Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
8
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£37.27


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2012
I am a new to Drupal and I found this book very difficult to follow. As mentioned by previous reviewers the book is very poorly structured. The 38 chapters are only impressive in terms of their number but they don't make a coherent whole as there is almost no logical connection between them. The problem of course is the absurdly high number of authors, who as it seems to me probably never met or discussed the content of this book. As a result, what you get is an anthology of random articles on Drupal 7 covering a vast amount of material that readers will struggle to glue together.

Having said that, many topics are covered at very impressive depth, shedding light at the darkest corners of Drupal's intricate engine. In the end, the book is also probably very comprehensive although specific information is often difficult to find (e.g. the issues surrounding the installation and basic commands for Drush, Drupal's shell, are covered in at least 4 different chapters). I imagine that if you're an advanced Drupal user you might find this book quite useful. But if you're a beginner like myself be warned: this is NOT a guide! It's just a bag of loosely related articles that a mob of estranged Drupal experts throws at you.

For those new to Drupal I would recommend first getting a beginner's guide to Drupal (ideally written by a single author), and then looking at various aspects of Drupal, such as themeing, module development, the use of Drush and Git, etc., separately.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
Having read the reviews on just about every Drupal book on the market - and after a few false starts - I am really glad to have finally alighted on this monster. It's not perfect, but while developing, it rarely leaves my side.

First though, some caveats. The list of contributing authors is monstrous. Although the consistency issues are not as bad as previous reviewers have painted it, the way the articles are pitched is extremely varied from Nordin's 'Look I've just purchased a Mac and see what I can do with it!' to Freudenberg's 'I've injected steroids directly into my brain to get this smart!' More attention to Aegir would have been cute, also a more consistent focus on security, and more specific guidance about creating the ideal development environment. The big global criticism that I would make is that cookbook instructions could often be more condensed but include basic troubleshooting.

Overall though, this is a gold mine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
This book contains a mine of really useful information. Unfortunately the text is incredibly poorly formatted - to such an extent that it is really difficult to follow. The text includes examples which, if worked through, would greatly assist understanding. Regrettably the authors' intentions are frequently unclear as to what is actually required. However, with perseverance, sense can often be made of the frequently poorly constructed instructions.

The introduction to the book claims it "does not presume any specific prior curriculum". With no previous knowledge of Drupal 7, the reader may have considerable difficulty in appreciating just what Drupal and content management systems actually do. As a minimum a book such as 'Drupal for Dummies' should be read first!

This is a very frustrating book. It is a comprehensive and exhaustive compilation of Drupal 7 knowledge and understanding written by many experts in their own fields. Hidden within its 1000+ pages are real gems of information. With effective editing and proper formatting it would be a truely excellent publication.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2012
I really enjoyed the first half of the book, and especially the first chapters. It's one of the best summary of best practices for web development as a whole. However I can't escape from the thought that the main goal I was having by buying the book, which was to learn how to build Drupal modules, was somehow missed. The book is very well written though and servers as a great overview and I highly recommend it for all Drupalistas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
i'm finding it useful, due to the amount of information and topics covered, and the respectability of the writers. some information is outdated, unfortunately - for example the setup of Drush & Git on Windows (very easily via installers now) - but up to now these shortcomings have been really minor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
I only wish there was such a book for Drupal 6.

I've been doing Drupal for 3-1/2 years, and read 15 or so books on Drupal. This one is the best. And all that wonderful exercise carrying it around - what a brick!

It really covers ALL aspects of web development with Drupal, and gives thorough and practical advice on becoming efficient with Drush and GiT, absolutely indispensible tools when doing serious Drupal work.

Might be overkill if a person just wants a simple website, but then they should possibly go to Wordpress or do something with Dreamwweaver.

Buy it, read it, love it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
If you want the nuts and bolts of Drupal 7 then this is thr book for you. If you want a quick start then get Drupal 7 Explained
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2016
Great product, as described, good quality and arrived on time with no problems will buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)