Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
24
3.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2015
Should have read previous reviews and ratings before this impulsive purchase: overall quality is ok, but heavily misleading title. Although subtitle should have geven hint. Seems related to overall risk when buying online in stead of physical shopping, also because content list bot so clearly annouced
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2011
Firstly, I agree with the previous reviews - this is a great choice of songs (when i say great i mean GREAT) but Amy Winehouse does not feature on the album at all.

I can see why the Winehouse family were against this album being on sale using their daughters name - its distasteful. However, I can see what the album actually stands for and it IS that - the songs on this WERE the songs that DID inspire Amy (she even said so herself) but maybe the record company should have consulted the Winehouse family first beforehand.

A few of the songs on the album, Amy herself covered on her debut ambum 'Frank' which was good to hear (from the original artist) as it shows where her inspiration came from.

I bought this mislead as it had Amys photo on the front of the cover and 'Amys Jukebox' but when I put it on realised no Amy Winehouse was on the disk itself!

Good album though, excellent songs, I look more forward to Amy Winehouse: Lioness Hidden Treasures now!!! :)
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
I don't know where they got the versions from, but most are poorly recorded low-quality live versions of otherwise good songs (of the songs I know).
The ones I don't know don't inspire me to go out and find more about the artists (that would also go for those songs I do know - if I didn't already know how good they were).
All in all, very disappointing.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Being in my cottage I was already a lover of many of the tracks on this album. It is good to know that such a talented lady was inspired in part by music form my early years. perhaps it indicate stat music from my youth was and is quality and will live on inspiring today's talented musicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
If you want an idea of how Winehouse got her inspiration, you'll appreciate this CD. Yes, the quality isn't as clear as it could be, but I think the rough-around-the-edges feel, almost thrown-together collection gives it its "homemade" charm, and some inspiration as to how this gifted young woman came to creating her work. Plus, it's a nice reminiscent collection of forgotten classics of what "music should be".
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2011
this is a cheesy compilation album and it does say music that inspired amy on the front cover.
which has an awful photo of her with painted lips.
there are a lot of these jukebox tribute cds around including lennon, cobain and the rat pack.
what i do not like is that a lot of the best tracks are live versions.
i would not buy this, i want to hear the originals.
Amy Winehouses Jukebox
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2012
It's great to listen to an album of songs that Amy Winehouse once loved so much that they inspired her to write her own music, particularly a range of songs that are so different from each other.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2011
This compilation is just a cynical and underhanded attempt at dragging money out of Amy's fans, many of whom are very vulnerable right now, and the Winehouse family are not happy about it's release being tied to her name just to make them some money.

Don't buy this disgusting product. People that put this stuff out have no respect.

If you see it being sold near you, let your friends know, this release has NOTHING to do with Amy and is causing upset to her family.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Some of it is good, some of it ok. I am sure they could have chosen many better back recordings of things Amy is supposed to have listened to!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
really good CD, for all the amy fans out there, this is truly something special and you can see how she had grown her style from these great pieces
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.90

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)