Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 7 March 2010
Agreed. This is an amazing collection for the price. So I purchased the set and awaited it's arrival with great anticipation. Upon delivery, I immediately put 'Vixen' in the player. What a shock to discover that, while the disc played, it suffered from severe ghosting. Anytime there was action in the frame it appeared to be out of synch. I tried another, same effect. And another. The entire set suffers from the same problem. I live in the US, have a fantastic regions free DVD player that plays everything from anywhere and have purchased many of these great box set bargains and they have all played perfectly. Not this one. One more thing to note - almost all of these discs are 1:33 aspect ratio and the the 1 or 2 that aren't has a terrible transfer.
77 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 April 2009
Russ Meyer was a pioneer of U.S. cinema, in his own twisted way. Not only did he share the typical American male's fascination with breasts, especially big ones, he shared his fascination with other American males by putting the big breasts on the big screen. In 1959, just 4 years after the first issue of Playboy, he released his first film, The Immoral Mr. Teas. Over the next two decades he directed 17 more of them. Their plots were barely strong enough to support the weight of the mammaries on display, but nobody cared. The bright colors and the beautiful, bare women earned him scorn and reverence from the expected sources.

This collection has all 18 Meyer films, in very nice DVD transfers, at a very reasonable price. It's a dream come true, since in the U.S. individual copies of his movies sell for thirty dollars and up, when you can even get them. Being American, I had to buy a second DVD player, that plays all regions and PAL format, to be able to watch the films in this set (and other foreign DVDs), but it was worth it.
33 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2013
There isn't much more that can be said about this great set. If you enjoy insane, surrealistic, over the top, melodramatic, perverted, violent and just plain bonkers flicks...than this is for you. Oh yeah...there is the matter of very large breasted women who seem to get off on tormenting men of very little brain power. Okay, what guy wouldn't enjoy being overpowered by one of these top heavy divas? Russ Meyer was probably the biggest promoter of female empowerment. These women are larger than life in more ways than one. The sex and violence is almost cartoon like in presentation. The humour is so hyper that everyone seems to be on speed. The overwrought narrator on many of the films has some of the best lines of dialogue ever committed to celluloid. I have a region free DVD player...but these discs play perfectly on all of my machines in the house, even the one's that are region 1 in the USA. It's great that they are region free discs! Picture quality varies a bit on each film depending on the source material but it is decent and very watchable. My older American DVD and VHS versions of these flicks look about the same but it's great to have all these films in one box...with extras and a book! Until someone does a complete restoration overhaul on these movies they will all probably look like this no matter where they are released. But really, shouldn't these movies look like they have just escaped from a grindhouse projector? It adds to their charm! This is a collection that belongs on every red-blooded brawny (or scrawny) males shelf.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2013
This is a product review of the Russ Meyer Collection released by Arrow Films. Russ Meyer Collection [19 Uplifting Classics + Russ Meyer Book] [DVD]

This set contains a collection of Russ Meyer movies that Russ Meyer fans will all know. The DVDs are in a book-like case that although easy to access and remove I am a little unsure how it will stand up to long term wear and tear. On the positive side the compact form does make for lower shipping costs and shelf storage as opposed to individual jewel cases. The movies were all pretty good transfers and the audio was good. All movies are presented in 1.33:1 aspect ratio except for Black Snake which is presented in 2.35:1 and this is where this set loses a star. Finders Keepers, Lovers Weepers! (1968) Vixen! (1968) Supervixens (1975) Up! (1976)
and Beneath the Valley of the Ultra-Vixens (1979) were all shot and screened in 1.85:1 yet have been presented in full frame. This is not a case of shooting in 1.37:1 and soft matting for some of the actors would have 1/3 of their face missing if soft matting took place. It is simply not presenting the movies as theatrically intended. I also deducted a half star for not including subtitles although you could argue that with all the fine ladies shown in Meyer's movies who needs audio at all! There are some nice extras that complete this set and the price is not too shabby.

I give this set 3.5 stars but rounding down makes it 3.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2014
This amazing Russ Meyer collection is the stuff that dreams are made of! It includes: nearly all of the cinematic trailblazer's films; an informative, well-written pamphlet; a compilation of movie trailers; commentaries by Mr. Meyer himself, and much more! This set is simply loaded with extras, and is certainly the best single collection of RM's DVDs released to date. The interviews conducted in 2005 with all four leads of FASTER, PUSSYCAT! KILL! KILL! are just delightful. Additionally, this box set is priced on Amazon UK at half of the cost of the price on Amazon US!

If you appreciate the truly unique Mr. Meyer's cinematic vision, you'll know what a bargain and what a Treasure Chest this set is. If you're unfamiliar with his work, you owe it to yourself to see his masterpiece, FASTER, PUSSYCAT! KILL, KILL! Your reaction will determine whether this superlative set is for you or not.

The Russ Meyer Collection is is yet another example of US culture being presented with more respect and intelligence in Europe than it is in the States.

Mark Williams
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2012
Russ Meyer is definitely a unique film maker and there's usually no middle ground. You are a fan or your not and if you are reading this you are most likely a fan. This set is similar to the earlier Meyer one except it's stream-lined down package wise. It's the same DVDs and extras as before but they've added a new movie Europe in the Raw and an incredible 100 page book. If you don't have this set don't even think about it just buy. Amazing set and incredible price.
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2014
All the movies were a master in their own right. The actress were awesome. I don't ever think in the present time anyone can come up close to Russ (except Tinti Brass).
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2013
What can I say about the man Meyer? Genius ahead of his time and this is a great collection for any fan or newb looking to explore the oversized world of his movies. I'm in my early 30's so for me I was watching a great majority of these movies for the first time and I couldn't wait to see if they lived up to their reputation. I was not disappointed and have discovered some of my new favourite movies and actresses including the brilliant Faster Pussycat, Kill Kill with the bewitching beauty of Haji and anything with Alaina Capri.
I'm amazed with some of the stuff he even dared to put in his movies and I don't even enjoy some of it but he broke the mould and broke new ground, introduced us to some amazing women and left us with an incredible legacy!
This one comes highly recommended!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 December 2006
This fabulous, and near-exhaustive set of 18 films by the cinematic genius who was Russ Meyer, is a must-own. A lot of people label him as "the guy who makes films with women who have enormous boobs". Well, that certainly is true! But for anyone prepared to sit down and actually watch one of his films, the rewards are immense. Enjoy the comic-porn moments and then also think about how complex his lead characters are, how innovative his editing was and how focused his vision as a film-maker was. I have had Faster Pussycat... Kill! Kill! in my collection for a few years, but it's only been since watching other examples of his work that I have fully realised his impact on so many other film directors that are also held under great esteem. One example: having watched Supervixens from start to finish, it is easy to see how the narrative structure inspired David Lynch movies such as Lost Highway and Mulholland Drive. The only film lacking here in this set is Beyond The Valley Of The Dolls which is his absolute masterpiece but, hey, who's complaining?!
11 Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2010
Just wanted to note - another reviewer complains on this site of image problems on a North American DVD player, but I haven't noticed any. It's early in my perusal of the set, but what I've seen (half of Mondo Topless) looks pretty damn good to me! Most appear to be full-frame presentations, but perhaps that's the correct aspect ratio, I dunno... In any event, it's a fantastic deal - especially compared to the overpriced US DVD editions. Just make sure you're R2/ PAL friendly!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)