Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2013
It is a reasonably interesting read, with a number of explanations of the everyday occurrences that happen in the kitchen. You get explanations for various kitchen phenomena, such as why meat dries out and needs to rest, why red wine can turn blue when washing up, or an explanation of what makes a saturated fat.

The science isn't overwhelming, although I wouldn't recommend it to anyone without a reasonable recollection of school chemistry. The book does tend to confuse itself with a textbook at times. There are various, rather inconsequential, boxes that explain dry chemical concepts which are not particularly relevant to the text. The chapters are organised along chemical rather than culinary lines, which can make it feel a bit fragmented, and certainly more difficult to use as a reference for a particular cooking technique.

There is a wealth of practical information available within the pages, although the translations from theory to kitchen feel a bit half-hearted and grow scarcer as the book continues until its rather abrupt conclusion.

Overall there is enough interesting information within to make the book worth buying, but it could be a bit sharper, a bit thinner and a bit more consistent.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Lots of really good information - readable science - should be a very useful book. Looks well written easy to understand. Only negative is all pictures in black and white. Excellent service - delivery, arrived when stated
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2016
Easy to read. Very interesting and valuable reading.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Well, I like it a lot, but had to review my school chemistry. But there is a lot interesting stuff in there and it is broken down to basics. So if you have a recipe you can substitute one ingridient for the other (obviously :) ), but after reading this buk you know WHY you can do that. :) I've recieved it yesterday, and I'm half way trhough. If you're a food entusiast, like me, you should love it. If you're a trained chef, then you will probably know the stuff in that book already. There are really little recipes in there, from what I have seen to this moment. This book has a clear reread value, as you won't remember all of the ifs and whys from reading it once. So when you are up for an experiment you'll have to go back to this book, just for reminders.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Obvious stuff of no great interest. This book will not change my cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
An interesting read. However, the illustrations are AWFUL. Badly reproduced and only in black & white. They actually spoil an otherwise attractive and useful read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
I bought this book as a Christmas present and according to the recipient it was well enjoyed by all accounts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2013
it was a gift and the person receiving it, sat and read it through in one go! He is particularly interested in the section on cheese-making and is planning to follow the instructions - I look forward to sampling this!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)