Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tokio Myers Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
67
4.3 out of 5 stars
South Park: Season 15 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 January 2017
Pictured is the classic south Park paid £19.99 average price for classic casing. Instead I recieved the 9.99 equivalent the cheap mass.produced casing without any warning so paid double for cheap.case. False advertising at its finest. bought as birthday present for collector of classics. Waste of time and money. DO NOT BUY
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
South Park is the greatest show of all time period!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2016
Paid full price (£19.99) for the collectors version as pictured. Received standard (£6) version. Had to return and get a refund. Very disappointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2016
The wrong cover was on the DVD that I ordered That is why I returned the DVD. It was for a birthday present leaving the birthday boy very disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
I love South Park. Love it. Since day one. Although The Simpsons, Family Guy, Futurama & American Dad! are hilariously fantastic, there's just something about South Park that I can't quite put my finger on that raises it above the rest. And yes, the disappointing release of the fourteenth season on DVD last year seriously did a whole lot of damage to those looking to complete their collection, I honestly don't think this albeit major flaw can take away the fact that this is probably the best animated adult sitcom ever. Matt & Trey push the envelope, and that is why we love them. And not just them, but the crappy animated genius they have created.

With such gems as HUMANCENTiPAD, the controversial episode that parodies the...controversial movie The Human Centipede, Funnybot, 1%, The Poor Kid and of course, You're Getting Old, which, at the time, would have brought a tear to almost every South Park fan's eye, this is the season that no one should be without. Essential.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
After last year's disappointing season 14 release which notoriously claimed to be complete despite omitting the headline grabbing "200" and "201" we finally get a South Park release to be excited about. Season 15 proved a difficult time for South Park fans. The internet was full of rumours and worrying stories. Due to their commitment to their Tony Award winning musical "The Book of Mormon" Trey Parker and Matt Stone were unable to hold their traditional writers' retreat, they were reported as describing the show as a nightmare to make and then there was a mid season finale that left many of us wondering whether South Park was coming to an end. But it wasn't the end. South Park will continue to at least season 20 but for now let's concentrate on season 15. This set contains the fourteen episodes that make up the complete fifteenth season. The episodes included here are:

"HumancentiPad" The season opener spoofs the movie "The Human Centipede", plays on modern paranoia about the technological age and sees Cartman at his brattiest best. It's not the best episode of South Park by a long stretch but there are plenty of laughs to be had. The funniest parts are Cartman being Cartman and the way he treats his mum leaves you wondering why anyone wants to have kids. And we can all learn something from this episode. Remember to always read the terms and conditions before agreeing to anything because if you don't you've got no right to complain when a Japanese man is forced to use your mouth as a lavatory.

"Funnybot" A rather weak episode. Jimmy offends Germany at his comedy awards after declaring the Germans the least funny people in the world. In retaliation the Germans create Funnybot the robotic comedian it's not long before things go pear shaped though. The episode is largely predictable and did very little for me.

"Royal Pudding" Another weak episode that takes aim at last years Royal Wedding. The main storyline in Canada did nothing for me but the substory with Kyle having to fill in for Ike in his school play raises a few smiles. A largely forgettable episode.

"T.M.I." Cartman is on the rampage when he believes the school has posted the length of his little chap for everyone to see. Cartman when he's angry is funny and add an angry Randy Marsh and there's a few laughs to be had but the series still isn't firing on all cylinders.

"Crack Baby Athletic Association" For me this is the turning point in quality for this season. Cartman is making money from crack babies and the normally morally superior Kyle is on board. The Cartman/Kyle relationship often provides the strongest material in South Park and it is quite brilliant seeing Kyle parroting Cartman's justification for their terrible behaviour. Cartman is on fine form once again and the Slash substory is one of my favourite South Park gags ever.

"City Sushi" In this episode things just get downright weird. Having been largely sidelined this season Butters returns to centre stage managing to start a race war between City Wok and the newly opened City Sushi. We learn the shocking truth about Lu Kim from City Wok in one of the strangest stories in the show's history with an ending reminiscent of The Simpsons "The Principal and the Pauper" in that the revelation is unlikely to ever be mentioned again. It's really quite an odd episode and I'm not quite sure it works.

"You're Getting Old" The midseason finale that left the fans speechless. As Stan turns ten he finds his attitude to life changing and becomes distant to his friends. Despite an almost constant stream of faeces based visual and audio gags this is perhaps the most touching episode of South Park. By the end of the episode everything has changed and many of us were left questioning whether we'd seen the end of South Park forever. I think this is probably the strongest episode of the run and one of the all time greats.

"Ass Burgers" This episode picks up where the first half of the season left off. Stan's life is still a mess and he turns to alcohol to deal with his depression. Back in South Park and Cartman has found the way to make great tasting burgers that'll turn your stomach. After months of speculation on how the previous episodes cliff-hanger would be resolved it is slightly disappointing to see the reset button hit but it's done in such a playful way with a healthy dose of self deprecation from Parker and Stone it's easily forgivable. It perhaps doesn't quite match "You're getting old" but it's another good episode.

"The Last of the Meheecans" The boys play Texans Vs. Mexicans and in true South Park fashion what starts out as a children's game soon escalates into a national event as Cartman goes to the extremes of joining the Border Patrol to defeat Butters. Perhaps not as profound as the previous two episodes but it's a solid effort. Butters steals the show once again.

"Bass to Mouth" Gerbil Lemmiwinks makes his return in an episode that addresses WikiLeaks, bullying and Cartman's hate of Selena Gomez. Another fairly strong episode it's not quite up to the level of the previous episodes but is enjoyable none the less.

"Broadway Bro Down" This is one of the standout episodes of the entire show's history. Joined by "The Book of Mormon" co-writer Robert Lopez and finally giving us a Randy centric episode produces something quite special. The songs in South Park have always been a highlight of the show and they are used masterfully here. Randy Marsh discovering the true joy of musical theatre is sheer genius and the substory involving Shelly is rather touching.

"1%" Cartman returns to centre stage and gets his own "Your Getting Old" style episode as we delve to into the sick and twisted mind of a very disturbed little boy. The episode might not be as laugh out loud funny as some episodes but the strength lies in developing characters that we've known for years.

"A History Channel Thanksgiving" The boys uncover the secret alien origins of Thanksgiving in another daft but largely enjoyable episode. It's unlikely to be amongst anyone's all time favourite episodes but it's an amusing way to spend twenty minutes.

"The Poor Kid" The season finale sees the return of Mysterion and Cartman assuming the role of the poorest kid in town. There are a few touching scenes with Kenny and his sister, we learn that agnostics drink Dr. Pepper and that Cartman's bullying nature is so deeply ingrained that when he can no longer bully Kenny for being poor he turns on himself. It's another strong episode and a good ending to the season.

For me South Park's heyday was between seasons 5 to 10 and season 15 is perhaps the best season since the tenth. Season 10 for me is the most consistent with only one episode (that god awful Towlie episode) being below par. The seasons that have followed that have all had their fair share of standout episodes but for me Season 15 has the strongest set of episodes after a fairly slow start to the run. If you're a long time fan of South Park there's a lot to enjoy here but if you're new to the show you'll want to start with the earlier seasons.
77 Comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
This series is still retaining its humour from earlier series and shows no sign of slowing.
Keep up the good work guys.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)