel that this is possibly a slightly dysfunctional family.

So why have I given it three stars? Because it's actually a very readable story. Cleverly written in that she starts with no call for sympathy whatsoever, in fact making the point that she's a pain to live with and that her boyfriend has an undeservedly tough time of it. For the most part the book is written from a child's perspective, and I'm still undecided as to whether this is very clever writing or she actually did have such a poor education that this is the best she can do. Whatever, it works, and you're drawn into the narrative through the eyes of a five-year-old. The love she feels for her younger brother, Simon is unimpaired and flawless, and this, along with her great stoicism is one of her many redeeming features.

For although I began this by stating that I don't believe it, I do believe this girl was abused, and badly. I just don't know how much is true. I think she's started off to write her story and just got carried away with it, losing herself in the narrative, perhaps adding other children's stories to her own as she went.

In short, I just don't know what to believe. Either way, though, it's a good read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)