Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Traveller
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


on 1 September 2017
Just the job after hearing the lady play at The Proms
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2017
Beautiful album as we expect from Anoushka
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
very fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Outstanding! I knew it would be, and wasn't disappointed. It gets better and better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
My yoga teacher was talking about this and I decided to get it. I was not disappointed. It is a fantastic mixture of Indian and western music by Ravi Shankar's internationally reknowned daughter Anoushka.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
If you enjoy either Indian classical music or flamenco this is a dream listen. The mix and combinations sound both original and quirky. Some of the tracks had me attempting some flamenco steps and reminded me of trips to India.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 October 2011
The influence of Indian classical music and flamenco on western pop and jazz has a considerable history, as witness John Coltrane (the album Olé, and India on the classic Impressions), the Beatles and the Stones, Miles Davis (Flamenco Sketches on Kind Of Blue, the album Sketches of Spain, and much of the fusion music of the late sixties and early seventies) and, of course, John McLaughlin. That the two share a history is a common notion, as attested in Flamenco, one of the few histories of the music available in English, edited by Claus Schreiner. Anoushka Shankar now brings the two traditions together explicitly in this excellent project.

The collection begins somewhat unpromisingly, with Inside Me feeling a little soft boiled, as does the third piece, Krishna. In between, however, we have a taste of things to come, with the exuberant Bulería Con Ricardo, the sitar and Pedro Miño's piano seeming to goad each other to go faster. Track four, Si No Puedo Verla is an adaptation of a medieval Farsi poem featuring the anguished grito of Duquende, some fine guitar from producer Javier Limón, and the piece also introduces Kenji Ota on tanpura.

Dancing In Madness features some driving palmas (flamenco clapping) in amongst the sitar, and an excellent passage of call and response between sitar and percussion.

Boy Meets Girl is co-written by Pepe Habichuela, who plays characteristically virtuoso guitar. Habichuela is a member of a flamenco dynasty and has collaborated with numerous others, from flamenco greats such as Enrique Morente to jazz bassist Dave Holland (Hands). Again the interplay between the two leads, guitar and sitar, is amazing, and the feel of the piece was quite different when Shankar played it solo on BBC2's Review Show (28 October 2011).

The star of Kanya is Sandra Carrasco's soulful voice, and the vocals also steal the show on Ishq, another song based on a Farsi poem, and Casi Uno, on which Concha Buika's voice is enough to evoke tears. Sadly the piece fades out before it feels complete.

In between Kanya and Ishq is the lively title track, contrasting sharply with the final two tracks: Bharaivi is gentle and slow - even when it picks up a little after four minutes, the tempo reinforced by the tabla, it barely breaks into a fast walk; a real lesson in control - as is Lola's Lullaby, a fitting finale.

Liner notes are by Nitin Sawhney, no stranger himself to fusing the Indian tradition with the Spanish in his collaborations with Ojos De Brujo, who provides some interesting background and a short interview with Shankar and Limón. Altogether a superb package, which transcends being a mere vehicle for Shankar's virtuosity and gives a real feel for the natural affinity between the two styles of music which end up, indeed, as one.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2011
I have to admit I came to this from my interest in flamenco and its roots rather than from any interest in Indian music and the sitar in particular. The concept behind the album is sound for, as this album demonstrates, there is a remarkable amount of cross-over in the two styles. For me, flamenco music is a marvellous mix of different cultures and traditions that came together and synthesised in the south of Spain and there is a very clear north African and eastern influence among them. This album shows this influence well especially on the tracks where the sitar and the flamenco guitar are juxtaposed with each other. I have to say though that here, at least, the guitar comes across as the more subtly expressive of the two instruments - but then I am probably biased! The album is an interesting concept but, for me, does not work entirely as the sitar, although played brilliantly, doesn't have a voice really suited to flamenco. That said, I have no regrets about buying this album. Since purchasing it I have seen Anoushka Shankar on her 'Traveller' tour where less was made of the flamenco aspect of the album and the focus was very much on the sitar. It probably worked better like that but, despite everything I have said, I decided I prefered the album.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2015
Anoushka captures the magic of the Sitar just like her father. You enter the musical atmosphere of the sitar and you imagine Anoushka playing as the world drifts past and time has no significance.
Beautifully played and produced.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Anoushka Shankar is brilliant and the music heavenly. Flamenco and the these compositions work wonderfully. Highly recommended for music lovers
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Traces Of You
£7.09
Rise
£6.39
Passages
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)