Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 11 December 2013
I regard this book to be one of the best concerning the soldiers experinces and the lives of those left behind during World War One.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
I highly recommend this book it was a very interesting read, it brought home the the truly sad reality of war, excellent book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
A lovely book, well written and documented. No hesitation in recommending this. Very good value and a quick and easy purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
The tales of the young men and their families during the first world war are keenly drawn in this book. Using extracts from letters and actual,accounts often make for disturbing and harrowing reading leaving the reader in no doubt about the hoorror of war. I read it in chunks as it difficult to plough through it. I needed to refect and then return to it. Anyone interested in the reality of WW1 and its effects will find this a very good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
Perfect Christmas gift for a young person interested in the War. Very well received and I gather very well enjoyed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
A thought provoking insight into the lives of those left behind after their "loved ones" had paid the ultimate price! It's difficult in this day and age to think that the authorities could have been so insensitive to the plight of the women left to fend for themselves on so little money, and take care of their children under such trying conditions, but those were the times they lived in!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
Having read many books on the first world war, this book looks at it from a different perspective. Whilst most books concentrate on front line experiences, this one looks at life at home, and how soldiers families coped with it all. Unfortunately after a while it does become a bit of a catalogue, one account follows another. But for anyone interested in this period it is well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Very well written and a very easy if sad read. A whole new perspective on the massive loss of life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
Reading this in the build-up to the commemoration of the centenary of the outbreak of WW1, this was a real eye-opener to the real stories of families caught up in this massive event which overtook their lives, and took the lives of their husbands, sons and brothers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Enjoyable book full of good stories from both sides on the fence (home at the Front) not quite on the par at Forgotten Soldier for me (no KIndle Version) but having read both i would have prefered to read this one first and Forgotten Soldier second.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)