Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Good Beer Guide 2012
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


on 23 September 2011
Great guide to the Real Ales of Britain and the pubs that serve them. Not the sort of guide that pubs can buy an entry in so it can be trusted. Also contains some interesting articles about beer.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2011
As ever, the official CAMRA Good Beer Guide is as authentic a guide as you can guide in printed form for both pub and brewery information. From our personal experience as past CAMRA branch members, the pub selection process is fair and unbiased. Depending on what county or region you encounter, you may find differences in "average quality" available in some areas. This does change dramatically in some areas, over time.........largely due to the influence of micro-brewery products. For instance, the general quality of ale experienced in Cumbrian pubs has improved significantly in recent times and the same goes for many places in Scotland. So, we find that it's worth buying the GBG at least every other year!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
I bought this one instead of my usual guide. Apparently the other one has got a lot worse this year.
The only downside I envisaged was that I have no interest in real ale.
What I wanted was a guide book that took me away from chain pubs and their microwaved food. What I got was a guide book that gives full details of pub opening times, restaurant times, an idea of menu, overnight accommodation, access, confidence that the pub had been reviewed recently and details of possible ale types at each pub.
First stop, a pub in Whitstable listed as German food a speciality, schnitzel only on Saturday.
Much better book for me than I had expected.
Don't be afraid to get it if you would usually have bought the other one. Makes for a genuine option with unpaid for listings and lots of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2011
If you like and appreciate Good Beer which means Real Ale (Cask Conditioned Beer) then CAMRA's Good Beer Guide has to be the "bible" for you.

The 2012 Guide is the latest and biggest guide yet in an annual publishing event that is now more than 39 years old.

For an up-to-date list of beers and breweries with tasting descriptions, original gravities (strengths) and addresses it cannot be beaten. In my opinion for this alone the guide is worth the price.

It is much more than this though. The guide is a county by county list of pubs consistently selling good beer. Each entry gives a clear address, details of pub facilities, a brief description of the pub
and details of the beers usually sold and by what method (handpump, gravity or electric or air pressure dispense).

One word of warning though. This is a Good BEER Guide rather than a Good PUB Guide. Sometimes you will come across the quirky and strange! Don't be put off by that as the quirky and strange are often wonderful!
But if you are just after pubs with Laura Ashley wallpaper and old books on library shelves you may be disappointed on occasions!

If I have one criticism of the recent guides it is reviewers concentrate too much on pubs offering "Beer Tickers" pubs. By that I mean pubs offering a large and never ending variety of different beers rather
than a good selection from one brewer. Because of this good pubs selling good beers from a single independent brewer seem largely excluded of late. Very sad as it was these independent brewers who kept the faith
during the terrible "keg revolution" of the seventies.

That, said the CAMRA 2012 Good Beer Guide is probably the Best Beer Guide in the World and is certainly worth buying!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
I have all GBG s since 1976 so am a fan! This is an excellent guide to pubs serving good beer. At the current high price of a pint it is worth a bit of research before visiting new areas. This guide covers the country so no excuse for not trying the sort of pub and beer you might enjoy. It also helps not travelling miles to find the pub is shut or not cooking meals. It also helps when faced with beers you have not tried before as it lists all real ales in the alphabetical index. This is linked to the brewery where a description of the beer is provided.
The post code of all pubs is given so you can put them in your sat nav as some pubs are hard to find. I recommend purchase as the book is also a good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
A regular purchase as it's an essential guide to beer and pubs. Although the guide concentrates on the beer it gives much useful information about the pubs the're sold from.

My only doubt about the guide is that it limits the number of entries per region. So a region with a lot of qualifying real ale pubs will not be fully represented.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
Excellent book, full of relevant information on decent real ale pubs almost everywhere.

Outlines beer choices, pub facilities, addresses, opening times, food, accomodation etc.,

Use it as a 'Bible' for holidays.

Definitely a good investment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2012
Very disappointed with the kindle version as the maps are so small as to be illegible on both my kindle and my p.c. In future I will always sample before I buy and unless the maps improve I will stick to the print version.
33 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
I have purchased this on and off for many years. I must admit to being more reliant on my app in recent years but it is nice to fall back on this weighty reference. I am someone who enjoys real ale and do find Camra can be a little exclusive in that regard. They dismiss the odd very good pub due to slightly below par beer and recommend the odd one that is purely on the strength of beer quality and not always the most welcoming. I must say that these are exceptions but don't discount pubs because they are not in here. You will enjoy this book and there are many gems to be discovered. On the strength of this book I have found many fantastic pubs that buck the trend of the all to typical anonymous bland experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
A pretty good read. Well researched and extremely useful when visiting anywhere in the UK.
I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is interested in non fizzy beer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)