Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Such Is Life
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 September 2016
brilliant very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 November 2011
If the catchphrase "Right Monkey" strikes a chord then this CD could be right up your street. Al Read began his career, and honed his technique, in the Northern clubs before making his radio debut in 1950. Unlike many of his contemporaries his humour was not anecdotal but derived from a laconic account of everyday situations with which his audience could identify readily. That observational approach touched a chord, and he attracted an audience level that would be the envy of today's comedians. Two tracks are somewhat different; the first on this compilation is a poem by Marriott Edgar, who wrote many of Stanley Holloway's monologues, and the final track is a song. In between, Al turns his attention to subjects that are still relevant today, including the doctor's waiting room, police, dogs, the Post Office, motoring and television. No dates are given for the various tracks, but the cover and four of the tracks come from a 1959 HMV EP. If you are nostalgic for the golden age of BBC radio, or prefer your humour deadbeat rather than in your face, then this is for you. (What would Al Read have made of 4U, I wonder?)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
Al Read's perception and observations of situations that everyone of a certain age will remember is absolutely brilliant. I can remember laughing at his stories when I was a kid, and they haven't lost any of their brilliance over the years. Not a swear word anywhere, just great use of language and scripting delivered with expert timing and great vocalised characters. Anyone can identify with the situations he creates and they're all the more funny because of that. Excellent. Money well spent and laughs galore! Buy it!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 August 2012
Takes me back to listening to the radio on a Sunday and enjoying the laugh we all used to have hearing the escapades of Al Read's characters. Some of the situations are a bit dated now but still good to have in a nostaligic collection.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
Just right for older person's present. Very quick replacement issued by Amazon when original went astray.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
Oh for good old clean fun, with observation on everyday life. This is better than anything from Peter Jay,John Bishop and Lee Evans. Al Read was probably the first for getting laughs on daily observations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2015
Absolutely wonderful nostalgic 50s humour that is as fresh as ever. Al Read was unique!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
I really enjoyed this CD but was really dismayed when I realised Amazon were practising large scale tax avoidance in the UK.
I wish I had purchased it from a more tax compliant company
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2016
It brought back many memories when I used to hear him on the radio as a young man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2016
Great value and excellent service. Very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)