Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
108
4.2 out of 5 stars
Witchfinder General Digitally Remastered Special Edition [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 50 REVIEWERon 14 June 2014
Master of Horror legend 'Vincent Price' plays 'Mathew Hopkins' who as a distraction
from the 'Royalist/Cromwell civil-war, with sadistic assistant 'John Stearn' (Robert
Russell) offer their services, at a price, to identify potential Witches living within the
communities of a fearful and superstitious villages of South-East Britain, carrying
out a torture and cleansing regime to extract a confession.
'Hopkins' and 'Stearn' are heading toward the small town of 'Brandistone' to investigate
accusations against the local Priest, 'John Lowes' (Rupert Davies)
The Priests niece 'Sarah' (Hilary Heath) is to marry 'Roundhead' Officer 'Richard Marshall'
(Ian Ogilvy) who in return has promised 'John Lowes' that he'll protect 'Sarah'
When 'Richard' learns of what has taken place in Brandistone' in his absence he takes
unofficial leave from his duties to pursue 'Hopkins' and 'Stearn' to serve justice upon them.
This is a nostalgic trip back in time giving an opportunity to reflect on a film we'd have viewed
as a Horror movie back in the late 60's.
The film of course does contain scenes of violence in the shape of torture, carrying out execution,
and some fight scenes.
This a 1968 movie that has been given an HD upgrade, which certainly gives a sharper picture
quality to that of a DVD version, some of the 80's and 90's upgrades are not as good in truth.
The film a journey into a bygone age in which the fearful and uneducated fell victim of ruthless
opportunists ...
Special Features -
* Audio Commentary with 'Benjamin Halligan' and 'Michael Reeves'
* The Blood Beast - The Films of 'Michael Reeves' (SD 24 mins)
* Blood Crimes - Witchcraft (SD 24 mins)
* 'Vincent Price' on Aspel and Company (SD 10 mins)
* Intrusion - 'Michael Reeves' short film (SD 10 mins)
* Alternative Scenes from the Export Version (SD)
* Alternative Opening and Closing Credits (HD)
* Theatrical Trailer (SD)
* Stills Gallery (HD)
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2017
bought for my mum who saw it originally at the cinema, one of her favoutites
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
Great to find this film again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2015
A true classic Vincent price at his best brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2017
Good story. Vincent Price at his best. History not too accurate, but who really cares.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 April 2012
An avid watcher of Vincent Price films, I am a great fan of the style of camp gothic horror he perfected along with Roger Corman. I was totally unprepared for what I saw in this film.

Price plays Matthew Hopkins, a figure who looms large in the British folk memory. The Witchfinder General, a man of infinite infamy. Hopkins was a lawyer from East Anglia, who used the religious mania and political turmoil of the Civil War to prey upon his victims, persuading gullible villagers that various citizens were witches, and putting them to horrible deaths.

Price is totally chilling as the sadistic and cynical Hopkins. There is no hint of his more comedic performances here, he dominates the film and his malevolent presence overshadows every scene. The film follows his visits to several villages and explores his methods and motivations, leading to the deaths of various innocents. The story also follows a young soldier (an impressive Ian Ogilvy) in Cromwell's army, who is driven to revenge after Hopkins preys upon those close to him.

Director Michael Reeves beautifully brings the era of the civil war to life with some impressive location work and cinematography. He directs with a brisk pace, but manages to explore many characters fully and presents them as real people. Sadly, this was to be his last film as he died shortly after. Also worth getting is his only other work, `The Sorcerers', again with Ogilvy and an aged Boris Karloff. He only made two films but both were masterpieces that any director would be proud of.

It is hard to believe that this film was produced by Tigon, a film studio set up as a cheap rival to Hammer. It has a well crafted and well produced feel to it.

This special edition is pretty good. The film is presented in 16:9 widescreen with a mono soundtrack. The picture has been remastered and restored, and it shows. There are some decent extras, including a documentary about Michael Reeves and a previously unreleased short film `Intrusion', which is worth a look.

A great release for a great film. For my money a horror classic that stands alongside the `Wicker Man'.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
One of the best of Hammers films, good remaster clear picture quality. Although Vincent Price did not like
the director it certainly does not show,very convincing story (although not historically accurate)
certainly keeps you interested .
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
i was very sceptical when i heard that odeon films were releasing witchfinder general on blu ray,because some of there dvd releases are of questionable quality.however,i purchased the blu ray and have just watched it and i have to admit,that i was wrong.the blu ray is of amazing quality and this film has never looked so good.the picture quality is stunning and in my opinion,is better quality than some modern films on blu ray.the picture is clear,the audio is clear,the colours are vivid and i am so glad that i opted to upgrade my dvd to blu ray,as it was worth every penny.this is one of my favourite films and it has at last been given the quality release that it deserves.well done odeon films for releasing such a beautiful transfer of this classic horror gem and may you carry on releasing such quality horror blu rays.my advice to all is to buy this blu ray,you won't be sorry that you did.
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)