Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 December 2014
Prohibition. Gangsters. An increasingly bloody battle for supremacy. Under investigation for rigging an election, boss of the Boardwalk Empire Nucky Thompson is in deep trouble. From all sides he is feeling the pressure. Whom can he trust with so many keen to betray and overthrow?

Certainly not for the fainthearted, this powerful second season truly grips. It has everything. The period evocatively recreated. Twelve superbly crafted scripts. A cast that does them full justice. All deserve praise, Steve Buscemi especially. A word too for Kelly Macdonald as his companion Margaret, she ever making her presence more felt. Worthy of particular mention is Jack Huston as Richard Harrow, half his face destroyed in The Great War. Although a ruthless killer, he is movingly loyal to those who befriend him, evoking amongst viewers more sympathy than many would expect.

The box set is great. Before Episode 1, check out the helpful fourteen minute summary of the first season. Each of the five discs sports an updated character dossier. Admittedly it is a bit fiddly to negotiate, but proves a useful means of keeping track. Also included are six illuminating commentaries. A fascinating feature on the early Twenties shows how an ill-conceived new Act had effects never intended - corruption (and booze) rife at every level, mobsters never having had it so good.

As so often with HBO, impressive talents have converged to create something special.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2013
After watching season 1 with much surprise (I do not normally like this era of films/dramas) I was a little took back of how much i enjoyed it - we sat night after night watching episode after episode until the whole first season was gone - Thinking the second season couldn't match up to the the first we purchased via Amazon and as usual it arrived a couple of days after - much to our surprise the second season is much better than the first, it was a sad day when we watched the very last episode of season 2 (only because we knew season 3 is unavailable at the moment) 5 star all the way, if you like Gangster flicks and dont mind blood an guts this is for you !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2013
Boardwalk Empire is very good so much happens and plenty of action. I would recommend this to anyone who likes action a good story but its not for people who don't like blood because it can be gory at times and violent. I liked it from the very first episode and most of the characters are quite complex but it draws you in. This season The first two episodes were a bit slow but after that it goes at a fast pace. Also you aren't supposed to like some of the characters but you can't help rooting for them and hoping the others get their commeuppance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2014
I am a great fan of American drama and had high hopes for this. Have now watched both season 1 and 2 and I am disappointed in the one-dimensional characters. The violence is gratuitous and there is no humour. This period in American history is covered well but it is hard to root for any of the characters; they show no vulnerability. People are not evil all the time. The Sopranos, a much superior show, had violence but the characters were real. To sum up I found it boring. At times interest level was raised when it became more political. It was as if the makers came up with a great idea but found it hard to execute it properly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 November 2012
Boardwalk Empire is in some ways an odd 'floating' television show. It doesn't seem to have acquired the same dedicated group of fans which shows such as 'Mad Men' and 'Breaking Bad' have managed to do. This being said, there is no reason you should not give Boardwalk Empire a try. If you like satisfying plots, superb acting, great dialogue, top-notch production design and camera work, that is. This season tops the first in my opinion. From the very first opening musical montage sequence, prohibition in Atlantic City takes on new heights and once allies, Nucky and Jimmy are now rivals - at least on the surface. Despite the fact Steve Buscemi and Michael Pitt both give lead-worthy performances, there is a large array of excellent carismatic acting to choose from. There's Kelly MacDonald as Nucky's wife, Jack Huston as the war-wounded Richard Harrow as well as Dabney Coleman and Gretchen Mol as Jimmy's parents. What I enjoy so much about Boardwalk is the depth of the characters. We really come to know them and, just like in The Sopranos, even though our main character is corrupt and ultimately a murderer, we can't help but like him. Even if gangsters aren't your thing, there are certain episodes which could be watched on their own and still be immensely enjoyable. For instance, the Becketian 'Gimcrack and Bunkum' devoted to Harrow, further exploring the emotional - as well as physical - impact war has. My personal favourite is episode 2.11, 'Under God's Power She Flourishes', in which we learn Jimmy's past... I will not reveal more due to spoliers, but I can tell you there are genuine on-the-edge-of-your-seat moments - and you won't see it coming! I repeat, if you enjoy rich characters, great plots and a visual treat, Boardwalk Empire is for you. And, with Season three almost at a close, I can tell you now, the standard certainly does not dip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2012
This second series of Boardwalk Empire is every bit as sumptuous and exciting as the first.

It's hard to fault anything: the cast is fantastic, the characters arc dramatically, the writing is fearless.
Naturally, as anyone who has seen the first season will be used to, the settings, costumes and cinematography in every episode look absolutely stunning.

It is incredibly refreshing to see a television series telling a story without stringing anything out.
I can't recommend Season 2 of Boardwalk Empire enough: each episode is deeper, better written and better acted than anything I've seen at the cinema this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2015
superb show - obviously lots of bad language etc - but the quality of these shows appeals - plus the bonus of no commercial breaks - joy!
the seller we used though - dodgy - I think they sent us a copy under the guise of a genuine product - beware buyers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2013
I wholeheartedly recommend this series 1 and 2 for all you lovers of 'prohibition era' films and dramas. Not your usual shoot em up gangster style, it follows the fortunes of one corrupt city official with his fingers in every pie while appearing to fight for the very people he is serving. All the characters are fully explored including the tormented FBI agent intent on bringing him to justice.
Absolute classic and not to be missed!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2015
What to say about this series? witty, well presented and very well impersonated byt the cast. Sex and vilonce are carefully balanced and the story itself, being "almost" the true, is really catching.
Buscemi at his best. No doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 July 2017
godfather for non-italians, a great look back at a bygone time in history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)