Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 19 August 2013
First foray into a piece written by an Icelandic author and set locally - in one of my favourite genres 'crime fiction'. Interesting plot with a few surprising twists and turns. Very enjoyable.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2013
The first part of the novel sets out in prosaic detail the murders that form the focus for the rest of the book. It then settles into a more relaxed examination of the individuals tasked with solving the mysteries. Congratulations to the translators for producing a piece of work that effortlessly conveys a whole new geography and culture.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2014
I enjoyed the story which had some mystery but less tension. I didn't feel as if there was a lot of complexity to the plot or depth of character. There was a real sense of landscape and place and Iceland is a new crime venue to be explored. A good but not great crime read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2014
Pro: It's well-paced, the cops and other characters are interesting and the locale is well described.

Con: American translation (sorry, Americans), and goose hunting - shooting, in English - isn't really a turn-on.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2014
It took me a long time to 'get into' the book. The characters are interesting, with faults, foibles and good points. The story really didn't become exciting until the last chapter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2014
I thought the title could have been a bit more exciting, but that is my only criticism. E.g. Death of a Goose Hunter would make the genre more obvious. It's a brilliant book, very exciting and compelling and I really liked the lead detective - a great character. I have visited Iceland and really loved it; it's a great setting for a murder mystery. I would definitely buy more books from this author. I hope this detective will star in other mysteries. You could do a lot with volcanoes, glacier bursts and several months of darkness!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2014
Too much unnecessary description using poor level of language of situations not advancing the story line of a decent plot
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2014
Can't say that i hated this book but did have to have a certain degree of determination to move through the first half of the book. It felt as if the author was going to develop the character of one of the police officers but ran out of ideas and had to look to other characters.
Would certainly not be rushing to read another book by this author but would be happy to consider at a reduced price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2014
I found the plot to be turgid and slow. Not a book I couldn't put down. I shall be glad when I finish it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 June 2015
Excellent , atmospheric book , set in the unfamiliar landscape of Iceland . Seemingly unconnected murders form a crisscross pattern , and the detectives are run ragged , not only trying to solve the killings , but to solve literary and cinematic posers set by a gloating killer . I swear I could feel the cold , and see the barren landscape . The denouement is quite a surprise . Recommended .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sun On Fire
£2.99
House of Evidence
£3.98
The Flatey Enigma
£2.99

Need customer service? Click here